We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Island Magic Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel(Caye Caulker)(Great Value!)
US$71
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Anchorage Beach Resort(Caye Caulker)(Great Value!)
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
De Real Macaw(Caye Caulker)(Great Value!)
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Popeyes Beach Resort(Caye Caulker)
US$58
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Anchorage Resort Hotel Belize City(Caye Caulker)(Great Value!)
US$98
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Beachfront
Ignacio's Cabins(Caye Caulker)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (325)
Filter reviews
325 results
Traveller rating
183
81
40
12
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
183
81
40
12
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswinging chairsadventure packagehoneymoon suitepool areawater taxinice poolgreat hammockfourth floorocean sidebar closesfull size refrigeratorfamily vacationhotel is in a great locationbeach barflat screen tvgolf cartrooms are clean
Filter
Updating list...
218 - 223 of 325 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2014

It was a nice clean stay and the staff were very freindly and accomodating.
Every night was quiet, the days we wanted our room cleaned it always was. Fresh towels always available at the front desk.
We booked an inland trip to Lamanai from the front desk and it was great.
We stayed in an oceanfront room on the 2nd floor with a beautiful view - had our own hammok. TV had lots of english movie channels and there was free wifi.
Didnt check out the pool as we were at the split when we weren't diving. Great location - close walk to all restaurants on front street.
ONLY thing was the water pressure was really low but you shouldnt be in too big of a hurry to get the soap out of your hair when staying on Caye Caulker haha. Go slow!
Tip - take a walk down middle street to find good deals on Belikin beer :)
Tip2 - Eat at Pasta Per Caso just down the street. Rated #1 on Caye Caulker for very good reasons!

Room Tip: oceanview is the ONLY way to go. Otherwise you overlook the street
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JtheEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Let me start off by saying that the only thing magical about this place is that they are still in business. We arrived in Belize for our 10 year anniversary. Needless to say, we were very excited to leave the MN weather. The first week was spent in Hopkins and the second week was spent in Caye Caulker. We decided to spend a little more than usual on the Caye Caulker portion of our trip. $300 per night for a hotel room is a bit high, but we were getting the "penthouse" at Island Magic, so it seemed reasonable.

We checked in and were told that our room would be ready by 1pm. We then went for a walk and came back at 1:05pm. We then waited for about 35 minutes before the room was supposedly ready. The "penthouse" is a walk up 5 flights of stairs. (with 4 different types of tile and or flooring) (likely whatever was left over from other construction jobs in town) We got into the room and were greeted by one of the housekeepers that wasn't quite done yet. We walked onto the small porch and allowed her to finish her tasks. (about 10-15 more minutes)

After she left my wife told me immediately, "LET'S LEAVE NOW!!" Without looking around, I wondered why. Let's see.. Here's a list of reasons why she wanted to leave:

1. The shower curtain was moldy (seriously)
2. There was hair in the sink and shower.
3. There was still food on the ground.
4. The entire room was a disaster. Missing trim, dirty walls, mold, filthy fridge and a stench like no other..

We proceeded downstairs and explained to the nice lady that there was an issue. She had her best housekeeper come back to clean it for us.(only after my wife showed her the pictures that she took of the disaster). We asked for our money back and told her that we weren't staying. She refused and wouldn't even give us a different room.

The kitchen has virtualy empty cupboards. There was 1 glass in the place. One!!! The room is supposed to sleep 6 people! We asked for more glasses and she came back with a glass from the restaurant. (dirty of course)

Also..

1. I got higher WIFI speeds in the mid 90's. (seriously!)
2. There was no remote for the AC.
3. The water pressure is horrible. (hot water is a maybe)
4. The water stinks.
5. The pool area has disgusting cushions that they expect you to lay on. They have never been cleaned!
6. There is a neighbor dog that likes to bark at about 330 every morning. *that's not the hotels fault.

This place is a complete disgrace. There is an owners suite directly below the "penthouse" and after peeking in there I now know where all of the upkeep and money goes.

Shame on this hotel!!!

Room Tip: Don't book the "Penthouse"
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Stellar service, friendly staff, exquisite rooms, great water access, terrific pool, fun bar. A bit pricey, but the quality is difficult to match on Caulker. One thing I'd like to see: the Jacuzzi should be repaired. That would have made the stay that much more perfect.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben_Malisow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed for one week at the Island Magic Beach Resort. We were in the "honeymoon suite" (although it wasn't a honeymoon...). I am nosy so I took every opportunity to peek into other rooms when they were empty and being cleaned by housekeeping. The rooms are all clean and relatively spacious (ours was quite large). We had a kitchen, a large bed and a lovely patio with some chairs and a hammock. The pool is great as is the bar. They just opened up for breakfast recently and Angela makes the best stuffed fry jack on the island. Josue (not sure how to spell) was the bartender. They really made our stay so much better. They are both so friendly, personable, and helpful (not to mention they provided excellent food and drinks). I definitely recommend staying somewhere with a pool as there aren't any real beaches on the island and a dip into a freshwater pool does the trick after spending the day snorkeling/diving etc. There were a variety of folks at the hotel (families, couples etc) and they all seemed to enjoy it as well. Their pier is lovely as well (many properties have piers for guests to go relax on in lieu of a beach-- this one is covered and well maintained). They had a safe in the room as well which is nice although Caye Caulker feels (and is) quite safe. The hotel is ideally situated just south of the water taxi and so it is on the quieter end of the island. If you like to party, it's a 3 minute walk to the bars and if you want it quiet and peaceful at night you have that as well. The only real suggestion I have for the property is a little more thoroughness with the bathrooms when doing housekeeping. Overall, I would definitely recommend Island Magic!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the beach!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandytastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed here for one night on our way to a sailing trip, and for our purposes it was fine. We rented the penthouse as we wanted our family of four to be all able to stay in one room, and this was very spacious; one master bedroom and a second bedroom with bunk beds in addition to a kitchen, seating area, and patio. The views from the patio were magnificent, as you can see from the photo attached to this review, and the location on the main drag in Caye Caulker was good.

We did encounter some issues with this hotel. When we got there, the staff claimed to not be able to find our reservation; once presented with a voucher, they said they "didn't know what that was", though eventually this got sorted out. Nobody was available at check-out time and the instructions given were patchy, so we had to guess what to do with our keys. The decor in the rooms was dated and somewhat spartan given the room rate; even in Belize, $200-250/night should get some modern amenities and decoration.

Ultimately, it suited our purposes fine for one night, but I don't know that I would stay there longer than that next time. The regular rooms here might provide better value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FCAGENT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews