We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Pleasant Surprise....”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Colinda Cabanas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Colinda Cabanas
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Surprise....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

We are airline employees and had booked 3 nights,,, Unfortunatly we got bumped from the first days flights and arrived a day later. We fully expected to lose the first night since we prepaid but were very,very surprised when Linda gave us $100 BZD for the night we missed, They were able to rent our room in our absence and gave us a large portion of our money back! That is a first class operation! Thank You Colin & Linda!
The room we stayed in (#10) was a ground floor unit with everything you would need minus the groceries. Fridge, stove, coffee maker, toaster, etc. was all there - including a fresh water drinking dispenser in the kitchen. The bed was a bit firm but not rock hard and the use of the bikes helped us get to the other end of the island in no time, Their pier is very nice in the evening hours.. Two hammocks were very comfortable doing nothing if thats what you like to do. We went on the snorkling trip with Ras Creek - we highly recommend his tour; he can be found at the Split - look for the rasta boat and ask if he will be going out anytime soon. He doesn't take reservations so it's a first come type of deal.
In conclusion be prepared to do nothing... also we took Tropic Air out of BZE over to Caye Caulker it's only $120 round trip and 10 mins each way which saves about 1 1/4 hours in land and water taxis if you decide to go the eco route. If you do fly in save the taxi money by walking to Colindas via the sand path to the water and turn left at the beach and walk along the beach another 100 yards or so - wish we had done that! We had a great time doing nothing and "going slow"

Room Tip: We had No. 10 on the ground floor - no complaints...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TD-ATX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    478
    59
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
62
344
25
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

We had a great time on Caye Caulker and at Colinda Cabanas. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and they had a nice sturdy dock with hammocks for ultimate relaxation. Colin and Linda were extremely helpful to ensure we had a lovely time.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robgski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

Great rooms, complimentary kayaks, bikes, and snorkel gear, and a private dock with hammocks! Paradise! And we loved chatting with the owners, Colin and Linda- super friendly and they go out of their way to make sure you have a great stay. If we ever make it back to Caye Caulker we will definitely be staying there again!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine838_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

The owners were incredibly kind and hospitable. Very friendly. The accomodations were great too! We loved the private dock, hammocks, and free bicycles! It was great being able to bike around the whole island. Our room was brand new. So nice and clean. Everything you need without a lot of luxury. It was a short distance to town, but far enough away from noise and other traffic. I can't say enough good things about this place and I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Summer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Westminster, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

Colin and Linda (Colinda) were great and their accommodations were clean, comfortable and welcoming. Linda orientated us on the places to go on the island that she and her husband enjoyed which was super helpful. Their staff were super friendly and helpful as well and took great care of the place. We didn't have air conditioning in our cabana but the breeze off the ocean was constant and kept everything cool, especially at night. A coffee pot, filters, filtered water and a fridge were big benefits in the rooms as was the dock, chairs and hammocks both on the dock and at each cabana.
I loved that they have bicycles and snorkel gear for their guests were available at no extra cost.
Thanks Colin and Linda for a great stay! I can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

We stayed at Colinda Cabanas for 4 nights in April, 2013 and I loved it!!
We had our private cabana, that came with personal bikes for the three of us to get around the island. Colin, who checked us in, made sure we knew all the in's and out's of the island upon check in. The rooms were cute, hot showers and filtered drinking water in the rooms are always a huge plus for us!!

Can't wait to stay with them again!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KristenWerring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

Loved this place, Colin and Linda are the nicest people. I proposed to my girl on this trip so it was a big one and we are so glad we stayed here. Both Colin and Linda were the best hosts and the free bikes, air conditioning, room service, hot showers were all fantastic. Loved it!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chazmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caye Caulker
0.3 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.4 mi away
Popeyes Beach Resort
Popeyes Beach Resort
#14 of 19 in Caye Caulker
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.7 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
0.0 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
12.4 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#19 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colinda Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colinda Cabanas

Property: Colinda Cabanas
Address: | On a prime sandy beach facing the reef, Caye Caulker, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colinda Cabanas is located on a prime safe and quiet beachfront property on the island of Caye Caulker in Belize. Facing the reef on the preferred East side, we are blessed with an almost constant Cool North-Easterly breeze. Most nights star-gazing is amazing while listening to the surf breaking on the reef. Naturalists and children alike will enjoy the abundant species of migratory birds, reptiles and marine life. We currently have twelve units available for nightly rentals. Each of our units are slightly different and offer various amenities depending on your needs and your budget. Prices range from $69.00 - $159.00 per night + tax for 2 persons. Single travelers receive $5.00 off per night. We also offer discounts for 5 or 7 night stays. Some of the Cabanas and all of the beach suites offer ocean views. All units have a fridge,coffee maker, coffee beans and 5 gallon purified water station. Some units have full kitchens and a/c. The bathrooms have a good supply of hot reverse osmosis purified water. Free WiFi in room. We also supply bicycles and kayaks. (Free of charge on a first come basis). A 175' long pier with chairs, palapa and hammocks and safe swimming area completes the picture ! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing