We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“heaven”
Review of Amanda's Place

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Amanda's Place
Ranked #2 of 32 Caye Caulker B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tokyo, Japan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“heaven”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

so, here it is...a little dream place...Amanda arranged for a taxi from the airport to the water taxi and once we got onto the island Amanda was there to greet us! the room was lovely, more than lovely...she checked in on us and was just across the road if we ever needed anything...we were lucky to have a nice small dipping pool to stay cool..we read in hammocks, had blender cocktails, everything is close by, everyone is so friendly...and yes, there was a rooster, but then it stopped...i loved this place cuz it is relaxing, clean, safe, you get a chance to meet locals, and other travellers...everyone that we met on our stay had been coming to Amanda's for years...that should say it all...and now i'm one of them!...on our last day she even came to the water taxi for a hug and to say goodbye...what a nice touch!...

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tanya s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    23
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
40
97
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I spent seven nights at Amanda's Place and the experience was excellent...the room was very comfortable, ideally located to restaurants and convenience stores, and quiet for a good night's sleep. Hanging out by the pool was an excellent way to relax, get some sun and meet all your fellow travelers. Amanda is always around for anything that your might need for your room and advice for restaurants and things to do,,,couldn't ask for a better host. As for the earlier mention of the annoying rooster...I believe the rooster became dinner so it's no longer a problem. Amanda's place is great place to enjoy all that Caye Caulker has to offer.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnp71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

My GF and I came to Caye Caulker for a little R&R. We stayed in room #1 which had AC and a kitchenette set-up. The size of the room was ideal and it was very clean and my girlfriend liked how it was decorated. The thing about it that really impressed me was the enclosed front yard complete with a nice swimming pool and beautiful landscaping. Wether we were coming back to our room after a long day or diving or just walking the town, it was such a great way to wind down and cool off. The only thing I can say that's even remotely close to being negative is the comfort of our bed as it was stiff for my taste but then again I'm pretty picky about what I sleep on. All in all, I would absolutely reach out to Amanda again to stay here if we were to return to Caye Caulker. Amanda was such an easy, low-stress person to rent from and our setup was amazing. Felt very fortunate to have chosen her place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jsauc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed 24 September 2013

I spent six nights at Amanda's Place on Caye Caulker in mid-September 2013, and was extremely comfortable the entire time. It was perfect for my needs. Upon my arrival, the one room studio was spotless, as was the bathroom and kitchen area. The small pool outside was perfect for cooling off during the day, and late night swims under the stars. Many great bars and restaurants are within easy walking distance (the Caye itself is less than 3 miles long). Amanda was a great host and made me feel like a VIP by arranging for a driver to meet me at Belize City Airport and driving me to the water taxi. Amanda was there to meet me on the CC side and drove me to my room in her golf cart. A really nice personal touch that made me feel so welcome and appreciated. She answered all of my questions - including a large number before I arrived via email. I highly recommend her Place to anyone looking for a fun getaway vacation. I especially recommend Amanda's Place to couples - it's a great spot for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillMcCue63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

The Basics: Myself and my boyfriend stayed in Casa Amancer, which is one of the three residencies that make up Amanda's Place. Casa Amancer is a one-bedroom sort of studio apartment located directly above a two-bedroom apartment, and the building is right next to a multi-bedroom home. Both buildings share a pool and outdoor area.

We stayed in the off-season, and had no one below us, and neighbors in the house next door for only the first few days of our stay. I can't help but think we would have had a different experience had the entire property been full for the duration of our visit. I didn't actually realize that Casa Amancer was the top level of a two-level house when I booked it, and would have been a little disappointed to find downstairs neighbors. That said, being here during the off season was pretty great. For the most part, we had the entire property, including the pool, to ourselves.

Now for the accommodations themselves - Casa Amancer is set up like a studio apartment, with a bedroom, living area, bathroom, and kitchen. The living area does have a futon, but I think size-wise, it's best for a couple or a family with one small child. The room itself is pretty nice, but if you are used to daily maid service or a spotless American hotel room, you're going to be disappointed. This felt like staying in someone's guest home, which is exactly what we expected coming to Belize. The room is not cleaned during your stay, nor are towels or bed linens changed, so it's up to the guest to keep things neat.

One last thing worth mentioning - there is a rooster nearby that must belong to a neighbor that starts squawking every morning at around 4am. It's incredibly annoying, and I hope for the sake of Amanda and the other hotel/rental home owners in the area, something can be done about it. It honestly woke us up just about every morning of our stay, and kept us awake for 30-60 minutes each morning. Hopefully the issue is taken care of soon, as the stupid rooster was the only bad part of an otherwise fabulous rental home!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2013

My family and I spent a happy, sandy, sun (and rain)-drenched week at Casita Carinosa. The Casita is close to everything on the island. Amanda was a great host, answering our questions and introducing us to life on Caye Caulker. She arranged transportation for us from the Belize City airport to the water taxi and back again and arranged for our bags to be transported from the water taxi to the Casita. This might seem like a small thing until you try rolling your suitcase through the sand for a couple of blocks! Take Amanda’s suggestion, and pay the small price per bag for this service. The Casita was just the right fit for our group of six--a family of 4 and a mother-daughter pair. The air conditioning in the bedrooms was a must in August. It would have been really nice to have AC in the kitchen/living/dining room, as well, but that amenity seems to be a rarity on Caye Caulker. The bedrooms are just big enough for comfort. (Stow your bags under the beds.) The bathrooms are tiny but clean, and there is ample hot water. Amanda supplies 5-gallon jugs of drinking water, which was a wonderful service. We used the pool a lot, despite daily scuba diving. Plunging into the cool, fresh water was a pleasure. Bath and pool towels are provided but are not changed out during the week, so it is up to you to keep them as dry and fresh as you can manage. It's a good idea to bring extra towels and/or plan to have them laundered at a nearby laundry, like Ruby's, since things won't dry out much if it rains. Dry towels in the tropics are a blessing! ☺ Thank you, Amanda, for a lovely stay and all kinds of helpful recommendations and advice. We loved Casita Carinosa!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antigua
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Last month I took time out to have a break from life's pressures etc, Casa Amancer was perfect for my needs. A spacious, very comfortable and well equipped holiday 'home.' It is a self-contained, unit which is upstairs and has a delightful balcony and hammocks for chilling and watching the world go by! The pool is an added bonus to the accommodation.

The owner, Amanda is an extremely caring and kind lady, nothing was too much trouble for her to make my R & R special and care free.

Casa Amancer is in the centre of the village, quiet, safe and very convenient for everything one could need. I have booked to return in September!

Room Tip: Casa Amancer is excellent for anyone who wants to be part of village life and/or for quiet, private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tropicalgirl_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caye Caulker hotels
0.0 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
262 reviews
0.3 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
254 reviews
0.0 mi away
Popeyes Beach Resort
Popeyes Beach Resort
#14 of 19 in Caye Caulker
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#12 of 19 in Caye Caulker
253 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
89 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rainbow Hotel
Rainbow Hotel
#9 of 19 in Caye Caulker
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amanda's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanda's Place

Property: Amanda's Place
Address: Front Street, Caye Caulker, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amanda's Place is a small owner-run slice of paradise. It has 3 different types of accommodation, from the large 3 bedroom home called Casita Carinosa to the smaller and more rustic one bedroom home of Casa Amancer with the two additional suites called Amanda's Place. They each have a different configuration, but all have some kind of kitchen, WIFI, queen beds, fans, and A/C (not in Casa Amancer). Rented individually or together it is one of most attractive places to be with the lush tropical garden and the delightful swimming pool. Hammocks abound, and roof top terrace ensures your privacy. The pool is shared by everyone. It is set off the beach by about 150 feet and on the main street north/south called Front Street. Beach, bars, restaurants, tour shops, grocery stores are all within a 5 minute walk. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Amanda`s Place Hotel Caye Caulker

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing