We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't Say Enough About This Place”
Review of Colinda Cabanas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Colinda Cabanas
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Certificate of Excellence
Boise, Idaho
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Can't Say Enough About This Place”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Wow....We were blown away from start to finish with Colinda Cabanas. After toting our bags an easy half-mile down the beach from the water taxi, we were kindly greeted by Juan, who showed us to our room, set us up with cruiser bikes and made sure we had everything that we needed. We even had coffee beans and a coffee grinder in the room - that is a first, and one of the coolest ideas ever. The cabins have a great location slightly detached from the hustle of "downtown Caye Caulker" and a wonderful dock with palapa to watch the sunrise and sunsets from. We plan to come back here many times in the future - it was paradise, and an incredible value for the money.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    502
    60
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
66
358
27
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2014

My sister and I stayed at Colinda Cabanas for three days in one of the Ocean View cabanas. It was heaven! The rooms are clean, well kept, and steps away from the ocean. There's no a/c, but with an ocean breeze and two fans in the room, I didn't even miss it. It was very comfortable. The dock chairs and hammocks are the perfect spot for catching some sunshine (or napping) and we spent most of our island time on those lovely blue chairs! It was great to stay at a place with their own beach and dock, since most of the beach space on the island is occupied by restaurants and other hotels. We loved that the hotel is located away from the main part of town, so it was quiet and private at night. However, it's still an easy walk on the beach path (our favorite) or through the village for meals and night life, if you want. Juan was a wonderful host - he gave us excellent recommendations for snorkel trips, restaurants, and local "fast food" joints if we were craving fry jacks (try them!). He was so helpful and attentive, and made sure we always had everything we needed - even beach towels, which we both neglected to pack! Loved our stay here, and hope to come back again someday. Thanks for everything!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kbspugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringoes, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

They have thought of everything. Bikes with baskets. (Even kids' bikes.) Beach towels. Snorkeling gear. Hammocks on every balcony. A perfect pier from which to swim and lazy the day away. It's by far the best place on the island. I was greeted by name, given a layout of the island, and then told to relax. Juan, and his very soon to be bride, Emilita were our wonderful hosts while the owners returned to Canada for a bit. Juan helped us book snorkeling, informed us about the island and shared his culture with us while Emilita, with her beautiful smile, kept our cabana spotless. Ultimate perfection.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Linda and Colin were amazingly friendly. As soon as we arrived we felt at home. Linda sat us down with a very handy map and marked all the places we might want to go as well as her recommendations. Additionally, the cabanas come with a bike per person-- super convenient on the island since everyone gets around on bikes. Also, there were plenty of snorkel masks for anyone to use and 2 kayaks that you could use anytime. The cabana was cleaned daily and the perfect size. There were also cooking utensils and a burner and small fridge. We were very, very comfortable. The manager of the cabanas was also extremely nice and helped us set up the grill so we could cook some freshly caught fish we had purchased. Overall it was amazing and we highly recommend it.

Room Tip: All the rooms are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

This place was everything we had hoped it would be. The location is perfect. Far enough away from the main roads to be quiet and peaceful, but close enough that you can walk or bike in just a few minutes to get to restaurants and activities. Our ocean-view cabana (#6) was the perfect place to sleep and rest. The beds are comfy (queen and single); there are lots of screened windows and fans, so even without a/c we kept cool; the porch is lovely. Everything was very clean.

In addition to the cabana, Colin and Linda (who are just fabulous) provide everything you need to enjoy Caye Caulker. First, there is the amazing private dock. There's plenty of space for everyone to have their privacy. The hammocks in the shade at the end of the dock were just heaven. If you get hot, just slip into the water. It's a good place to swim. A short swim away, there's a very small artificial reef (marked by long sticks you can see from the dock), where we had fun snorkeling. Bikes are provided too, as well as two kayaks for the property (first come, first served).

When you arrive, Colin and Linda will give you an overview of the island, with helpful recommendations for restaurants and tours. If you want to arrange activities (either on or off Caye Caulker), they will call and make arrangements for you, using their trusted drivers and operators.

In short, Colinda Cabanas is everything you want for a vacation in paradise.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ithaca-Adventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Loved the bikes to ride into town, and the kayaks for paddling along the shore! Our cabana was immaculate and had everything we needed. We did not get the AC and did not need it with the ceiling and wall fans, and the ocean breezes - even in the furthest back cabana! Colin and Linda were friendly and helpful: Colin even climbed a coconut tree and taught us how to open the fresh cut coconuts! The pier was beautiful and provided the perfect place to relax in hammocks or chairs. The staff was wonderful! Juan was very helpful and friendly, and takes wonderful care of the grounds. The ladies kept our cabana perfectly clean - the even changed the sheets daily and washed our dishes!
Everything looks just as it does in the pictures on the website. We were there for six nights and will go back again. We loved it!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilber, Nebraska, United States
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We loved that the kayaks, snorkel gear, bikes, beach towels, and bottled water were all available with the room. The cabanas were fun and the pier was one of the top two piers, if not the best pier on the island! The owners were very nice and so were their hired help. We had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caye Caulker
0.3 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
272 reviews
0.7 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
256 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#11 of 19 in Caye Caulker
258 reviews
15.8 mi away
White Sands Cove Resort
White Sands Cove Resort
#6 of 53 in San Pedro
460 reviews
12.1 mi away
Royal Palm Island Resort
Royal Palm Island Resort
#2 of 2 in St. George's Caye
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colinda Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colinda Cabanas

Property: Colinda Cabanas
Address: | On a prime sandy beach facing the reef, Caye Caulker, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colinda Cabanas is located on a prime safe and quiet beachfront property on the island of Caye Caulker in Belize. Facing the reef on the preferred East side, we are blessed with an almost constant Cool North-Easterly breeze. Most nights star-gazing is amazing while listening to the surf breaking on the reef. Naturalists and children alike will enjoy the abundant species of migratory birds, reptiles and marine life. We currently have twelve units available for nightly rentals. Each of our units are slightly different and offer various amenities depending on your needs and your budget. Prices range from $69.00 - $159.00 per night + tax for 2 persons. Single travelers receive $5.00 off per night. We also offer discounts for 5 or 7 night stays. Some of the Cabanas and all of the beach suites offer ocean views. All units have a fridge,coffee maker, coffee beans and 5 gallon purified water station. Some units have full kitchens and a/c. The bathrooms have a good supply of hot reverse osmosis purified water. Free WiFi in room. We also supply bicycles and kayaks. (Free of charge on a first come basis). A 175' long pier with chairs, palapa and hammocks and safe swimming area completes the picture ! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing