We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great trip on the Raggamuffin”

Raggamuffin Tours - Day Tours
Ranked #2 of 34 Tours in Caye Caulker
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Raggamuffin Tour's sailing adventures provide access the most remote and inaccessible parts of Belize’s reef which showcase some of the most beautiful snorkeling in the world! We offer a legendary three day sailing trip from Caye Caulker to Placencia - an adventure that will give you memories to last a lifetime! We also sail to Hol Chan and Turneffe Atoll for snorkel day trips. Come see the unspoiled jewel of the Carribean, stay on deserted islands and snorkel the pristine barrier reef.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Jasper, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great trip on the Raggamuffin”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

My friend and I both in our 50th's took the Raggamuffin trip on April 11th for the 3 day tour on the new catamaran. It was fabulous, I can't say enough of the staff, Jerry, Keith, Dane and Charles. They were so knowledgeable and made the trip so fun. We had a family with 3 young kids and the staff were so attentive to them it made the trip even more enjoyable. Both places we stayed at night were amazing and the food cooked by Charles was the best, he is such a hard worker. I would recommend this trip to anyone, great snorkelling, company and amazing food.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Johanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raggamuffintour, Owner at Raggamuffin Tours - Day Tours, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
We are happy to hear you had such a great time on our 3 day 2 night sailing adventure with us down to Placencia!
Thank you for a great review.
James Jones - Owner
Raggamuffin Tours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    855
    87
    22
    19
    11
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“3 day Caye Caulker - Placencia Trip AMAZING!!”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Would recommend this trip to everyone!! Great comfy large boat w lots of shade, friendly fun crew, amazing first night spot and great snorkeling spots everyday. Plus the food was delicious and fresh, the views were delightful. Yup everything was just awesome! Second night spot wasn't as mind blowing but that's just cos your standards are already so high! Crazy not to do this trip!! :)

Helpful?
Thank Clarita11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raggamuffintour, Owner at Raggamuffin Tours - Day Tours, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
We are happy to hear you had such a great time on our 3 day 2 night sailing adventure with us down to Placencia!
Thank you for a great review.
James Jones - Owner
Raggamuffin Tours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salida, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Good, the Bad, the Ugly”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

THE GOOD: We sailed three days and two nights on a 38' catamaran, which is a very stable boat even in rougher water. The Caribbean has absolutely beautiful, warm water with very good snorkeling. The Captain and his crew seemed very competent in handling the boat in the various ocean conditions; in other words, we never felt unsafe.

THE BAD: As noted in another posting, the boat is much too small for the number of people they stuff on it. In our case, 25!!, including four crew members. There are only two bathrooms, one of which became clogged immediately leading to undoubtedly unsanitary conditions (see the UGLY below). Also, there was almost no way to escape the hot sun with that many passengers, and there were certainly not enough comfortable places to sit. Music: No mattered how many times I asked them to turn down the volume of the music, they kept turning it back up to earsplitting level. Non-stop reggae music repeated over and over. Literally, I could not carry on a conversation with someone sitting right next to me. The day of the second morning, the music went off at full volume at 6AM--no I'm not kidding. Also, the crowd was very young compared to us; so just be aware, this is much more of young party boat than an eco-cruise with lectures on the surroundings. Finally, the last night was spent at Tobacco Caye, a charmless fishing village with zero ambience in which we pitched tents right in the middle of houses, and were visited periodically by the community pit bull poking her head in the tent openings. Not to mention a filthy toilet with no toilet paper.

THE UGLY: The conditions on the boat were unsanitary from clogged toilets to the ridiculously bad food preparation in which I observed the youngest crew member laying out lunch meat with his bare fingers while occasionally eating the meat as he did...unbelievable! It's no wonder then that I got a bad case of e. coli as did at least two others on board.

BOTTOMLINE: Do not do this sailing adventure unless you're young, like a constant barrage of loud music, enjoy an almost endless supply of bad rum, and don't mind a case of traveler's diarrhea as part of the authentic experience.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Ladd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raggamuffintours, Owner at Raggamuffin Tours - Day Tours, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
The excellent Captain Kevin briefed us on this Reviewer after returning from the trip. The clogged toilet for example was created by the reviewer himself after as he continued to put the bathroom paper down the toilet after repeatedly being instructed not to. This is unfair to therefore claim that Raggamuffin is unsanitary!!!

There was no other case or accusation of e-coli but the Reviewer did complain of stomach problems from getting on board the boat - however, we are now insisting on our crew wearing gloves for all food preparation in the future!

He accuses Tobacco Caye of being a 'fishing village with no ambience' - please read all previous reviews which will feel very differently about this charming little island.

Our tour has been put together for the 'budget traveler' to allow them to access the exquisite beauty of the Belize reef over a number of days. The price of $350US for three days and two nights with all food (including lobster and shrimp), beverages (including alcohol), all snorkeling, fishing and camping equipment - exclusive islands and the best Captains and Tour Guides in the country is more than reasonable. We obtain the low price by using economies of scale and customers do not sleep on board the boat but sleep in tents - and as advertised is an 'adventure'.

If a customer needs more 'exclusivity' then we would obviously recommend them contact the excellent TMM, Moorings or Belize Sailing Charters. They equally have a quality service but there is a heavy price attached per head and make it impossible for the 'average Jo' to access this area due to the high costs here in Belize!!!

We standby our choice of numbers on the Ragga Empress our catamaran on which the Reviewer undertook the trip - she has an enormous amount of space and 22 persons gives plenty of shady locations and will allow every passenger to lie down and relax during the sail (passengers are only on board her for between 4 - 5 hours for the day!!). Again, please refer back to previous reviews which concur this fact!

There were in fact 4 crew on a boat of this number of passengers - three Tour Guides to ensure that 8 persons are in the water snorkeling with one guide at a time - alleviating congestion in the water!

The reviewer at the ends suggests that the trip is for only a young crowd. This is incorrect! Whilst the majority of our customers are indeed between 20 - 35 we enjoy the company of at least 4 - 6 persons of 50 plus each trip and occasionally young children. These customers are amongst many of the exceedingly content reviewers on TripAdvisor who have the 'mindset' to enjoy the quality 'adventure' that we provide again and again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toongabbie, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Lovely day sailing and snorkelling”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We did the snorkelling day trip - three locations, Coral Garden, Shark Ray Alley and Hol Chan. We went out on a sail boat, which was a pleasant experience in itself. Beautiful blue water, great visibility. Really enjoyed swimming with the nurse sharks, stingrays and turtles - an amazing experience. Some of the coral reef is not as well-developed as other popular snorkelling spots, but still beautiful. Our guide was very helpful pointing out different fish. Food and rum punch was included. Wear sunscreen, and make multiple applications - my boyfriend ignored the advice of the guides and suffered for it!

Also, you can get prescription snorkelling lenses for a deposit of US$50 which you get back - I left my contacts at home, and was worried I wouldn't be able to go, so I was very excited by this.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LivandZac87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raggamuffintour, Owner at Raggamuffin Tours - Day Tours, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us here at Raggamuffin Tours! We are glad you had a great full day sail and snorkel with us to the Hol Chan Marine Reserve!
James Jones - Owner
Raggamuffin Tours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“ragamuffin indeed. rip off.”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

imagine 3 days on a 40ft boat. no shade. 105 degrees. baking sun. 14 passengers+3 crew. Sounds like fun? I'll tell you, it was not. The crew were nice and funny, but only captain ish seemed to know how to sail, and my head was almost taken off by the boom as we were turning to pick up a pontoon lost at sea. We had to pitch our own tents at night. The toilet was too small to practically use. The price was RIDICULOUS (350us/person).
One lady got so badly burnt that her hands swelled to the point where you could no longer see the knuckles. Ask for some shade ...please... ? "Haha, you want shade? ya man, no worries. we'll put up the sails soon" Thanks. a whole 9sqft of shade. awesome.
For the price i had expected way way way better on a 3 day 2 night trip to placencia.
this will be said though, the weather was brilliant, the ocean was beautiful and clean, the other tourists were fun and cool people, we had a good time and no one got hurt, but none of it was due to the boat, crew or ragamuffin tours.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Geir0987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raggamuffintours, Owner at Raggamuffin Tours - Day Tours, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
It is important to note that we regard all criticism towards our business as constructive and utilize it to grow and better ourselves. It must be noted that this reviewer has marked 75% of their reviews as either a 2 or a 1 - seemingly customers that should not be undertaking an 'adventure'!

To suggest that Raggamuffin is a 'rip off' shows a severe lack of the Belize economy itself. Belize is expensive plain and simple. Despite its dramatic beauty and decent infrastructure in the tourism areas the country is marked as a third world country with a far higher cost of living than any of our Central American neighbors!!

Our tour has been put together for the 'budget traveler' to allow them to access the exquisite beauty of the Belize reef over a number of days. The price of $350US for three days and two nights with all food (including lobster and shrimp), beverages (including alcohol), all snorkeling, fishing and camping equipment - exclusive islands and the best Captains and Tour Guides in the country is more than reasonable. We obtain the low price by using economies of scale and customers (as advertised) do not sleep on board the boat but sleep in tents - which of course they set up themselves with guidance from the crew!!!!

If a customer needs more 'exclusivity' then we would obviously recommend them contact the excellent TMM, Moorings or Belize Sailing Charters. They equally have an excellent service but there is a heavy price attached per head and make it impossible for the 'average Jo' to access this area due to the high costs here in Belize!!!

The boat Ragga King is licensed for 24 persons but we take a maximum of 15 persons on an overnight on her - this is published on the website and not hidden from customers wishing to undertake the tour. 14 persons plus 3 members of crew undertook this tour - there is cabin on board the boat with shade and the sail casts a shade on a portion of the boat aside from this. The toilet on board the boat is a standard marine toilet - they come no bigger!!!

There were 2 Captains on the boat that day (and indeed each and every overnight tour undertaken) - Ish the Tour Leader and Shane his second Captain and Guide. The Leaders often take on the responsibility of the lions share of the sailing but this does not mean the other crew were not capable!

There are very few instances were we feel that the complaint is not justified but this is one of them. We are disappointed that the reviewer feels this way and we are sorry but this is indeed not the view of the many!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Raggamuffin Tours - Day Tours also viewed

Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 

Been to Raggamuffin Tours - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing