We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unwind de-stress at the Cottage”
Review of Canuck Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Canuck Cottages
Kamloops, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unwind de-stress at the Cottage”
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Perfect spot to let it all go. Comfortable bed makes sleeping in easy. All the ammenties, including a fridge with cold beer, just call Scott. This is our second year at the cottage, and we loved to sit on the deck and watch as the real island life takes place around us. Whether its watching the kids off to school on their bikes, or the activity of the island people, this spot has it all. Bicycles take you anywhere you need to go and Sally can even arrange a wedding if you like. Great spot great people, thanks again.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank IsisAswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
20
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2012

Sally and Scott were extremely friendly and helpful. They give you the best tips and recommendations for Caye Caulker. Don't forget to check out the guest book located in the cottage for other guests favorite spots. I highly recommend Syd's for the best friend chicken you've ever had. This Cottage is extremely spacious and clean. It's far away enough from the main part of town but only a few minutes bike ride (bikes provided) away. Also, we felt extremely safe at this cottage which is also one of the best rates on the island! We visited Caye Caulker at the end of our 3 week honeymoon in January, 2011 and we were glad to have our final week of honeymoon bliss in a cozy cottage on a Go Slow island.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoRodgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We just got back from 11 days in Belize! The last 6 days we stayed at the Canuck Cottage. We loved every minute of it! The cottage is the perfect distance away from the main stretch so it is quiet and peaceful, yet a short bike ride and you are in the action! We found these private docks which were perfect for ocean access. The owner Sally was super great with lots of good suggestions and just overall helpful and kind! We had such a great time and loved the place!

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hjrubenstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranbrook, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2012

I booked Canuck Cottage through Kim and Ruby owners of Caye Caulker Rentals, they were so easy to deal with. They showed us the utmost respect and care, and aided us with tours, taxis,and just about anything. Upon our arrival, Kim met us at the dock and had a taxi waiting to take us on a tour of the caye and to the cottage. There we met Sally who made us feel very welcome and was extremely informative. The next day we met Scott, both he and Sally are the neighbor you always appreciate. They are very kind hearted people that are there when you need them. Also, Sally was our Wedding planner,she made "our day" easy. We stayed for three weeks and we're glad to have met these four, as well as all the other people that make Caye Caulker what it is. See you in the future Caye Caulker!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunshine69_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux Center, Iowa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We found Canuck Cottage to be just what we needed. It was a quiet place to relax and take in the local color of the island. We enjoyed using the bikes for exploring and getting around and loved the veranda for reading and relaxing. Scott and Sally were helpful in giving us tips for things to do and where to eat. Enjoyed the snorkeling adventure they recommended. This place is not on the water, but for us the slightly out of the way location was a plus. The air conditioned bedroom was a life-saver before we got used to the heat. We'd love to return and stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vngaalen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Loved Canucks Cottage and the owners Sally and Scott. The cute raised cottage hard everything we needed including full kitchen, bikes with locks, linen and snorkelling gear! Sally and Scott were very helpful as well, they welcomed us on arrival, showed us around and gave us the recommendations and information we wanted.

We travelled all through Central America on a 5 month trip and this was one of our favourite accommodations. The owners also have a few other rentals including a very another really cute cottage called Gumbo Limbo.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel-love-4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

The Canuck Cottage is perfect for those who prefer to have more space and feel like a resident more than a tourist. The cottage owners Sally and Scott were so accomodating. They provided us with the numbers of the best taxis, the names of the best restarants and which tour guides/groups to use. The cottage comes with the use of 2 bicycles which was absolutely wonderful. We could bike into town (3-5 min) and eat/shop/swim and then come home to peace and quiet and plenty of space- the cottage is on back street just past a school so it is more residential (no hotels/stores more house and kids playing). The whole island only takes 10-12 minutes to bike the whole thing. The cottage itself has a large main room-kitchen and living space, with very high ceilings and a great paddle fan. The bedroom is average sized with a comfortable queen bed- and Air conditioning with a paddle fan- perfect for sleeping! The bathroom is big and has stall shower. The best part is the porch with two hammocks and lounge chairs! The whole cottage is very clean and the kitchen is well equipped for those who want to cook meals to save money. The fridge and freezer are large--we brought water bottles and a foldup cooler to take with us to the Split each day. (the Split is where everyone goes to swim/snorkel/sunbathe). Sally and Scott provided us with fresh towels halfway through our stay and helped us get a case of Belikin Beer delivered on our first night. Overall this was a great place and highly recommended for couples who prefer the feel their own space- especially separate living and sleeping space and dont need all the bells and whistles of a hotel room (not that you will really find that on Caye Caulker)

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stanko28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caye Caulker hotels
0.0 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
255 reviews
0.0 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
266 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#10 of 19 in Caye Caulker
256 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Isla Resort
La Isla Resort
#21 of 31 in Caye Caulker
17 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jaguar Morning Star Guesthouse
Jaguar Morning Star Guesthouse
#6 of 32 in Caye Caulker
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canuck Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canuck Cottages

Property: Canuck Cottages
Address: 3 Avenida Mangle, Caye Caulker, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Canuck Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing