We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant, not magical”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Island Magic Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Just got back from 10 nights on Caye Caulker, all spent at Island Magic. This was recommended as one of the top 3 hotels on the island. Things I liked about it...nice front office staff who tried very hard to be attentive to our needs. I enjoyed being on the windward side of the island because I love tropical breezes, and the leeward side of the island was very hot and still this time of year. The pool is very nice, and we enjoyed the upper deck above the bar that overlooks the ocean and beach. The rooms are fine, nothing fancy, but kept clean and were comfortable enough. We stayed in room 7 on the 2nd floor overlooking the ocean. Things that could be improved....we had trouble getting towels/washcloths for 2 people until towards the end of the stay. Not sure why that was a problem. There is NO SOAP to speak of in the rooms. We got one tiny bar of soap that never got changed all week. Fortunately I had brought my own. They could provide at least some liquid soap in the shower dispensers. Not everyone travels with soap. The air conditioning was wonderful but one afternoon ours was leaking quite badly, and ruined a paperback book I had sitting underneath it. Positive: management responded quickly to fix the problem. The bar was funny, not many people there, and they don't seem to cater to the guests. One afternoon we really wanted some appetizers and they said it was closed (always closed on Mondays). That's just odd at hotel. And inconvenient. The pool furniture needs updating, the cushions are stained and the furniture is so heavy you can hardly move it around. The upper deck is such a nice idea but the boards are loose in places, and one day we found a used condom on the deck. That just told me that no hotel personnel were going up there to clean or check on things. Overall the hotel needs a facelift. New curtains in the rooms, update the pool and bar, try to upgrade the level of service to guests. (Creating a swimup bar would be awesome). It was absolutely find to stay in, but for the price, I really expected more.

Room Tip: Stay in an ocean-view/poolside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaryM1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (290)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 290 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

This place was a bit more pricey than the other places on the island but definitely worth it. Room had air conditioning which worked great, a kitchen, nice bathroom, cable tv, and everything was really clean. Even though we faced the pool, inside the room it was very quiet. We would definitely stay here again over the other smaller cheaper places. The only issue we had was that the maid service barged into our room asking if we needed service even though they watched us check in hours earlier and then continued to stand their while I repeatedly said no in my towel. AWKWARD

Room Tip: we stayed on the second floor which was a little more quiet then the ground floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amargrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

We spent in this hotel just two nights, but it was enough. The bathroom smelled very bad by desinfection. Everything was average or under average. We had problem with dates of our reservation, which was mistaken by hotel reception employee and we must wait 4 hours more to prepare our room. Nice pool and molo.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank justin a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island_Magic_Belize, Owner at Island Magic Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

To our past and potential visitors:

I take this opportunity to discuss the difficulties we have been facing over the past few months. We had some difficulties with office staff so there is a new staff now, but the big issue was the smell coming from the well water which was used to flush all the toilts in the building. We tried to economize by using the well water just to flush toilts while we paid for purified city water for everything else (kitchens, showers, bathroom sinks). This required detailed plumbing but it saved us a lot on our water consumption and it was working beautifully over the past four years. Unfortunately, it seems like the well started going dry and thus the water started to have a smell that engulfed the rooms whenever the bathroom doors would be open. We tried several attempts to treat the well water but it never went away so it forced us to replumb the toilets in the building to be fed by city water as well. Thus I am happy to say that the problem has been resolved.

To our past guests, we look forward to the opportunity to serving you again and to our potential guests we look forward to the opportunity to serving you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Alina Saldivar
Owner / Manager
Island Magic Beach Resort
Caye Caulker, Belize

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Magic Island Beach Resort, Caye Caulker, May 07 to May 09, 2014

This resort is located "Ocean Front" in a modern Hotel structure. Let me say at the outset, if you come for the BEACH you will be disappointed, there are none on the entire Caye. What they have here is a seawall a top of the hard surface,with a little white sand on top of it to make it look like a BEACH. (see picture) If you come for relaxation to let your hair hang down this is the place to came too. The motto here is "Go Slow", you only will see Golf Carts, Bikes or just walk the unpaved streets. We were accommodated in Room No. 2, looking out to the Pool area, the view was obstructed by a staircase. The room had 2 double beds, it was clean including the towels and bed linen. There is no closet in the room and to hang up your cloth you have to ask for "hangers", Manager Laona brought them without a problem. There is also a kitchen with a table and refrigerator in the room as well as a dresser, flat screen TV and Safe. The bathroom is well equipped but the "SMELL" was unbearable. Laona brought as a can of air freshener to keep the foul smelling odor under control. You also have WIFI .The water in the pool during our stay was very cloudy (not clear at all) you were unable to see the bottom of the pool. There is also a Jacuzzi . One morning all the rooms had the same problem the toilette did not flash, it was corrected. One morning on the sun-deck we looked at 8 empty beer bottles till well into the afternoon from the night before. There is a Bar at the artificial beach , there is a sign advertising Breakfast is being served, but this never happened during our visit. We had our Breakfast at the popular "AMOR Cafè" located on Front Street. At "Meldy's" on Middle Street we had a grilled Snapper, also very tasty or at the "Rainbow Grill & Bar" located Ocean Front with a Terrace, we enjoyed grilled fresh Grouper with Veggies including the ocean breeze, looking at the turquoise water. The service in all the places, I mentioned was just fine. For looking at the sunset ceremony you go to "Lazy Lizard" a bar with docks and lots of young people hanging out here to create the so called "Key West" atmosphere. Here the young people do Kite Surfing. Be aware of the sandflies on the Island, they are your enemies not your friends. You can combat them using Johnson & Johnson's BABY OIL…. when they bite you you feel the sting and itching for the next three days for sure. This is our experience at the Magic Island Beach Resort -see my pictures- still a good place to do NOTHING, relax, let your hair hang down, be away from it all and enjoy the simple LIFE, and have a not a care in the World attitude. The local people are very nice too. At the Resort there is a handyman called George, he will look after you, provide transportation and give you hints which Super market to shop in.

Room Tip: our Room No. 2 met our needs except for the smell, average rating because of odor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erfurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The location of this property is very good but the service and mood of the staff is below average. Not very helpful at all.
We had a larger room at the top and the view was great.
Next time i would stay further up the beach. There are many to choose from.
Fantastic island and a beautiful people.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cruickz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This was a really nice hotel. Great location and a lot of amenities that the other hotels do not have. swimming pool, a bar and restaurant a stone throws away, private deck, fresh towels daily if desired, cable tv, free wifi and much more. I would definitely recommend to a friend or family member and i can see myself staying there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Gen_bze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Island Magic has a beautiful location, you must get an ocean view to appreciate the hotel! We loved sitting on the deck, watching the sunrise. IT was unforgettable! I also really fell in love with the private dock! IT was magical sitting there watching the sunrise or just laying in the sun. Other people who are not guest do use the dock which is annoying, and I almost felt like asking them to leave as there is a sign that it is for Island Magic guests only! most of the time we had it all to ourselves! The room was clean and comfortable. They were friendly at check in, that is the only time we saw them. The bar was only open one night, but everything else was so close we did not mind at all. They did seem to have a bit of a sewer problem and our restroom smelled, it would worsen as the day got longer, so we kept the toilet lid down and bathroom door shut at all times, and it wasn't much of a problem, that would be my only complaint at all, and the location and view were worth it! I will definitely return and stay with them again!

Room Tip: The higher the better! we were on the second floor and it was nice. I walked by a first floor room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samantha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caye Caulker
0.1 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#11 of 19 in Caye Caulker
261 reviews
0.3 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
261 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Popeyes Beach Resort
Popeyes Beach Resort
#15 of 19 in Caye Caulker
183 reviews
20.1 mi away
Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina
12.1 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#29 of 55 in San Pedro
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Magic Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Magic Beach Resort

Address: Avenida Hicaco, Caye Caulker, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Price Range: £94 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Magic Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a blend of relaxation, romance and family beach fun in a tranquil and relaxing oceanfront beach paradise. With our playful yet modern setting, Island Magic Beach Resort offers experiences worth bragging about! Swim with sharks. Snorkel the world's second largest Barrier Reef. Enjoy a sunset Caribbean Cruise. Take a day trip to visit mainland Belize and climb a top ancient Maya Ruins or discover the secrets of Maya Underworlds. Or, simply lounge by the pool. Have a cold beer with a local. Taste the island cuisine. Jump off our pier into the aqua hues of the Caribbean Sea and be free! Our go-slow little island offers every opportunity to escape the hassle of every day life. So do it... book a flight, hop on a puddle jumper or boat to Caye Caulker and have us curate a magical experience for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Island Magic Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Magic Beach Hotel Caye Caulker

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing