We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the Money”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sandy Lane Guest House & Cabanas
Ranked #9 of 32 Caye Caulker B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good for the Money”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

It was clean and affordable - hard to complain. My room had a floor fan, a ceiling fan, two windows with blinds (it was a corner single room with a private bathroom) which kept the room cool. No internet, but there was hot water, two towels, and it was in a good location.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank littlewhale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    17
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
28
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I found this place after staying in a hostel room for 6 . It was cheaper we had our own room with double bed witht toilet and hot shower. It was clean . NO AC.we could sit out side . And watch the football . And kite flying

Room Tip: If you have the telephone number give them a call 38b $
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jammer27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

If you're looking for clean rooms in a guesthouse run by two of the friendliest people on earth, Sandy Lane is for you! Miss Elma and Mr Rico own a fantastic guesthouse with a choice of rooms right in the centre of town between front and middle street - double and triple with shared bathroom, doubles with private bathroom, or even whole cabins with kitchens. When you get off the water jet, anyone will point you in the right direction, it's just behind Black Durgon Dive. The rooms with shared bathroom are very clean with fans and sinks inside (there's lots of breeze so no need for AC), and the shared bathrooms are clean too. There is a grill pit in the centre of the buildings which you can use - we bought lobster for US$6 a pound from the fishermen on back street (lobster season is from June for around 6 months) and Miss Elma helped us prep them to put on the BBQ.

For all these great rooms and fantastic service, Sandy Lane is also one of, if not the cheapest place on the island. We paid US$10 for the double bed with shared bathroom in cabin 1, a triple room with shared bathroom was US$12.50. We met a lot of people paying $12.50 for just a bed in a dorm! There is no website, so you can call ahead on +5012260117 and speak to Miss Elma or just turn up and hope there's space. Caye Caulker is a great place - we were coming for 2 nights and stayed for 6! Try Frenchies for diving too whilst you're there! Thank you Miss Elma and Mr Rico!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
703 reviews
257 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 481 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The Sandy Lane Guesthouse was exactly how I imagined my stay on a Carribean island to be and that is a rare occurance.
As the reviewer below notes there is not a lot of information/advertising about the Sany Lane and there is no email address, so we jumped on skype and called them and spoke to the lovely Alma and booked a self contained cottage in advance.
On arrival we could not find it as there is little signage (it is directly opposite the football field) and when we entered the premises we could not find anyone so we were worried we might have to find alternative premises. Luckily a woman who works there eventually found us (realised later you need to enter the house which is next door).
Our cabana was great, fully functioning kitchen, ceiling fan and 2 stand alones, cable tv (with all English channels), private bathroom (hot and cold water), verandah. It was everything you need in a quiet laidback location such as Caye Caulker.
The owners Alma and Rico are very kind and helpful people. The price is very reasonable at $30usd a night, if you need more of a budget they have cheaper rooms. They also have the cheapest laundry service we have come across.
They have family members nearby who run tourist and restaurant businesses.
Fully recommend these wonderful cabanas for fellow budget travellers who appreciate their own space and cooking facilities.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teamflames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Sandy Lane has a hostel type lodging with shared bathroom, or a hotel type simple room with private bathrooms, or larger self contained cabanas. Everything is really cheap. Caye Caulker is one of the most relaxed places on earth, no one worries about anything. We arrived late on the water taxi from chetumal and went on a reccomendation from someones travel blog to stay here. Its not advertised alot, you walk one back from the main beach street and ask for sandlane, you will be directed to a house to knock on and you ask for Elma, great little lady and her husband live in a large house next to Sandy lane accomodation. The first night all the cabanas were booked, so we stayed in the hotel rooms, $17.50 per night, so cheap! The room was basic but clean, no aircon but a powerful fan. The next few nights the cabanas were available, full kitchen, bathroom, dining table, tv, bed,front and back verandahs, fan, like a little house. $30USD per night.

Relatives own the snorkelling tours straight up on the main strip and you get a discount for staying at sandy lane, snorkelling is a must! You go to three different spots, one of them is called shark alley where you get to swim waist deep with so many stingrays and nurse sharks! Incredible.

Out the back of sandy lane there is the local fry jack place where you can get fed for about $1-2usd with their fried bread and fillings. Local food is just a few metres away at Aunties, no sign but its opposite Chans local supermarket.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank SarahAmyReid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

This is probably the cheapest and best value for your money you can find on Caye Caulker. My fiancé and I had a private cabin with the shared bathrooms (they are in the middle of the property), although there was a sink in the room. We would definitely stay here again should we find ourselves back on Caye Caulker.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fozmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corvallis, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here for our last night in Caye Caulker and we were disappointed we didn't find Sandy sooner! We were re-directed to Sandy after Jeremiah's Inn was booked up and she set us up in the private double with shared bath for BZ$25 a night (TOTAL!). There is no way you could find a cheaper or more tranquil spot on Caye Caulker.

The room came with a ceiling fan, queen and twin bed and a sink and mirror. Rooms are clean and simple, no more or less than you need. Toilet paper and soap provided, but bring your own towel. The bathrooms are in a separate building, the showers have good pressure and there is a grill available if you are so inclined to use it. Didn't get a chance to check out the cabanas, but if the other reviews are accurate, we would definitely have splurged a night to access those kitchens. There are only three private, shared bath rooms in the building, as all the other rooms are private cabanas, so you won't be sharing the bathrooms/showers with a ton of people. The shared bath rooms also share a little balcony with lounge chairs, perfect for hanging out on at the beginning or end of the day.

Bottom line: Sandy has clean, simple rooms in a secure, less touristy area with good access to the main street. We'd be back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Not sure of cabanas, but the private double, shared bath rooms are all pretty much the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caye Caulker
0.0 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
255 reviews
0.0 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
267 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#10 of 19 in Caye Caulker
256 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sandbar Beachfront Hostel & Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Kokomo Beach Suites
Kokomo Beach Suites
#25 of 32 in Caye Caulker
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Lane Guest House & Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Lane Guest House & Cabanas

Property: Sandy Lane Guest House & Cabanas
Address: Corner Chapoose Street & Langosta Street, Caye Caulker, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Caye Caulker
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing