We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most unfriendly, horrible place I've ever stayed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Jaguar Morning Star Guesthouse
Ranked #7 of 32 Caye Caulker B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 March 2011

It's taken me a couple of months to write this review, because the experience at this place was so so awful. The couple who run it were rude, unfriendly, never smiled -- I had to ask their names and whether they worked there, since they ignored us when we arrived (and we were the only guests they had - go figure!). The place was under construction. We were asked not to talk outside after 9pm. The shower worked with a few tricks, the toilet worked intermittently and I had to fix it myself one night. The bikes were not available for our first day; the second day, one was broken. We even bought them a new bike lock because the one they gave us was broken and they insisted that a lock be used -- they did not say thank you for the new lock. We planned to stay one week but left after 2 nights. They threatened to call the cops on us for not staying longer, but we were leaving because the man actually yelled at us for talking after 9pm. I've never seen anything like this kind of behavior -- perhaps the large "FOR SALE" sign indicates that they realize they are in the wrong business. All together, we spent 3 weeks in Belize, and every single other place was wonderful. This place is not close to anything good (and without a working bike, this makes for long walks) and is TWICE THE PRICE of much much better, functional, friendly, helpful places. Free internet is standard on Caye Caulker - not here. Having traveled the globe as a backpacker, a luxury and a business traveler, this is the WORST PLACE.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HappyTrails2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
There are newer reviews for Jaguar Morning Star Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2011

The rooms are spacious, comfortable and spotless. Joanne and Al were wonderful hosts. They were informative and provided us with interesting and useful information. We a great time.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jody7008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank vrinsesje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
Thank SirZaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcosmoreno2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank jasmintozzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caye Caulker hotels
0.0 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
278 reviews
0.0 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
257 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tree Tops Guesthouse
Tree Tops Guesthouse
#8 of 32 in Caye Caulker
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Weezie's Ocean Front Hotel and Garden Cottages
0.0 mi away
Yocamatsu
Yocamatsu
#9 of 32 in Caye Caulker
16 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sea N Sun Guesthouse
Sea N Sun Guesthouse
#6 of 32 in Caye Caulker
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaguar Morning Star Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaguar Morning Star Guesthouse

Address: Elma Novelo Street, Caye Caulker, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Caye Caulker
Price Range: £75 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Jaguar Morning Star Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing