We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect beach cabana”
Review of Colinda Cabanas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Colinda Cabanas
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2013

My husband and I spent five relaxing nights at Colinda Cabanas. Our cabana was steps away from the ocean and the well maintained dock where we could swim. The cabana was super clean and tastefully decorated including an original piece of local artwork. We were less than ten minutes from the center of Caye Caulker and all the action. Colin was friendly and helpful. Linda returned our last day from a trip home and was immediately offering her help and suggestions. Both are excellent hosts. I look forward to our return.

Room Tip: The upper level beach front cabana had an excellent view and captured the ocean breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank candyfoster47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (592)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

424 - 430 of 592 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2013

We had an incredible 3 night stay at Colinidas Cabanas! We also had one of the newer larger cabins which was immaculate! Service the best, location perfect, comfortable room and great value. Loved the hammocks on our porch and on the dock for relaxing and enjoyed the free bikes for easy access to town. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

My husband and I just spent 10 nights at Colinda Cabanas and could not have been happier! The cabanas are simple, yet very clean, and very affordable. We stayed in the second row, top cabana and loved it. It came with a private bathroom, little kitchenette, AC (which I recommend in the hot months), TV, Wifi, and our own hammock on the balcony. The grounds themselves are very nice and kept clean. There is a private dock with chairs and tables, and hammocks. It was a great place to relax, swim, get some some sun, and meet others staying at Colinda. The Cabanas come with complimentary kayaks and bikes, which really came in handy. It was only about a 5 minute bike ride to restaurants, and about 10 minutes to the Split (which is a popular place to hang out and swim). If you want to be right in the middle of the night life though, Colinda Cabanas may not be for you. We enjoyed being a little ways away from it, and didn't mind the short bike ride or walk along the beach to get to it. Colin was fantastic and very helpful. He made us feel very welcome and offered to help in whatever ways he could. The grounds staff were also great. Very friendly and cleaned our room daily. I HIGHLY recommend Colinda Cabanas. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Becky K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We spent 9 nights at Colinda Cabanas this May and absolutely loved it!! The cabanas are private, clean, comfortable, quiet, affordable, convenient, and safe. Each cabana has a private bath with hot water, purified drinking water, a small refrigerator, fresh ground coffee and coffee maker, daily maid service, comfortable beds, and fans. The hosts, Colin and Linda, and their staff, were very friendly and attentive to all the guests. They provided many extras to help us enjoy our stay including beach towels, snorkel gear, sea kayaks, bicycles, restaurant recommendations & great conversation! The cabanas are just footsteps from the water and a short, fun bike ride to where the action is. We loved spending evenings on the breezy porch of our cabana or out on the pier swinging in the hammocks with a rum punch! This is the place to pick for relaxation and comfort without breaking your budget.

Room Tip: If you are sensitive to the heat and humidity you may want to choose a cabana that has a/c.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kookarooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

I spent DAYS looking at all of the Caye Caulker options and was really pleased with Colinda. It's close, but not too close, to everything. The cabanas are cheerful, perfectly clean, beds are great, bathrooms are roomy, and the kitchen is well-stocked. Colin is on site 24/7 so any questions or needs are quickly answered. We used the futon in the living room as a 2nd bedroom and it was fine because the porch is the "real" living room. Try Rose's for dinner -- loved Ragamuffin for the all-day sailing snorkel tour of the reef.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We spent 3 nights at Colindra. I had a lovely room, high ceiling ac, kitchenette. But the two other rooms were not so good. One was so small, my friends decided to sleep together in another cabin although there was no ac. Both of these cabins were very small, one with the bathroomin the middle of the room, very low ceilings, and one just too small to sleep in comfortably.

Colin and Linda are very nice and helpful but I think they are a little weary of doing what they are doing.

Room Tip: Only accept the more expensive cabins
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank joycemarion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin_M_Walsh, Front Office Manager at Colinda Cabanas, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2013

Dear Guest - Thank You for your feedback.
We are disappointed that you and your friends did not enjoy your stay with us. The story your friends told us was : "They could not figure out why you had booked 2 different cabanas for them, as they were old friends who always stayed together in the same room when traveling."
Regardless of the reason; we take guest satisfaction very seriously and have already up-dated our web-site cabana descriptions to reflect your comments.

This seems like this is an opportune time to talk about what we offer at Colinda Cabanas.

All our cabanas and suites are very basic. They are not luxurious by any stretch of the imagination. We are all about offering our guests excellent value for their money in a small quiet resort that has an truly authentic Caribbean feel. The cabanas are all about 12' x 20' with approximately 240' of indoor and outside living area. They all have vaulted ceilings which makes them seem large and airy. Many well-screened windows and several wall fans help keep things cool at night. The cabanas are well laid out with 2 beds, private bathroom and small table and chairs. They also have a fridge and simple food preparation area. Most of our guests find they are perfect for their needs and their budget, and in fact often ask to stay extra days.
Our beach suites and second row suites are about twice the square footage of the cabanas. They offer full kitchens, Queen beds, T.V. and air conditioning. The extensive use of local hardwoods and ceramic tile takes them up a notch from the cabanas. They are very well laid-out and most guests find they are ideal.
All our units offer an ocean view and are mere steps to the water. We offer free bicycles, Kayaks and snorkel gear and have one of the better piers on the island.
Most of Caye Caulkers resorts and guesthouses offer similiar accommodations such as ours. Some are a little fancier and some a little more basic. A quick perusal of Trip Advisor should come up with something that will work for your expectations, needs and your budget.

Travel Safe !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We stayed at Colinda Cobanas at the end of April/1st of May. We planned a last minute trip to Belize at the first of April with no idea where to go. We had decided to go to Hopkins and the place we wanted to stay (found on TripAdvisor) was booked and they suggested Caye Caulker as an alternative destination. We jumped on TA again and there was Colinda's at the top of the list. We made contact with them via email and they replied quickly. We wanted a beach front room, but due to the late booking, the first and last nights had to be in other cabanas. We made our payment via PayPal and we were set for 8 nights. We arrived and were warmly greeted by Linda. We had the small new cabana in the back the first night. Price was right, had everything you needed including A/C in a well decorated, clean setting. It may be a little small for some unless you pack light. Here is the shocker. Linda said after you get settled in, come up to the office and sign in and I have some money for you. Wondering, I went up and she said they had mis-calculated the total room rate when I booked (3 different rooms) and had overcharged us $50 or so. And here is your cash for overpayment. Talking about honest, when do you get that these days? And we would have never known. The other reviewers have pretty much said it all about Colinda's. Our beachfront suite was fantastic, the staff great, and Linda was the best. (Colin was gone during our stay). Only thing to advise is: If you want air conditioning check with them to be sure your cabana has it. A few of the older cabanas didn't have. Overall we loved it so much, we are going back in September. Can't wait.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caye Caulker
0.3 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
290 reviews
0 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
95 reviews
0.7 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Popeyes Beach Resort
Popeyes Beach Resort
#15 of 19 in Caye Caulker
183 reviews
0.4 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#11 of 19 in Caye Caulker
261 reviews
13.5 mi away
The Phoenix Resort
The Phoenix Resort
#1 of 55 in San Pedro
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colinda Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colinda Cabanas

Address: | On a prime sandy beach facing the reef, Caye Caulker, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Price Range: £36 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colinda Cabanas is located on a prime safe and quiet beachfront property on the island of Caye Caulker in Belize. Facing the reef on the preferred East side, we are blessed with an almost constant Cool North-Easterly breeze. Most nights star-gazing is amazing while listening to the surf breaking on the reef. Naturalists and children alike will enjoy the abundant species of migratory birds, reptiles and marine life. We currently have twelve units available for nightly rentals. Each of our units are slightly different and offer various amenities depending on your needs and your budget. Prices range from $69.00 - $159.00 per night + tax for 2 persons. Single travelers receive $5.00 off per night. We also offer discounts for 5 or 7 night stays. Some of the Cabanas and all of the beach suites offer ocean views. All units have a fridge,coffee maker, coffee beans and 5 gallon purified water station. Some units have full kitchens and a/c. The bathrooms have a good supply of hot reverse osmosis purified water. Free WiFi in room. We also supply bicycles and kayaks. (Free of charge on a first come basis). A 175' long pier with chairs, palapa and hammocks and safe swimming area completes the picture ! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing