We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach Side Cabanas with Lovely Hosts”
Review of Colinda Cabanas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Colinda Cabanas
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 February 2013

Stayed in Colindas Cabanas in January 2013. Had a great 7 days. Each Cabana has 2 bikes to use free of charge, Colin & Lina have spare snorkelling gear if you need it, free kayaks if you want & a private pier with loungers and a hammock at the end to enjoy a book and a beer. Although it is a ten minute walk from the front street it's a lovely walk/cycle depending on the mood and a lovely setting. Would highly recommend a stay here. Cabanas themselves are cleaned everyday and have everything you need including WiFi.

Room Tip: Ask for a Cabana facing out onto the beach
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manfromcrosser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (578)
There are newer reviews for Colinda Cabanas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

483 - 489 of 578 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2013

Nothing too much trouble. Lovely pier for chilling out. Good basic rooms.
There are free bikes and a free canoe.
The only drawback is that it is a ten minute walk to evening restaurants and a dark ish route home. You could get a taxi if you wanted too but I just cycled back at pace.
Swimming is a bit limited on the island and the Colinda pier is really suited to a good thrash about.
Recommended.

Room Tip: The front rooms are more expensive and probably not worth it
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndrewtLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

i recently stayed in the Colinda Cabanas, and had a great stay. Due to availablity, I split my stay between a small, ocean-view cabana for the first few days, and a beachfront suite for the last few days.
The Cabanas are in a great location on the airport side of the island, which is quiet, and doesn't get much random foot traffic through it, so it is very safe. A bicycle is provided for riding around the island, which is all you really need to see the whole island. Golf cart taxis are also available, but the center of town is only a short walk away.
I stayed in a back cabana for the first part of the stay, which was about 300 sq ft, with a double and a twin bed, bathroom with shower and compact refrigerator. There was an inside table and chair, and on the porch, an outside table and hanging hammock.(very comfortable !)
The beachfront suite was about 700 sq ft, with marble floors, full kitchen with full size refrigerator, full bath, separate bedroom with a queen bed, air-conditioning and cable tv. There was a dining table with chairs, and in the front area, a double sized futon and table with a chair.
Colin and Linda are very nice, and gave great recommendations for activities and restaurants. They are very gracious hosts, and very helpful and friendly. Rooms have daily cleaning service.
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Cabanas, and can highly recommend them for both those traveling on a budget or those looking for nicer accommodations.

Room Tip: If you are on a budget, the back cabanas are a great deal and very comfortable. The beachfront suit...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

This was my first solo adventure and Linda made me feel right at home. I stayed in cabana number 4, which I understand is the newest unit, and while the bedroom was a bit cozy, I was comfortable. Didn't spend much time in there anyway! I loved eating my breakfast on the pier... watching the sun come alive. The bikes were great for getting around the island, after I re-learned my biking skills.

My only complaint was the 10am checkout.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FusingFrannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

There's not much more to say about Colinda Cabanas that hasn't already been said. The places are so nice, hot water consistently available, Colin and Linda are so nice, and it's wonderful chill and quiet. I definitely give this place a 5/5. Worth it, especially for couples!

The only downside is the place is very far south. Bikes are provided for free, which makes it easier. But it isn't right in the center of town. That can be a plus or a minus. Still, don't worry about it too much. Anywhere on Caye Caulker is an easy walk.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

This was our first visit to Belize and we were at a lost of where to stay. I did a little research on Trip Adviser (btw, I love them too) and read all the fabulous reviews on Colinda Cabanas. We were not disappointed. All the reviews were right on. From the beginning, Colin and Linda were very patient with me with all my questions and concerns. They are a wonderful couple who takes very good care of their guests and made sure our vacation was perfect and they were very accommodating. From providing extra bikes for our big group to checking with the airlines to make sure didn't need to pay extra for a departure tax to calling us a cab. We loved their location on the beach with the awesome sunrise and so close to town that it was an easy walk. We also loved the bikes that they provided which was a very nice touch, especially when the kids (young adults actually) moaned about walking in the heat. Our unit was right on the water and our unit was clean and spacious. I can't say enough about Colinda Cabanas and our hosts Colin and Linda. We will definitely be back and this will be the only place we stay. Much Mahalos Colin and Linda!

Room Tip: Loved the beach front cabanas. Nice breeze from the ocean.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chero33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2012

My husband and I loved our 10 day stay in Caye Caulker and the location of Colinda Cabanas. It is in a quiet area and you only have to walk for about 10 to 15 minutes along the shore to get to most of the festivities. We really enjoyed the walks under the palms during the day, they kept us cool and at night the stars were amazing! There is no cars on the Island, just some taxi driver golf carts & a few the locals use. Colin & Linda also supply bikes but we enjoyed the walking so much we did not use them. The house we stayed in was very clean & comfortable with a beautiful view, and we were pleasantly surprised to have maid service daily. They gave us wonderful recommendations for everything we were looking for! The only problem we had was the sand fleas/flies for a few days that bit at dusk & dawn because we came after much rain. (Bug spray did not work so we used baby oil to coat our skin. We found out that lime juice also works great too! Mosquitos were not a problem.) We loved the private dock and hammocks under the thatched roof. One of the nicest places on the Island! So glad we stayed here after going to San Pedro for lunch on a snorkel trip (cars darting out and noisy, not the same vibe!) We

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank wineguru11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caye Caulker
0.3 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
278 reviews
0.7 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
257 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#10 of 19 in Caye Caulker
258 reviews
13.5 mi away
The Phoenix Resort
The Phoenix Resort
#1 of 53 in San Pedro
988 reviews
0.4 mi away
Popeyes Beach Resort
Popeyes Beach Resort
#16 of 19 in Caye Caulker
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colinda Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colinda Cabanas

Address: | On a prime sandy beach facing the reef, Caye Caulker, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Price Range: £36 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colinda Cabanas is located on a prime safe and quiet beachfront property on the island of Caye Caulker in Belize. Facing the reef on the preferred East side, we are blessed with an almost constant Cool North-Easterly breeze. Most nights star-gazing is amazing while listening to the surf breaking on the reef. Naturalists and children alike will enjoy the abundant species of migratory birds, reptiles and marine life. We currently have twelve units available for nightly rentals. Each of our units are slightly different and offer various amenities depending on your needs and your budget. Prices range from $69.00 - $159.00 per night + tax for 2 persons. Single travelers receive $5.00 off per night. We also offer discounts for 5 or 7 night stays. Some of the Cabanas and all of the beach suites offer ocean views. All units have a fridge,coffee maker, coffee beans and 5 gallon purified water station. Some units have full kitchens and a/c. The bathrooms have a good supply of hot reverse osmosis purified water. Free WiFi in room. We also supply bicycles and kayaks. (Free of charge on a first come basis). A 175' long pier with chairs, palapa and hammocks and safe swimming area completes the picture ! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing