We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chillin'”
Review of Colinda Cabanas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Colinda Cabanas
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We arrived via foot from the airport and Juan, the care-taker, immediately showed us our room and made us feel at home. He gave the low down on Caye Caulker and marked-up a map for us. The owners couldn't have hired a better guy to run the place in their absence, granted Colin was in and out at while we were there.

I love the fact that there is a full kitchen and fridge. It's nice to fix your own food as opposed to always going out to eat...sometimes ya just wanna chill and take in the view.

We enjoyed the place, Colin is a fun loving guy that is willing to help and wants to be sure you are set-up (Juan too). Personally, I really liked the fact that it is not smack in the middle of town. It's just on the fringes that make it feel like you are away from it all though you are only a 2 minute bike ride away.

Only low was that there was a nasty stink from the sea grass that had accumilated on the shore, that Colin and Juan both quickly shoveled up and dispersed of and solved the problem. Well done lads!!

Would we go back? Absolutely!!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with the rooms closest to the ocean - best views and worth the little extra y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (603)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

324 - 330 of 603 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed at Colindas for 4 nights recently and had an excellent time. Linda was extremely welcoming when we first arrived after a long boat trip from Mexico, and she gave us excellent advice on what to do during our stay in caye caulker. We met Colin later in our stay and he was equally as helpful. The room itself was spacious, had a couple of fans, a safe and a fridge and the whole place was clean and well maintained with loads of charm. As part of the room we got a couple of bikes (which we used everyday for getting round the island), the kayaks and the snorkelling gear. They also have a wonderful jetty with a couple of hammocks on the end - we spent out evenings either stargazing or watching incredible lightening in the distance. The location was also excellent - really close to all the main attractions but far enough away to be really peaceful! This place is number 1 with good reason - would definately recommend!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Emmeline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

We arrived here yesterday to Caye Caulker for our honeymoon and decided to wait until we arrived to book a place (spent first week in placencia)
We stumbled across Colonda's and the owner very kindly offered us a bargain for a room in the back where there was construction going on. (Light).
I wasn't sure about the place yet even though the owner is incredibly friendly and kind- but the moment I opened the door to our cabin, I was impressed.
Immaculately clean, beautiful floor tiles and all these little touches that made it homey.
He even has bicycles, a kyak, and free wi fi! Our room has air condoning and a cozy hammock on the deck.
There are even books in the room to read while you relax.
The place is located only a few mins by foot or bike from where the water taxi arrives and so you are close to everything yet far enough away to enjoy the quiet.
I love it here, I'm glad we found this place and I am sitting outside in the hammock while I type this review :)
Definitely recommend!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Monaw81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We want to thank Linda (and Colin even though we didn't get to meet him) and their super staff for making our 10 day stay at Colinda Cabanas so great (June 25- July 2). Linda was so welcoming when we first arrived, she gave great pointers on places to eat and visit. Our cabana was comfortable, clean and spacious. We loved having bikes, especially for early morning trips to the bakery for 25 cent donuts. The cabana was well stocked so we were able to make our own meals, if we were not in the mood to eat out - the grocery store was close by. We had lots of good luck eating out, thanks to Linda's recommendations, we had a fantastic diving trip to the Blue Hole with Frenchies, and the boys enjoyed bone fishing with a guide also recommended by Linda. We loved hanging out on the dock - there was some fish, a sting ray and some barracuda to watch when snorkeling right off the dock or just viewing from the dock. The cabanas are convenient to town but far enough away from Front Street to be peaceful and quiet! Again, thanks Linda, Juan and all for making us feel so at home! We hope to return!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank AliceDem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We had the privilege of getting to spend 2 days at Colinda Cobanas.I wish it could have been longer! When we arrived, Juan sat down with us and gave us a thorough and helpful overview of Caye Caulker. He suggested some great places to eat, some different activities, and even where to grocery shop (i.e., the grocery store on Middle Street is cheaper than the grocery stores on Front Street). We thoroughly enjoyed our room. It was very nice inside and extremely clean. It was great to have a suite that had a living room, full kitchen, and separate bedroom with A/C. In the morning and evenings, it was so breath-taking yet tranquil to sit out on the porch and gaze at the ocean. The location is removed from the hustle and bustle of Front Street. Yet the supplied bikes make any destination just a short ride away.During our time there, Linda, Colin, and Juan all made us feel welcomed and were very friendly and helpful.My wife has already informed me that this will be the only place she will stay at when we return to Caye Caulker again!

Room Tip: Suite 2 (upstairs) has an incredible view and is very nice inside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Colinda Cabans was a great experience for us! They had great cabanas (with A/C!), bikes we took all over the island, and a beautiful dock to relax on. Colin and Linda were so welcoming! They had great recommendations for places to eat, visit, and relax. If you are going to stay on Caye Caulker, you have to stay here!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Our experience at Colinda Cabanas exceeded all of our expectations! Just outside the door of our cabana, was the Carribean Sea. Our cabana was clean, spacious and comfortable. The location was fantastic and the bikes were helpful to see other parts of the island. The wifi was consistent and stable. The kitchen was very well equipped with plates, cutlery, pots and pans etc.

We got our scuba diving license through Belize Diving School and they were very helpful and caring. The diving in Belize was incredible in terms of the marine life, temperature of the water, the dive masters, the equipment and standards.

Beyond that, Colin and Linda (especially Linda) went out of their way and helped me to orchestrate my wedding proposal to my fiancee by decorating the dock outside our cabana. The proposal was a huge success! Colin and Linda are just such great people who we enjoyed getting to know along the way, as well.

Thank you Colinda Cabanas, those were memories we'll cherish for the rest of our lives.

Room Tip: All of their cabanas are good rooms, given that the sea is right outside the place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank amit_to
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caye Caulker hotels
0.3 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
297 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barefoot Beach Belize
Barefoot Beach Belize
#5 of 19 in Caye Caulker
473 reviews
0.4 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#11 of 19 in Caye Caulker
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
262 reviews
0 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
101 reviews
0.4 mi away
Popeyes Beach Resort
Popeyes Beach Resort
#16 of 19 in Caye Caulker
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colinda Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colinda Cabanas

Address: | On a prime sandy beach facing the reef, Caye Caulker, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Price Range: £35 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colinda Cabanas is located on a prime safe and quiet beachfront property on the island of Caye Caulker in Belize. Facing the reef on the preferred East side, we are blessed with an almost constant Cool North-Easterly breeze. Most nights star-gazing is amazing while listening to the surf breaking on the reef. Naturalists and children alike will enjoy the abundant species of migratory birds, reptiles and marine life. We currently have twelve units available for nightly rentals. Each of our units are slightly different and offer various amenities depending on your needs and your budget. Prices range from $69.00 - $159.00 per night + tax for 2 persons. Single travelers receive $5.00 off per night. We also offer discounts for 5 or 7 night stays. Some of the Cabanas and all of the beach suites offer ocean views. All units have a fridge,coffee maker, coffee beans and 5 gallon purified water station. Some units have full kitchens and a/c. The bathrooms have a good supply of hot reverse osmosis purified water. Free WiFi in room. We also supply bicycles and kayaks. (Free of charge on a first come basis). A 175' long pier with chairs, palapa and hammocks and safe swimming area completes the picture ! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing