We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the FRESHEST LOBSTER & most BEAUTIFUL LOCALE”
Review of Sobre Las Olas

Sobre Las Olas
Ranked #60 of 93 Restaurants in Caye Caulker
Cuisines: Caribbean
Restaurant details
Zweibruecken, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“the FRESHEST LOBSTER & most BEAUTIFUL LOCALE”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We wanted to dine seaside, with the sand under our feet. The palapas are terrific, and the Caribbean Sea is right at your toes. We sat on the homemade swings, which have built-in wood tables right in front of you. It's a really fun way for a group to gather, without being stuck around a table (and some poor person's back to the view).

There's nothing better than dragging your toes through the sand, and sucking on succulent seafood, with the gentle waves lapping up, as the bright azure sea glimmers in the sun. The beauty of this Caye Caulker is heavenly.

Plan on spending longer here than you'd anticipate - service is slow. But then again...? The Belizean way is "Go Slow." You'll see signs everywhere with just that phrase, reminding tourists and visitors to slow down, and enjoy. With the extra time it takes to be waited on, you'll have ample opportunity to drool over every item on the menu. You won't go wrong with any of it!

We love the rice and beans, served with marinated pork. But our favorite is the lobster!! Get it any and every way they serve it. It's fresh and delicious. Don't skimp; their prices are comparable to any other restaurant on the Caye.

If you'd rather dine-in, it's an open-air restaurant. And if you're anything like us, you avoid smokers at all costs! People here are friendly and conscientious about that if you just let them know. But as stated before, try dining 'out back,' under the palapas, on the swings - there's a breeze and you'll love your surroundings. It's an experience you'll never forget.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lauramaymuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    32
    23
    19
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Great location with chilled vibe”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Lovely to sit inside watching local ladies lunching on the the outside tables under umbrellas by the sea. The lobster skewer was delectable.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank DrJanetHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belize
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pricy for average food”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We were looking for a waterside restaurant to get lobster.... The food was edible but absolutely nothing special.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cjbelize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Good breakfast and view, lousy coffee”
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

Don't be put off by the lousy self service coffee pot. The belizean breakfast with fry jacks (sopapillas) and veggie frittata were worth staying for. Very laid back service gives you plenty of time to enjoy the view.




  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank strangersblog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Location great, everything else...”
Reviewed 6 July 2013

was pretty bad! We visited on a week day and the place only had one other table of people. The rum drinks were quite weak and expensive. We had the nachos and a chicken dish. Both were pretty good, but nothing overly impressive. We had much better nachos at other places. The server never checked on us the whole night. I had to go up to the bar (where we was sitting watching TV!!), and ask him for a box and the check. He was quite friendly, but just an awful server! The saving grace was the location. the two of us enjoyed eating next to the pier and sitting on the swings while we waited for the food.

The restaurant had some potential, but the poor service will probably deter us from visiting again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AJ D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sobre Las Olas also viewed

Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 

Been to Sobre Las Olas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing