We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location, perfect spot to visit Caye Caulker”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Amanda's Place

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Amanda's Place
Ranked #2 of 32 Caye Caulker B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect location, perfect spot to visit Caye Caulker”
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Amanda's Place is owned by Amanda, a British transplant to Caye Caulker who lives across the street with her dog, Scrumpy.

First off, Amanda is hilarious and an excellent person to rent from. She's very honest and no-nonsense and keeps her property in mint condition. We rented for 7 nights and, while there is no housekeeping on a daily basis, we found the room perfectly clean our first night and did our best to (mostly) keep it that way. There are extra trash bags and dish soap to help you while you're there. Bath towels and beach towels are provided.

Amanda's Place consists of a large two story building divided into three sections. The bottom two sections are each 2-person suites with a bathroom, small kitchen, bed and couch, A/C and a fan. The top section is larger and also for 2-3 people with a fan. In the same complex there is another house that can hold up to 6 people. Everyone shares the lovely little pool that sits in the middle of the complex.

I was surprised at how lovely the whole place was! We stayed in one of the small 2-person suites and enjoyed the excellent hot showers, the provided drinking water (you can't drink tap in Caye Caulker but you can use it for brushing your teeth), and the lovely screened in windows and door. We never had to use the A/C because of the lovely breeze and ceiling fan. The little kitchen came with dishes and a mini-fridge to help us store our cool drinks. I would bring your own shampoo and conditioner and soap as there is none provided (other than hand soap).

However, we spent most of our time out by the pool. The pool is amazing - perfectly clean and a great place to get to know your neighbors. There are deck chairs to relax in, a sun shade and umbrellas to keep you cool, and enough depth to swim a bit.

In terms of location, it couldn't be better. Right on the main street and only a 10 minute walk to the Split. It's less than 5 minutes from the water taxi and close to Habaneros (the fanciest restaurant in town) and around the corner from Glenda's (great for breakfast).

I would highly recommend this place for excellent value, a perfect location, and great amenities. An added bonus is the little book that Amanda provides in each room that serves as a place for past guests to provide reviews and suggestions for your stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank MadelineSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    23
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
40
91
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lewisville, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

My wife and I had a peaceful, quiet 3 night stay at Amanda's Place. The pool is great (one of the few on the island) and it has a great location. The kitchenette was nice to have, especially the fridge for keeping our Belikins cold! The AC worked great.

The only drawbacks were:
* The bed was pretty firm. We both prefer a softer mattress.
* You have to rent bikes. It would be nice if there were a few for use my guests.
* The faucets were weird. Sometimes they worked, sometimes they didn't.

We will definietly stay again though.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank 9Key
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amandaowner, Owner at Amanda's Place, responded to this review, 30 October 2011
I would first like to thank you all for your kind comments on this forum and bring you up to date with a couple of improvements made this last month or so.

I hear you about the taps/faucetts! I too found them to be strange and can now say that they have all been replaced and all work properly (well they worked, but they were odd!)! In terms of the beds, I have now added cushion top mattress covers and replaced a couple. I would like to say that they are still firm though. I have found it impossible to work out which is more popular and ran a survey. It seems that the firmer mattresses won the lotto. I hope that works out for everyone.

One last word, TripAdvisor is an excellent place to air your reviews but also please do feel free to let me know in person when you feel that there could be an improvement, or leave a comment in the books in the accommodations which are useful for me and also for the next guests.

Thank you all, Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keller, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2010

We had a wonderful 9 day stay at Amanda's Place. The outside hammocks are great for lounging and the pool is a god-send on hot island days. The accomodations werer perfectly, well, accomodating. Kitchen was completely adequate (but if you're able to get the plates out of the storage/display unit you're doing better than we did).

The bed matresses left plenty to be desired, but got the job done.
Everything was clean and in good working order. Amanda herself lives just across the street and is readily available should the need arise.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kdm_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2010

Caye Caulker is a great step back in pace with some of the best snorkelling I have encountered. We arrived having booked at Amandas Place and arrived by water taxi having forgot to let Amanda know what time we would arrive. Didnt matter she was standing on the pier waiting for us, for the third time that afternoon!! She is a lively and friendly host and the accommodation is spot on. It is very central but not too noisy, has its own pool (priceless as there are few on the island), hammocks for doin not much and ours had a full kitchen (though food is good and cheap all over island)... She also recommended some great tours and if your the fun loving sort that doesnt mind a tipple you may spot her at one of the locals, she will introduce you round and make you feel right at home. We will be going back for sure...it's a great place to 'slow down'.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blueyblood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2010

Very clean, very affordable, and a short walk to the public dock. Nice atmosphere. Great value for the money.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PotatoPeels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2010

I started my Belize trip with a 2 night stay at Amanda's place, which turned into 5 nights. The place is owned by a British lady who lives on the island (you guessed it, Amanda), and is rented out by Caye Caulker Rentals.
The house if wonderful, the top floor of a two story build. It's completely drwan up of wood, with shutters instead of walls so it completely opens up. A big double bed and futon sleep 3 or 4. There is a fully equipped kitchen with coffee maker, fridge and stove, so no need to out for food every single time. A TV with cable allows you to keep up with CNN, should you wish. There is a verandah with hammock and chairs, and in the garden there's a pool and more lounge chairs. Amanda lives across the street (beach-path), so if anything is missing she'll find it.
I had a wonderful stay, and would recommend anyone hoping to find a little more luxury without having to stay in a hotel to stay here.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MazzaSantiago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caye Caulker hotels
0.0 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
247 reviews
0.3 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
251 reviews
0.0 mi away
Popeyes Beach Resort
Popeyes Beach Resort
#14 of 19 in Caye Caulker
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#11 of 19 in Caye Caulker
250 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
86 reviews
0.4 mi away
Weezie's Ocean Front Hotel and Garden Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amanda's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanda's Place

Property: Amanda's Place
Address: Front Street, Caye Caulker, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amanda's Place is a small owner-run slice of paradise. It has 3 different types of accommodation, from the large 3 bedroom home called Casita Carinosa to the smaller and more rustic one bedroom home of Casa Amancer with the two additional suites called Amanda's Place. They each have a different configuration, but all have some kind of kitchen, WIFI, queen beds, fans, and A/C (not in Casa Amancer). Rented individually or together it is one of most attractive places to be with the lush tropical garden and the delightful swimming pool. Hammocks abound, and roof top terrace ensures your privacy. The pool is shared by everyone. It is set off the beach by about 150 feet and on the main street north/south called Front Street. Beach, bars, restaurants, tour shops, grocery stores are all within a 5 minute walk. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Amanda`s Place Hotel Caye Caulker

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing