We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, slightly odd atmosphere, budget accommodation”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lorraine's Guest House
bavaria
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Friendly, slightly odd atmosphere, budget accommodation”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Lorraine's Guesthouse is located in the south of Caye Caulker, in the less touristy area. Nevertheless restaurants and supermarkets are close and since the island isn't too big anyway, any point on the island is a maximum 20 minute walk away.
The staff is nice but a little strange from time to time. The boss is open-hearted and helpful. If you want to play pool in the evening, he and his grandson are the perfect opponents - at least if you know how to play- they are good. The boss loves drinking rum, so don't be surprised to find him half drunk sitting under the porch at night. Speaking of the boss's grandson: He's going to take over the business once his grandpa is too old, but he doesn't seem to like the idea that much. Nonetheless, he's a nice kid and helpful, too.
The huts are clean and comfortable, but you will realize that the mosquito nets only provide a minimum of protection against the sandflys. There are sandflys everywhere. But that's a general problem in Belize and the Cayes. Take strong mosquito repellent with you to get rid of those blood suckers.
Be careful who takes you to the hostel. Try to get there on your own, not with one of the hustlers waiting at the port - they will charge a provision, which will be passed down to you via the room prices.
The prices at Lorraine's are low, but you should try to bargain, since the prices depend on the accommodation-situation on the island and thus vary a lot.
All in all it's a cheap and recommendable place to stay, but don't expect too much comfort.
One last thing is left to say about the Cayes and Belize: I had a feeling of being ripped of everywhere I went where there were no fixed prices. Belize is more expensive than the countries around it, which may enhance this feeling, but If you don't feel comfortable bargaining, you shouldn't try to travel on a tight budget in Belize. It won't last.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank callmehans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    2
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
1
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

The hotel was a little bit out of town (and away from the sea breeze), but you can walk everywhere on the island. We had a room which converted into a 3 bedroom flat. Bedrooms were average and the mattress was the foam kind (which was uncomfortable during the hot and humid nights). Be careful of Mosquitos on the Island they are the most aggressive I have encountered and will chase you up the street. Make sure the fly screen is not ripped, they will get you. Used toilet paper was not removed by the staff. I was there for Lobster Festival - fantastic days and nights. Very cheap lobster to be had. Overall the price was very cheap and to be fair our friends room was better. So check the rooms first. Positive note is the owners stays on the property and ensure security of the property.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LesB4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We loved Lorraine's guest house! It's owned by Orlando who is absolutely wonderful. We are traveling on a budget and it doesn't get any better than this. For our first two nights on Caye Caulker we stayed in a gross hotel room on the waterfront and paid more than what we paid to stay at Lorraine's. You have your own private cabana and they all have screened in porches with hammocks which are great for enjoyed island life with some rum. There is no housekeeping here which we like because we would rather ask for what we need when we need rather than having some one intrude on our space. And all you need to do is ask, Orlando will be sure to get it for you. This isn't on the beach front but just a block or two away so it is easy walking or biking if you rent one. Its perfect!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmehawkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caye Caulker, Belize
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

My wife and I just stayed at Lorraine's Guest House for 4 nights. We had a great stay and enjoyed the island and the people immensely. Owner, Orlando, and soon to be new boss his grandson Sandy made us feel at home and part of the family. The cabana was clean and spacious with a hammock and enclosed veranda, which was great for just hanging out and enjoying the relaxed vibe of the place. The cabana came with a fridge so keeping those rum and cokes cold was a nice change from other places we have stayed at. Cabanas are well priced at USD30 a night, which is very good for what you get and the island. All in all a good stay and would recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ukandobetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tucson
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Lorraines is now located on middle street, just down from the famous I&I bar... the new bungalows are beautiful with hot cold water two double beds,coffee makers and a very knowledgable family tunning the place with great advice about the island. Also all bungalows have a fridge and screened in verandas. If you have any questions about Caye Caulker at all ask Orlando, Martha and the will point you in the right directions. These bungalows are 60 belize at night and worth every penny! enjoy!

Room Tip: i like the dolphin room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tucsonjohnjuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phila, pa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

im not in love with this place, but we spent two seperate visits here. the cabins are on stilts a little out of the way. we had a screened in porch with a hammock, two queen sized beds, hot/cold water, fans, coffee maker and a mini fridge. it really is all i can ask for in our price range ($30us/night). it is not on the water, but it is close enough. what i wish i would have figured out sooner is that you can ask other hotels to use their docks. what i also failed to realize it if you eat at a place that has a dock you can use it.
the location is not ideal, but we felt safe, it was clean and best of all cheap.
i would go back, so if you dont mind a little bit of a walk then this is your best option.

i should also mention that i read some of the other reviews and this hotel is now only the three cabins on stilts, it changed names/locations.

Room Tip: we stayed in the dolphin cabin and prefer it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sagtrs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

Lorraine's was recently bought by a couple from Canada named Colin and Linda- they are thinking of changing the name to 'Colinda cabanas'. They are without a doubt the nicest people we met in Caye Caulker and are putting in a lot to spruce up the place. They already have a brand new dock and palapa out front - perfect for soaking up the sun and relaxing. They've redone the front penthouse already and are working on the cabanas. I'm sure everything will be absolutely gorgeous when it's done. And, seriously, these people are SOOOO unbelievably nice, I'm sure no one would have the experience that the previous poster mentioned of the bad service. I wish them the best in their new business venture.

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ibdusti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caye Caulker hotels
0.0 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.0 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.0 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#12 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.0 mi away
Popeyes Beach Resort
Popeyes Beach Resort
#14 of 19 in Caye Caulker
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.0 mi away
Weezie's Ocean Front Hotel and Garden Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lorraine's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorraine's Guest House

Property: Lorraine's Guest House
Address: Beach Front (no road access), Caye Caulker, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Caye Caulker
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing