We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crap”

Big Fish Dive Center
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Big Fish Dive Center, fully equipped to meet your most demanding diving needs is centrally located and just across from the Health Center. We have worked hard together making sure our customers are met with first hand services and ultimate safety. Our dive tours are conducted by trained and knowledgeable dive masters taking you to only the best dive sites amidst richness and splendor of exotic marine life and coral formations.
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Crap”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

These guys are unorganized. For a dive we got our wet suit and fins here, then went by boat across the split to get gas. Then to San Pedro to get the BCD and air. After this we went for the two dives. What was a 9-1p trip turned out to be 9-5p trip. The equipment is crap. 5 out of 6 people had to keep changing their regulators until they could find one that was not leaking. Then during the dive, one person after getting in the water found that the regulator was not working properly and their dive was done. Worse, two of us dived and found ourselves at the bottom with no dive master in sight. If you are going on deep dives or night dives, look elsewhere.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TPatNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    11
    3
    6
    26
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Muswellbrook, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

I dived with these guys a few times while in Caye Caulker including the Great Blue Hole. Our dive master was very professional and I felt safe and well looked after throughout the whole experience. The dive gear was also in good condition. Big Fish seemed to be the most price competitive.

Helpful?
Thank Solitaire83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fork out the extra cash for one of the more reputable places”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Saved usd 40 by diving with these guys to Esmerelda. on hind sight, not worth it. On the second dive the dive master couldn't find the planned dive site, so the dive we did wasn't the dive he out lined in the dive
plan. Also, worst of all one of the 5 divers ran out of air while down there and had to surface on his own. Him and his buddy tried to tell the dive master but he had no clue. When we finished the dive and told him one of the divers was already back on the boat, he was totally shocked, hadn't even noticed he'd lost a man.

We had seen the dive master the night before drinking and fighting at the split. The whole crew was hungover and unprofessional.

User then only if you really can't afford the alternative.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LivingL0ndon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful dive at the Blue hole and in front of Caye Caulker”
Reviewed 20 February 2013 via mobile

We stayed on Caye Caulker for a week in February and the diving with big fish was the best on our trip. What made the difference was, that the crew was so nice and friendly. But of course I can just judge the Divemaster we dove with. Seeing other reviews gives the idea they may have some black Sheep. We couldn't see any. ^_^
Also we can tell, that the food served on the trip was VERY good, especially because they also served salad. The snacks between dives consisted of Pringels, fresh fruits and different cookies, what was really a lot by my judgement from other dive trips.
The equipment seemed VERY new, but we would have wished for a long wetsuit due to the verily cold weather that day. A sweatshirt would have probably done the trick too, but who brings that to the carabeen. :-P
The price of 200 Dollar is a lot, but they are still the cheapest. Especially San Pedro costs so much more and there doesn't seem to be a reason for that difference.
I can definitely recommend them!

Helpful?
1 Thank Fhartmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great diving at the Blue Hole”
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Well first things first, relative to the negative reviews I've read below... YOU ARE IN BELIZE. This is not the U.S.. Also, there are drugs on Caye Caulker, and yes you may witness a drug deal here and there, but that doesn't mean the islanders are sketchy or unreliable just because they are different than you.

I did 3 dives (one was the Blue Hole) in January with a fairly large group of roughly a dozen people. The dive masters were relaxed and provided us with fruit and snacks on the boat. They were all friendly and spoke to most of us during the entire ride there and back,

My equipment was fine, I've been diving with worst and have seen much better. One of the divers had a problem with the mouthpiece of his regulator, but he switched to his backup 10m down and all was well.

Overall, I had a great experience and absolutely no issues when diving the Blue Hole at max depth of 42m. Nobody in my group had any issues either and the dive master took his time making sure we were all okay.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank anttot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Big Fish Dive Center also viewed

Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 

Been to Big Fish Dive Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing