We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would not stay anywhere else if I go back!”
Review of PAUSE Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
PAUSE Hostel
Reviewed 10 February 2012

We stayed at Paws in January of 2012. We had decided to go there for a few reasons. It was cheaper, we had a room by the sea, the money we spent went to a good cause and also because I prefer something more intimate than hotels. It was only a few minutes from accommodations (phone company, groceries, restaurants, tour operators, etc.) Our suite was super clean and well furnished. We had a fan, AC, a fridge, microwave, fridge, gas stove...everything! I loved sitting on the balcony with the cats in the morning. Madi is a great person and she goes to great lengths for helping cats. It was beautiful to see. We will definitely keep in touch and try to send more donations her way.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emilierv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 217 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2012

A few months ago I had the best experience of my life when i came to volunteer at PAW on the island of Caye Caulker. I stayed in the garden suite which was so clean, comfortable and fully furnished. I helped with the daily feeding of the animals, cleaned, nursed sick animals, groomed the kitties, fed the feral colony, bathe the dogs, socialize the kitties, pet the animals and pet and pet some more. I sat on the dock everyday and watched the beautiful sunset with Peaches and Oso a couple of the rescued dogs.

The founder, Madi Collins is so passionate and compassion about her work with all the castaways in her care. I learned so much about selfless giving just being in this wonderful place. It was so amazing to wake up and end my day in such a paw-sitive environment!

My experience at PAW was one of a kind and I wanted to share this with everyone not only because I know that other animal lovers would also have a wonderful experience here but also because staying at PAUSE its a way to help the animals . By staying here you are helping provide food & medical care for the animals as all funds go to this cause and its program.

So animal lovers out there please share this information with every animal lovers you know.

Please tell everyone you know that on the Island of Caye Caulker, approximately 21 miles from the coast of Belize City you will find many hotels, and other accommodations, however, of all the local accommodations you will find on Caye Caulker, only one very unique accommodation called PAUSE can provide an opportunity to enjoy authentic Caribbean culture while helping a worthy cause. PAUSE or PAWS as some call it are affordable Seaside Suites that give back to the community!

PAUSE, By The Sea accommodations offers guests a unique Caribbean vacation experience removed from the bustle of the main tourist areas. This charming, waterfront property offers a variety of different accommodations with something to suite an array of travel preferences.

Touted as a home away from home for animal lovers, perhaps the most defining characteristic of PAUSE is that the property is also home to P.A.W. (Protecting Animal Welfare) Cat Sanctuary & Humane Society.

Separate to the accommodations is a large shelter housing eighty orphaned, abandoned and abused castaway cats & four rescued dogs . For those who wish to participate, PAWS founder, Madi Collins, will proudly familiarize you with her life’s work and offer the unique opportunity to assist in the shelter, should you wish it. While the animals have their own home and are not permitted in the suites or cabana, it is essential that guests hold a high appreciation of animals to get the full experience from this truly individual travel opportunity.

Rental fee from the cabana and suites goes to feed, sterilize and provide medical care for the animals at the sanctuary and to the on going TNR (trap, neuter & return) program to sterilize feral cats to control their population and thus their suffering as well as to the ongoing low cost sterilization clinics throughout Belize & Mexico to provide sterilization to low income families to sterilize their pets as well as to sterilize stray animals to control animal population.

Come stay at PAUSE to support this worthy cause. Or if you are in Caye Caulker here are other ways you can help:


1. Donate a few cans of friskies cat food . All male cats are on this diet to protect them from Urinary tract infections and prevent urinary blockages. In Caye Caulker you can get these at the store named PAY LESS near the Ocean Side Bar for 1.75 Belize. This is the cheapest place to get them.


2. Buy a hand painted silk scarf to support PAWS. If you are looking for a light weight gift to take back to your family and friends stop by and see the assortment of hand painted silk scarfs painted by Madi Collins, founder of PAW .


3. Have a little space in your luggage? Why not stuck a few packs of Advantage flea treatment for cats and dogs, kitty and doggie treats, catnip, toys, or/ and kitty beds. Anything new or used is welcome!

To learn more about PAWS please visit www.pawanimalsanctuarybelize.com.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank goldie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

My wife, my 2 daughters (ages 8 and 10) and I stayed with Madi in November 2011. We all had a great time. The location right on the water is very nice. It was a fun unique experience for all of us, much more fun than staying at a hotel or a condo. It is part home stay and part pet safari. Madi and her mother are wonderful and made us feel at home. The kids were delighted to be able to interact with all the cats and the dogs. Normally, for safety reasons, when we are traveling we don't let them do that much. Madi's animals are all vaccinated and very well cared for, so we let the kids play to their heart's content. I am not really a cat person but, it is fascinating to see how she manages her cats.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fabquatro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

I stayed with at PAWS in Caye Caulker in November 2011. I volunteered with a friend for 10 days and the whole experience has left a very special place in my heart.

PAWS is situated on the west coast of the island, which is a short 3 minute walk away from the main strip that hosts most of the bars and restaurants. It is very large, secluded and private with it's own pier. The pier is great to sit on with a Belikin beer watching the sun set with the 3 of the resident dogs, Peaches, Orso and Twinky. If you're lucky you can see the sting ray swim past just as the sun has gone down.

We stayed in the both the Garden room and The Cat Mahal. My favourite was the Cat Mahal as this had a huge decking area with chairs to sit and relax. If you relaxing during the day you will also get cuddles and affection from the resident cats and dogs. It is almost impossible to pull yourself away from the deck area to do anything else :-).

Both rooms are very clean and safe and has all the amenities you would expect from an apartment. We didn't stay in the beach cabana but we had a look inside and it looks lovely.

Madi also offers camping on the grounds, which is a great option if you like sleeping under the stars and also want to keep the cost down. It is very quiet here as well so noise would never be an issue.

I would thoroughly recommend staying here, whether it be as a volunteer or just a guest. By staying here you are also helping Madi and her great cause in rescuing animals. You are really welcomed and it feels like a home from home.

The Island

You can get to Caye Caulker by ferry, around 45 mins from Belize City or small plane and it is a very laid back sandy island. The saying for Caye Caulker is "Go slow" and after a couple of days it is difficult not to. You won't see any cars, just golf buggies and cycles or the very occasional moped. The island wakes up early as the divers and snorkelers head to the seas. There are many breakfast places to eat in or take out. You can also grab a sandwich to take on a tour with you.

It is a very small island and you can cycle from top of the south island to the bottom in about 10 minutes. Just be careful if you use back street, look out for small planes landing as you can find yourself on the airstrip very easily !

If you are whiling away the hours during the day, head to The Split where you can sunbathe, swim, listen to music or have a spot to eat or drink. The atmosphere here is great.

As you can imagine, eating and drinking here is also very relaxed. In busy season, you may need to book yourself into the restaurants but there are many roadside BBQ's that offer the best fresh seafood I have ever tasted. If you fancy a later night, stop into I&I Reggae Bar and have a drink on the roof terrace or bop away on the first floor.

A few particular mentions. Habanero's restaurant is second to none. The food here is AMAZING and the service is efficient and polite. It is a little pricer than the other restaurants but the extra standard is worth the extra dollars. Also, try Frans Grill on the front street. You'll sit with other people on picnic benches and enjoy the amazing fresh BBQ'd seafood in a very relaxed environment.

The best tour we did was The Manatee tour with Chocolate. We were so lucky to see a mother manatee and baby and Chocolate is so passionate and knowable about manatees.

All in all, we had a fantastic time and can't wait to return, hopefully sometime soon.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LondonLomax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Myself, sister and boyfriend Stayed at Maddie's place the Last week of November for 2 nights in the Jaguar Room. The accommodations are simple but clean, and the cost of your night stay goes towards supporting Maddie's efforts towards helping the welfare of all animals on Caye Caulker. You would never know there are over 80 cats on the property. We had a very enjoyable time talking to Maddie and playing with the cats and 3 dogs. Would go back in a heart beat.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

PAW is quite simply an amazing place to stay. The situation is unbelievable, right on the waters edge with its only little beach and jetty to watch the sun set on, plus a boat docked to sunbath on....its on the quieter lea side of the island which is really relaxing, but still just a 100 yard stroll to the main drag on the windward side. There is the Cabana which is amazing value for money if travelling on a shoestring or the apartment if you want a bit more luxury which opens on to a sea view veranda. There are so many memorable benefits/experiences you won't get elsewhere: It is obviously great for animal lovers and you will fall in love with Peaches (lovely dog) and co. plus Madi will lend you a machete! if you want to break open your own coconuts from the coconut trees in the property - how cool is that! And its right next door to the Belize Diving Centre if you are going diving.

And when you stay with Madi you know that what you are paying goes to a great cause - Madi is the mother Teresa of the cat world!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

I spent about a week at P.A.W. Cat Sanctuary. It's a great place to stay for people who love animals. Playing with cats and dogs in the morning, having a cat (at least one) on the lap while snoozing at noon and watching the sun go down on Madi's peer with the animals.
If you need a little luxury Madi has some fine suites, if you need a little less luxury there's the cabana or you can place your own tent below a coconut-tree (or somewhere else). So there's the right place for everyone.
Madi is one of the most warm-harted people I ever met. She gave me perfect advices for trips (snorkeling, manatee watching), restaurants, bars...
So if you plan to go to Caye Caulker and you love animals stay at P.A.W.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank birk_berlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caye Caulker hotels
0.2 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
279 reviews
0.2 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
257 reviews
0.2 mi away
Popeyes Beach Resort
Popeyes Beach Resort
#15 of 19 in Caye Caulker
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
93 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#10 of 19 in Caye Caulker
260 reviews
0.6 mi away
Weezie's Ocean Front Hotel and Garden Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PAUSE Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PAUSE Hostel

Address: 1 Pasero Street, Caye Caulker, Belize (Formerly Pause Accommodation)
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Caye Caulker
Price Range: £15 - £28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pause Accommodation offers guests a unique Caye Caulker vacation experience removed from the bustle of the main tourist areas. This charming, waterfront property offers a variety of different accommodations with something to suit an array of travel preferences. Our Garden Suite has a double bed, kitchenette with fridge and microwave, fan and private shower overlooking the garden. We also have A private Cabana which sits right on the water's edge, sleeps 2, with shared outside bathroom, a 10 bed & 4 bed dorm with shared bath & kitchen & a 6 bed dorm with private bath. We offer bike rentals & free kayaks, wifi & loads of coconuts for all our guests. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing