We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing and beautiful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Colinda Cabanas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Colinda Cabanas
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Certificate of Excellence
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Relaxing and beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

We visited Caye Caulker for 5 nights in January (2014) and stayed at Colinda Cabanas. It was clean, quiet and a perfect beginning to our 3 week Belize vacation. We used the bikes to get around the island and had access to a sea kayak as well. Colin and Linda were wonderful hosts and gave us all the right recommendations for food and activity. We even had opportunities to star gaze off the pier in the evenings. The full kitchen and amenities made this a great value as well as a comfortable vacation spot. We highly recommend Colin and Linda's place and plan to stay again when we return to Belize.
Jean and Doug McDonald
Medford, Oregon

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rennie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    474
    58
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
62
340
25
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed in the Beach Front Upper Suite (2) and it was more than we could have hoped for. It could easily sleep 4 with the fold out futon and the full kitchen and full size fridge was a huge plus! We used to the bikes everyday to get around the island and I couldn't have imagined being on Caye Caulker without them. The hammocks on the end of the pier were super comfortable! They even mopped the floors of our cabana every day to get the sand out! Don't hesitate to book.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redbeard80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

Great location and great accommodations. We stayed in one of the smaller cabanas in the back and were totally satisfied. The bikes are also a huge plus since that's the best way to get around the island. Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeanbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
124 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

My sister and I travelled to Caye Caulker and we booked our stay with Colinda Cabanas. The staff was very friendly and located in a nice quiet location. I'd highly recommend Colinda's for affordability and comfort.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

We stayed with Colin and Linda for 5 nights - what a pleasure. The cabana was small but comfortable with everything that we needed. We slept so well at night - it is on the quieter side of Caye Caulker and this suited us extremely well. Colin and Linda were very helpful in suggesting things to do/places to eat but they were not intrusive. The property is very well maintained and we made full use of the bicycles and the kayaks. A gem of a place. Caye Caulker is a great place as well - we liked it better than San Pedro, and were happy to have chosen to stay at Caye Caulker. The reef was awesome!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolyn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

We stayed from 12/27/2013- 1/3/2014.

I have stayed all over the Caribbean in both lavish accommodations and those that are moderate. I must say that Colinda Cabanas has to be my favorite location to date. I will be going back. Though the cabanas are not for those that expect spa style luxury, they are an excellent value and a wonderful escape for those that want to experience quaint comfort and the natural beauty of the island.

For starters, the cabanas are clean, pleasing to the eye and provide several features that will make a stay on Caye Caulker a wonderful experience.

1) The staff and owners are super friendly and more than helpful with any needs. They even provided a cookout for everyone staying on New Years Eve. This included fresh fish tacos, slaw, punch and a few other things. It was great fun.

2) The Cabanas are in a super quiet and very private location. It's a great getaway

3) Free wi/fi - though the service is slow, it is useable.

4) Free use of kayaks

4) Purified water in the room -- which we found to be super convenient. We had bike water bottles that we could just refill before venturing out.

5) Beautiful pier with some great views of the sunrise.

6) Decent, causal snorkeling right off the pier with very shallow, clear water. There is some sea grass but there are also areas that have been cleared so plenty of sea-life to see.

7) Very accessible to the beach path and Front Street though the cabanas are quite a walk from The Split. Wherever you are on the island, be prepared to do some walking.

8) The dock is private and the grounds are very well maintained/very picturesque.

9) Location is safe and quiet but -- for those that worry, there is a safe in each cabana.

10)Location is adequately lit at night.

11) Our cabana had a tin roof which made a wonderful sound when it rained a couple of nights. This became one of my favorite characteristics. Maybe this is not for everyone, but I loved this.

12) Cabana also has a coffee pot, microwave, board games, two bikes, hammock, fans, plates, cups, silverware, and a refrigerator. All of these, we used and were grateful to have.

So, I could not say more about my experience here. It was wonderful and we are already making plans to go back. The person I traveled with recently said, "when we left, it was like leaving family, not just a vacation destination." I agree and this is what makes Colinda Cabanas such a special travel destination

Room Tip: I liked the cabana in the back of the property. It was very private and comfortable. There is one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Stayed here for two nights and was a highlight of our trip! The cabanas are roomy, clean and really adorable! Staff were very helpful-going through a map of the island on arrival. Private dock, use of kayaks, own bicycles and free drinking water make this place a must-stay! Was told that this was a place for mainly honeymooners but didn't feel out of place (not being on a honeymoon). The cabanas are on the end of the island and as such are very quiet (much like the rest of the island :) )

Room Tip: try to get a cabana on the beach! However all of the cabanas are well-situated
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hicks_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caye Caulker
0.4 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.4 mi away
Popeyes Beach Resort
Popeyes Beach Resort
#14 of 19 in Caye Caulker
3.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
10.7 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.7 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.4 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#12 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colinda Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colinda Cabanas

Property: Colinda Cabanas
Address: | On a prime sandy beach facing the reef, Caye Caulker, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colinda Cabanas is located on a prime safe and quiet beachfront property on the island of Caye Caulker in Belize. Facing the reef on the preferred East side, we are blessed with an almost constant Cool North-Easterly breeze. Most nights star-gazing is amazing while listening to the surf breaking on the reef. Naturalists and children alike will enjoy the abundant species of migratory birds, reptiles and marine life. We currently have twelve units available for nightly rentals. Each of our units are slightly different and offer various amenities depending on your needs and your budget. Prices range from $69.00 - $159.00 per night + tax for 2 persons. Single travelers receive $5.00 off per night. We also offer discounts for 5 or 7 night stays. Some of the Cabanas and all of the beach suites offer ocean views. All units have a fridge,coffee maker, coffee beans and 5 gallon purified water station. Some units have full kitchens and a/c. The bathrooms have a good supply of hot reverse osmosis purified water. Free WiFi in room. We also supply bicycles and kayaks. (Free of charge on a first come basis). A 175' long pier with chairs, palapa and hammocks and safe swimming area completes the picture ! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing