We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent week at Island Magic!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Island Magic Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent week at Island Magic!”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed for one week at the Island Magic Beach Resort. We were in the "honeymoon suite" (although it wasn't a honeymoon...). I am nosy so I took every opportunity to peek into other rooms when they were empty and being cleaned by housekeeping. The rooms are all clean and relatively spacious (ours was quite large). We had a kitchen, a large bed and a lovely patio with some chairs and a hammock. The pool is great as is the bar. They just opened up for breakfast recently and Angela makes the best stuffed fry jack on the island. Josue (not sure how to spell) was the bartender. They really made our stay so much better. They are both so friendly, personable, and helpful (not to mention they provided excellent food and drinks). I definitely recommend staying somewhere with a pool as there aren't any real beaches on the island and a dip into a freshwater pool does the trick after spending the day snorkeling/diving etc. There were a variety of folks at the hotel (families, couples etc) and they all seemed to enjoy it as well. Their pier is lovely as well (many properties have piers for guests to go relax on in lieu of a beach-- this one is covered and well maintained). They had a safe in the room as well which is nice although Caye Caulker feels (and is) quite safe. The hotel is ideally situated just south of the water taxi and so it is on the quieter end of the island. If you like to party, it's a 3 minute walk to the bars and if you want it quiet and peaceful at night you have that as well. The only real suggestion I have for the property is a little more thoroughness with the bathrooms when doing housekeeping. Overall, I would definitely recommend Island Magic!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandytastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    67
    34
    6
    9
See reviews for
59
118
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed here for one night on our way to a sailing trip, and for our purposes it was fine. We rented the penthouse as we wanted our family of four to be all able to stay in one room, and this was very spacious; one master bedroom and a second bedroom with bunk beds in addition to a kitchen, seating area, and patio. The views from the patio were magnificent, as you can see from the photo attached to this review, and the location on the main drag in Caye Caulker was good.

We did encounter some issues with this hotel. When we got there, the staff claimed to not be able to find our reservation; once presented with a voucher, they said they "didn't know what that was", though eventually this got sorted out. Nobody was available at check-out time and the instructions given were patchy, so we had to guess what to do with our keys. The decor in the rooms was dated and somewhat spartan given the room rate; even in Belize, $200-250/night should get some modern amenities and decoration.

Ultimately, it suited our purposes fine for one night, but I don't know that I would stay there longer than that next time. The regular rooms here might provide better value for money.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FCAGENT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Pros

The rooms are large and reasonably nice, as are the personal decks with hammocks. The pool and decking area is lovely. Location is pretty much perfect.

Cons

The rooms are mouldy and smell musty. The price of the hotel implied a certain level of service that was completely lacking. Please note that the level of service I require is nothing more than getting reasonable help in the event that something is not working. There was no replenishment of simple supplies (things like a bottle of water or coffee) throughout our stay; not a big deal, but indicative of the way Island Magic goes about things. The staff were unhelpful and it seemed like they thought they were doing you a favour letting you stay.

Overall

I can't help but think that given the amount that we paid, you may be better considering other options on the island. We stayed in places in Belize for half the price that provided much more.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Auspod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I REALLY wanted to like this place but it just didn't measure up to comparable places I have stayed in Belize. I had concerns about arriving on time (flight arrived at 4:18, last ferry left at 5:30) and had emailed to ask about getting there. Two weeks later, I received a response and was told that they would arrange a driver to pick me up and pre-purchase my ferry ticket. I confirmed this less than a week before my arrival. When I arrived at BZE there was no driver and when I got to the ferry, there was no ticket. Fortunately, I barely made the ferry and when I arrived to the hotel, the staff informed me that the girl had forgotten to book.

The room was actually pretty nice although they didn't give me the room I had booked. I basically got the right size room but on a different level. There was also no towels and it took about 90 minutes to get some.

The location is fantastic and the pool is gorgeous. It seems like this is either under new owners or a brand new hotel and the kinks haven't been worked out yet. I would consider staying here again if the price was right.

Room Tip: Take one of the suites on second floor or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alohalife72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Stayed at the Island Magic for 5 nights in May 2013. After walking around the island, this little gem is CLEARLY the best buy on the island! An easy 5-minute walk from the water taxi port and we arrived at our destination. Staff was great, sparkling clean pool, and all the amenities of home in this tropical oasis! The Island Magic is in an excellent location... away from the bar noise in the evening, yet a quick 5-15 minute walk to get anywhere on the island (literally). Our room had 1 queen size bed and 1 twin bed with full kitchenette that we ended up not using. The beds were comfortable, room was clean, and A/c worked GREAT! Caye Caulker is a perfect getaway especially for those traveling on a budget! Food was really cheap, and there is quite a bit to pick from, all with in walking distance of this hotel. Would I stay here again? Absolutely!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmyO1100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cozumel, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Caye Caulker is a vibrant, colorful and timeless island and this hotel is just in the middle of everything
We arrive late and Britney was awaiting for us, check in was smooth, we get in to the room and at the beginning there was a funny musty smell, but disappears after turning on the A/C. we notice that reception closed after we arrived! , so there is no way to get any help after 7 pm , apparently is a common practice in Belize.
Our room was facing to the main street but that was fine for us, however there is a nice pool and ocean view rooms as well, room was spacious and clean, with a lovely wood decoration in the walls and ceiling , the kitchenette and fridge were really helpful during our stay too. The pool was great for my little kid and the view from the pier was beautiful.
Island Magic is just few steps from stores, fascinating restaurants, water taxis docking bays and bars.
Definetly we will be back!

Room Tip: ask for pool or ocean front side
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mundox79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed for only one night, but loved the hotel, the place was beautiful, clean and very relaxing. We had a nice porch with a hammock outside our door looking out to the pool and ocean. The bar, restaurant had some munchy food, we had some chicken strips and was just fine for a little snack. The staff were nice, helpful and eager to talk about the island, giving recommendations for whatever you may like to do or eat. The pool was great and the room itself had a full kitchen, we did not use but saw there was everything you needed to cook if you wanted to. The beds were comfortable and the AC worked great. It was very hot so it was a nice relief to come in and have some AC.

Room Tip: We were on the 1st floor and had good access to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinarena2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caye Caulker
0.3 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
256 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
92 reviews
12.1 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#20 of 53 in San Pedro
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#11 of 19 in Caye Caulker
258 reviews
23.5 mi away
El Secreto
El Secreto
#39 of 53 in San Pedro
231 reviews
22.0 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#35 of 53 in San Pedro
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Magic Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Magic Beach Resort

Property: Island Magic Beach Resort
Address: Avenida Hicaco, Caye Caulker, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Magic Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a blend of relaxation, romance and family beach fun in a tranquil and relaxing oceanfront beach paradise. With our playful yet modern setting, Island Magic Beach Resort offers experiences worth bragging about! Swim with sharks. Snorkel the world's second largest Barrier Reef. Enjoy a sunset Caribbean Cruise. Take a day trip to visit mainland Belize and climb a top ancient Maya Ruins or discover the secrets of Maya Underworlds. Or, simply lounge by the pool. Have a cold beer with a local. Taste the island cuisine. Jump off our pier into the aqua hues of the Caribbean Sea and be free! Our go-slow little island offers every opportunity to escape the hassle of every day life. So do it... book a flight, hop on a puddle jumper or boat to Caye Caulker and have us curate a magical experience for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld and getaroom.com so you can book your Island Magic Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Magic Beach Hotel Caye Caulker

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing