We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great retreat in Caye Caulker”
Review of CayeReef

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
CayeReef
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great retreat in Caye Caulker”
Reviewed 15 February 2010

My husband and I just returned from a 3 night stay at CayeReef. We LOVED the island and thought the condos were great.
Overall, cayereef was clean, comfortable and spacious. We loved the view from the balcony. The full kitchen was a nice amenity, but found we didn't use it because food on the island is so cheap and fresh!
The hot tub on the roof offers incredible views of the coast and island. Probably one of the few places that you can see the sun rise and set from the same building.
The only complaint we had was noise from construction on the building. They were adding shutters to all of the windows so heard constant hammering and drilling during the days.
Do not stay here if you are looking for full service. The property manager lets you in and is on call for any issues, but there is no one staffed on the property full time.
We highly recommend the island, a snorkeling trip and if you are looking for a more luxury place to stay on Caulker, Caye Reef will definitely meet your needs.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank capkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    23
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
70
77
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, CA
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2010

An earlier post listed a problem in units 3 & 5 in early January 2010. I stayed there end of January in 2010...in unit 3. It was fine. Whatever issue the last guests had was fixed. So don't judge this location based on one post.

The place was beautiful. The rooms so comfortable. The kitchen was complete. The view is amazing. I spent many a lazy afternoon in the hammock on the veranda gazing at the crystal blue Caribbean ocean. It was great to have a pool since the beaches have some biting flies/fleas.

The location is perfect. Right next to the split and a few doors down from my favorite restaurant on the island...wish willies!

I wouldn't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reeseOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camarillo, California
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2010

Very nice place. There are six condos and, except for a day or two, had the place to ourselves. A bit pricey compared to other accommodations on Caye Caulker but on the other hand is one of the nicest places on the island.

A nice touch for us was they provide use of a local cell phone. Just had to add some time at a local convenience store.

Note: We thought Wish Willy's just down the street was the best meal we had on the island. (If you don't mind the sand fleas and the three different prices quoted for dinner.)

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2010

Anyone can feel pampered and special lying in the hot tub on the roof of these fantastic apartments. Our family of 4 (two adults & two teens) stayed here for 9 days over the Christmas period. After travelling down through Mexico, we were looking forward to a bit of luxury and were certainly not disappointed.
Bobbi was a great help - despite obviously being very busy catering for all the guests she looks after. She was even working right up until the evening of Christmas Eve, making sure that things were running smoothly.The apartments are beautifully furnished, with quality products that one does not often find in self catering apartments...comfortable beds and sofas, a very well equipped kitchen and everything had been thought of - including large safes and a mobile phone for guests to use on the island. The air con & fans worked very well, and kept us nicely cool at night.
The location of the apartments is also very good - very close to the Split, but far enough away from the noise of the bars and restaurants to not disturb one's sleep. The Split is only a few minutes walk away for a cool beer on the beach or to catch up with some snorkelling.
Whether you're self catering or dining out, everything is within easy reach. There are a number of supermarkets close by, and you can buy fresh snapper and lobster from the Back Pier and freshly baked bread and cakes from Jan next door.
We would also recommend Carlos Tours for the most memorable snorkelling experience you will ever have - the highlight of our visit. We have snorkelled all over the world, and nowhere else have we seen such a great profusion of fish and beautiful coral. Carlos and his assistant Romeo are so enthusiastic about their work and we learned so much about the huge variety of sealife on the reef. Swimming with sharks, rays, turtles and giant groupers, we felt as though we were in a wildlife documentary. Carlos also takes very good underwater pictures, so you can take your memories home with you.
There are so many choices for relaxing at Caye Reef with the beach on your doorstep, the pool out front and the marvelous hot tub on the roof. We can't wait to return....

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moniaive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2010

We were a part of a large group and had many problems with the facilities. First and not so minor, there is a huge freon leak on the south side of the building that effects the 3rd and 5th units. The smell was toxic and we were unable to breathe at night and we had to keep all the windows and doors open and the air conditioning off. Yes, Bobbi did offer to find us another place to stay, but we were with so many other people that this would have been very inconvenient, so we slept on the living room floor and she gave us a reduced rate.
There was rarely, if ever, warm water, and never hot water, you have to boil water to clean dishes. The hot tub was never hot and sometimes warm. The pool has a short in the light, so you don't want to lean up against the side of the pool or you will be shocked. Our friends had a small child and they were told that the crib was too heavy to bring up to the first floor so he slept on the floor.
They do keep the area clean, the furniture and the general look of the place was pleasant,
but if you plan to stay there in the next few months you may want to request specific rooms on the north side of the building, and hope that the major problems will be fixed eventually.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VistorUFO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartHH, CayeReef management at CayeReef, responded to this review, 6 January 2010
CayeReef management is as a matter of urgency working to resolve snagging issues identified during what was our first peak season. We aim maintain our predominantly “Excellent” rating and to delight our guests with first rate facilities – sorry we fell short in this case.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2010

We spent three nights in Cayereef after two weeks travelling through Mexico and Guatemala staying in sometimes very basic accommodation. We therefore wanted to spend our last three nights in luxury and were not disappointed.

The accommodation was a self-catered apartment with two bedrooms, bathrooms, lounge/diner and kitchen; it was actually way more than we needed. The standard and quality of decoration was excellent.

The complex had its own swimming pool (very rare on the island) and a hot tub on the roof (with great views). It is probably one of the best accommodation options of the island, but better than we actually needed / wanted for only three nights.

The location was great, as it is very close to the Split (favoured swimming spot) and the fantastically cool Lazy Lizard bar!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnnaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 December 2009

We stayed at Caye Reef Thanksgiving week 2009. Prior to coming into Caye Caulker, I felt secure in the fact that all reservations were a go and the plan was set for the week due to lot's of friendly emailing. Upon arriving in Belize City we were greeted and picked up by Jason who took us to the water taxi dock. Great guy, no problems and he was helpful. The ride on the boat over to Caye Caulker was about 50 minutes through the beautiful waters of the Caribbean. When we arrived Frederick greeted us and took all of our backs on his luggage lugging bike. We walked through the sandy street up to Caye Reef. Bobbi greeted us and seemed hurried and eager to be done with us but we had what we needed for now. Keys to the condo and few directions on how to operate things. The place was great and looks like everything you see in the photos. The location was perfect overlooking the street and if you go to the top, both sides of the island for both sunset and sunrise!. We have been to the Caribbean many times staying at many different places. Cay Caulker is REALLY laid back and all you need to do is rent a bike at the Friendship grocery store for about $25 USD. It was almost too fancy some times to come back to our very modern and air conditioned condo but were not complaining! The only thing I must say is that Bobbi was helpful when you needed her but not very friendly most of the time. You have to remember that you are staying in a small village and you see the same people all the time. Most times when we ran into Bobbi she acted like she didn't know us. I was puzzled about this especially since we had such good luck speaking with her on email. We realized that Bobbi has to run the whole show and has a lot to do. But a little more friendly hospitality would go a long way on an already friendly island. Again, we felt that it was probably the nicest place on the island but of course you pay for it. For us it was reasonable as we split it with another couple. Overall we really loved the slow island life of Cay Caulker, the little markets, the price of lobster, the little restaurants and bars. If we returned, we would stay at Caye Reef hands down!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Searay91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caye Caulker
0.5 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
272 reviews
0.1 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
256 reviews
0.8 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#10 of 19 in Caye Caulker
258 reviews
11.6 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#21 of 53 in San Pedro
800 reviews
23.0 mi away
El Secreto
El Secreto
#39 of 53 in San Pedro
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CayeReef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CayeReef

Property: CayeReef
Address: Front St, Caribbean Seashore, Caye Caulker, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CayeReef is six beautiful & spacious beachfront serviced apartments, looking out over the world’s second largest barrier-reef. Comfortably accommodating between two and six guests, these luxury "homes-from-home" include: * Two large bedrooms with en-suite * Spacious lounge area with sofa/sofa bed * Fully equipped kitchen with mod-cons and breakfast bar * Walk-in showers * Balcony over-looking the reef * AC, or use the sea-breeze and fans * Free WiFi internet access * Cable TV * Telephone * Safe * Swimming pool * Roof terrace with jacuzzi * Spectacular views * Unconditional support. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cayereef Hotel Caye Caulker

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing