We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool cats”
Review of PAUSE Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
PAUSE Hostel
Loveland, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cool cats”
Reviewed 19 January 2012

My wife, my 2 daughters (ages 8 and 10) and I stayed with Madi in November 2011. We all had a great time. The location right on the water is very nice. It was a fun unique experience for all of us, much more fun than staying at a hotel or a condo. It is part home stay and part pet safari. Madi and her mother are wonderful and made us feel at home. The kids were delighted to be able to interact with all the cats and the dogs. Normally, for safety reasons, when we are traveling we don't let them do that much. Madi's animals are all vaccinated and very well cared for, so we let the kids play to their heart's content. I am not really a cat person but, it is fascinating to see how she manages her cats.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fabquatro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    40
    12
    12
    12
See reviews for
12
66
78
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

I stayed with at PAWS in Caye Caulker in November 2011. I volunteered with a friend for 10 days and the whole experience has left a very special place in my heart.

PAWS is situated on the west coast of the island, which is a short 3 minute walk away from the main strip that hosts most of the bars and restaurants. It is very large, secluded and private with it's own pier. The pier is great to sit on with a Belikin beer watching the sun set with the 3 of the resident dogs, Peaches, Orso and Twinky. If you're lucky you can see the sting ray swim past just as the sun has gone down.

We stayed in the both the Garden room and The Cat Mahal. My favourite was the Cat Mahal as this had a huge decking area with chairs to sit and relax. If you relaxing during the day you will also get cuddles and affection from the resident cats and dogs. It is almost impossible to pull yourself away from the deck area to do anything else :-).

Both rooms are very clean and safe and has all the amenities you would expect from an apartment. We didn't stay in the beach cabana but we had a look inside and it looks lovely.

Madi also offers camping on the grounds, which is a great option if you like sleeping under the stars and also want to keep the cost down. It is very quiet here as well so noise would never be an issue.

I would thoroughly recommend staying here, whether it be as a volunteer or just a guest. By staying here you are also helping Madi and her great cause in rescuing animals. You are really welcomed and it feels like a home from home.

The Island

You can get to Caye Caulker by ferry, around 45 mins from Belize City or small plane and it is a very laid back sandy island. The saying for Caye Caulker is "Go slow" and after a couple of days it is difficult not to. You won't see any cars, just golf buggies and cycles or the very occasional moped. The island wakes up early as the divers and snorkelers head to the seas. There are many breakfast places to eat in or take out. You can also grab a sandwich to take on a tour with you.

It is a very small island and you can cycle from top of the south island to the bottom in about 10 minutes. Just be careful if you use back street, look out for small planes landing as you can find yourself on the airstrip very easily !

If you are whiling away the hours during the day, head to The Split where you can sunbathe, swim, listen to music or have a spot to eat or drink. The atmosphere here is great.

As you can imagine, eating and drinking here is also very relaxed. In busy season, you may need to book yourself into the restaurants but there are many roadside BBQ's that offer the best fresh seafood I have ever tasted. If you fancy a later night, stop into I&I Reggae Bar and have a drink on the roof terrace or bop away on the first floor.

A few particular mentions. Habanero's restaurant is second to none. The food here is AMAZING and the service is efficient and polite. It is a little pricer than the other restaurants but the extra standard is worth the extra dollars. Also, try Frans Grill on the front street. You'll sit with other people on picnic benches and enjoy the amazing fresh BBQ'd seafood in a very relaxed environment.

The best tour we did was The Manatee tour with Chocolate. We were so lucky to see a mother manatee and baby and Chocolate is so passionate and knowable about manatees.

All in all, we had a fantastic time and can't wait to return, hopefully sometime soon.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonLomax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Myself, sister and boyfriend Stayed at Maddie's place the Last week of November for 2 nights in the Jaguar Room. The accommodations are simple but clean, and the cost of your night stay goes towards supporting Maddie's efforts towards helping the welfare of all animals on Caye Caulker. You would never know there are over 80 cats on the property. We had a very enjoyable time talking to Maddie and playing with the cats and 3 dogs. Would go back in a heart beat.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

PAW is quite simply an amazing place to stay. The situation is unbelievable, right on the waters edge with its only little beach and jetty to watch the sun set on, plus a boat docked to sunbath on....its on the quieter lea side of the island which is really relaxing, but still just a 100 yard stroll to the main drag on the windward side. There is the Cabana which is amazing value for money if travelling on a shoestring or the apartment if you want a bit more luxury which opens on to a sea view veranda. There are so many memorable benefits/experiences you won't get elsewhere: It is obviously great for animal lovers and you will fall in love with Peaches (lovely dog) and co. plus Madi will lend you a machete! if you want to break open your own coconuts from the coconut trees in the property - how cool is that! And its right next door to the Belize Diving Centre if you are going diving.

And when you stay with Madi you know that what you are paying goes to a great cause - Madi is the mother Teresa of the cat world!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2012

I spent about a week at P.A.W. Cat Sanctuary. It's a great place to stay for people who love animals. Playing with cats and dogs in the morning, having a cat (at least one) on the lap while snoozing at noon and watching the sun go down on Madi's peer with the animals.
If you need a little luxury Madi has some fine suites, if you need a little less luxury there's the cabana or you can place your own tent below a coconut-tree (or somewhere else). So there's the right place for everyone.
Madi is one of the most warm-harted people I ever met. She gave me perfect advices for trips (snorkeling, manatee watching), restaurants, bars...
So if you plan to go to Caye Caulker and you love animals stay at P.A.W.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank birk_berlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Champlin, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 December 2011

I stayed with Madi for almost five weeks volunteering February - March 2011. I made this a complete volunteering holiday and it gave me great respect for what Madi does, it is hard work. She Cares for all of the animals, and when i say that i do not just mean the ones that have the pleasure of living within the sanctuary i mean the whole island.

I worked first hand with all the animals and saw alot of things that when on, on the island and how Madi is trying to educate and help keep the animal population down.

She does so much work and does it all out of pocket. Staying with Madi and her wonderful family of animals is a great way to help a good cause and get to make some wonderful new friends.

The island is a very relaxing place to be. On top of Madi's boat was my favorite place to relax no matter if i was tanning during the day or watching the sun go down, or my personal favorite looking up and watching the stars at night. i have never seen so many shooting stars in my life.

If your an animal lover, and want to meet an amazing person and all of her amazing animals PAWS is the place to be!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Cora H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

I stayed at PAWS last August with a good friend of mine, and the experience was amazing! The cabin we stayed in was far from luxurious, but that is how I like it, so it worked out perfectly!

Right when we arrived, we were greeted by Madi and four or five of the friendliest dogs I've ever met. In addition to hanging out and playing with them, there were so many friendly cats that this animal-lover was overwhelmed and had trouble leaving. Immediately upon arriving, we chatted with Madi for more than an hour while meeting all of the animals. We were hooked, and ended up staying for 2 days longer than we planned.

Caye Caulker is a small place and is constantly changing, but Madi's family has a history there, and it's great to help out an established family amid the currents of change that threaten to engulf this cheap little island. Please, please stay with her if you get the chance. You won't regret it.

Room Tip: Stay in the cabin if you get a chance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveTok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caye Caulker
0.2 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
256 reviews
0.2 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#11 of 19 in Caye Caulker
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
92 reviews
12.3 mi away
Pedro's Hotel
Pedro's Hotel
#30 of 53 in San Pedro
566 reviews
13.1 mi away
Sandbar Beachfront Hostel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PAUSE Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PAUSE Hostel

Property: PAUSE Hostel
Address: 1 Pasero Street, Caye Caulker, Belize (Formerly Pause Accommodation)
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pause Accommodation offers guests a unique Caye Caulker vacation experience removed from the bustle of the main tourist areas. This charming, waterfront property offers a variety of different accommodations with something to suit an array of travel preferences. Our Garden Suite has a double bed, kitchenette with fridge and microwave, fan and private shower overlooking the garden. We also have A private Cabana which sits right on the water's edge, sleeps 2, with shared outside bathroom, a 10 bed & 4 bed dorm with shared bath & kitchen & a 6 bed dorm with private bath. We offer bike rentals & free kayaks, wifi & loads of coconuts for all our guests. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing