We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent Hotel. Expensive for Caye Caulker. No age restrictions for pool area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Island Magic Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Decent Hotel. Expensive for Caye Caulker. No age restrictions for pool area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2011

Our feelings about this hotel are actually pretty neutral. Our room was decent, pretty much like your average hotel room. The balcony was nice-good views of the gorgeous pool area and the ocean. The cleaning staff was always very friendly and took care of the one issue we had very quickly. The pool area is very nice, with a separate pool area for kids. However, there were a large number of children staying at the hotel on our last day and they were all over the place; in the kiddie pool, adult pool, and leaping from the hot tub into the adult pool. Unfortunately, that was the one day we had set aside to just relax by the pool side...a bit difficult with all the splashing, screaming, and crying. When the kids were done with the pool area, they spent most of the day loudly running around the hotel and pounding on the floor above us. Not the hotel's fault, but we would enjoy a more "adult" accomodations. Next time, we would probably stay at the Seaside Cabanas or Caye Caulker Condos if we want a spot with a pool as both of them have age restrictions for kids. We did spend a bit of time swimming off of the hotel's nice dock in the ocean, which was nice. Our advice? If you are traveling without kids, save some money and stay at any one of the nice hotels on the Caye without a pool. You'll be busy most of the time with all of the amazing excursions and can just take a dip in the ocean if you need to be refreshed!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kalarabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    62
    31
    6
    9
See reviews for
54
109
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hillsboro
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2011

The hubs and I and friends spent 10 days relaxing and soaking up the sun. The staff was so warm and friendly we immediately felt like old friends. The owner stopped by and introduced herself and to check on things with us.
The hotel area was quiet, rooms were very clean and comfortable though we did not have a closet. The kitchenette was a great extra. Our room faced the sea and we were short steps to the pool, beach bar and beach. We liked the sea side of the caye vs the bay side for the nice cooling winds.
All in all a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LivinNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2011

While I cannot argue that the Island Magic is a very nice hotel, with a wonderful pool and bar area and a very friendly staff, it does not rate a 5 in my book. My complaints center around the room. We paid out the big bucks for the honeymoon suite and while it is very nice with a comfortable bed, it has enough faults to warrant the hotel a 4.
Perhaps it was my fault for not clarifying, but I thought the honeymoon suite was higher up and had a more private balcony. It is only on the 2nd of 4th stories and the balcony connects to a stairway used by the unit next door. And because the balcony wall is fairly high, if you’re sitting in a chair, you can’t see over the wall to the ocean view. The TV is fine but so far from the bed we had to move the deck chairs into the room to sit closer. And finally, because it is an interior unit, the room is pretty dark; the only light is from a window and the French doors – and the deck is in the shade most of the day, keeping the room dim. Maybe that’s nice in the heat of the summer, but I wanted more sun!
Yes, these are all relatively minor and all in all, the room was just fine. To be completely fair, this is probably one of the nicest hotels on Caye Caulker. Just be aware that the average accommodation on the Caye fits the overall vibe of the island: laidback and most decidedly not resort!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NCTravelingGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2011

WOW! …..What a cool experience! I can’t wait to come here again, it’s really magical.
After spending a few weeks in Antigua, Guatemala and 18 hours on a bus, we were pleasantly surprised to be met by an employee in a golf cart. Our bags were carried to our room while we were given a tour of the island.
The staff was fantastic! They handled everything from setting up snorkelling and diving tours to deep sea fishing. There was even a local fisherman who would offer freshly caught fish for dinner!
After a few days of relaxing, and sightseeing we were sorry to go. You can bet we’ll be back!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderer33388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2011

The Island Magic hotel is by far the nicest hotel on Caye Caulker. The rooms are spacious, clean and well decorated and the entire property is in great shape. By far the best part of the hotel is the pool deck/bar area. We spent every day of our vacation just sitting out by the pool relaxing - there is not a huge beach on the island, so it was great to be able to sit by the pool but also be able to see the ocean from the chair. The bar by the pool opens at 3pm daily (open all day on weekends) and they are happy to bill the drinks to your room.

By far the best part of this property is the staff - I've never stayed anywhere where the management and staff were so dedicated to making sure everything was taken care of from the minute the trip was booked.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andyinmaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pender Island, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2011

On our second trip to Caye Caulker we decided to stay at Island Magic instead of renting a house like we had previously and wowzers what a treat! For the same price we had paid per night to rent a basic place we had wonderfully soft beds, daily housekeeping, a pool and a kitchenette. The rooms were large and clean and mini kitchen was perfect for us ( Mum, Dad and two toddlers).The cleaning staff were awesome - sooo friendly! We didnt want to leave.

The only odd thing bout it was the hammock in our room (we faced the street) :S

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mamajunglequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2011

Island Magic is a new and very welcome addition to the hotel spectrum of Caye Caulker. We stayed in the honeymoon suite for a few days, a spacious room with a very comfortable king-size bed and a large ocean-view balcony. The room and bathroom were well appointed with plenty of closet and storage space, a flat screen TV, AC, fan, kitchenette, and a great sink and shower with plenty of hot water. The location is ideal - just steps away from the town center, a short ride / walk from the water taxi piers and, best of all, right on the beach. Obviously, the ocean-facing rooms are more desirable than the street-side rooms. The pool is probably the nicest on Caye Caulker, with a hot tub and an integrated children's pool. There were sufficient loungers, some with pads, and chairs, both in the sun and in the shade. The owner / manager, Alina, was very responsive to all of our email inquiries and arranged to have us met both at the airport and at the dock. The only reasons we didn't give this small hotel solid fives probably have to do with its newness - we would have welcomed a second chair in the room for TV viewing or reading, better bed-side reading lights, a dish towel, a few serving dishes, coffee filters, some basic staples like salt and pepper, information as to the operation of the hot tub, the bar hours, and TV channels). A few more plants around the pool would be nice, too. But these are minor things. Overall this is a GREAT place to stay - we hated to leave!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AntsinthePants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caye Caulker
0.0 mi away
Popeyes Beach Resort
Popeyes Beach Resort
#14 of 19 in Caye Caulker
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#12 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
12.1 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#20 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
10.4 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Magic Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Magic Beach Resort

Property: Island Magic Beach Resort
Address: Avenida Hicaco, Caye Caulker, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Magic Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a blend of relaxation, romance and family beach fun in a tranquil and relaxing oceanfront beach paradise. With our playful yet modern setting, Island Magic Beach Resort offers experiences worth bragging about! Swim with sharks. Snorkel the world's second largest Barrier Reef. Enjoy a sunset Caribbean Cruise. Take a day trip to visit mainland Belize and climb a top ancient Maya Ruins or discover the secrets of Maya Underworlds. Or, simply lounge by the pool. Have a cold beer with a local. Taste the island cuisine. Jump off our pier into the aqua hues of the Caribbean Sea and be free! Our go-slow little island offers every opportunity to escape the hassle of every day life. So do it... book a flight, hop on a puddle jumper or boat to Caye Caulker and have us curate a magical experience for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Island Magic Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Magic Beach Hotel Caye Caulker

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing