We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great House, Amazing Value”
Casa Roja outside in the garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Casa Roja outside in the garden
bedroom of 2bed/2bath apartment bathroom in 2bed/2bath apartment
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Casa Roja outside in the garden
bedroom of 2bed/2bath apartment
bathroom in 2bed/2bath apartment
backyard
front of house
living room with convertible futon
roof top palapa
roof top palapa
outside deck
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jason A
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great House, Amazing Value”
Reviewed 13 February 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The below reviews say it all. This place is beautiful, clean and slightly away from the noise and crowds of the main strip. The pictures don't lie. Great views of the ocean as well as lush trees and plants. Zeke was very accommodating and helpful even finding us on his bike when we got lost. For the price this is one of the best deals on this increasingly popular island.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: rooftop view and hammocks
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky M
Galveston, Texas, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Private, Well-appointed, Relaxing and Delightful Oasis !”
Reviewed 11 March 2013 for a stay in February 2013
5
people found this review helpful

Ditto on the last 2 reviews. This place is amazing - a little slice of paradise If you want seclusion and privacy- yet close to alll the quaint and delightful restaurants and activities- this is the place . We rented bicycles for the week and zipped around quickly and comfortably.
There are nearby grocery stores to purchase food for meals if you choose to eat in rather than going out. Sit on the rooftop palapa watching the sunset and grill your own dinner or sit on your private deck and listen to the birds in your tropical paradise. I can't wait to return. Thanks Zeke.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything !
Liked least: Having to leave !
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShellM8
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Relaxing, Clean, Perfect!”
Reviewed 5 March 2013 for a stay in January 2013
5
people found this review helpful

Our stay at Casa Roja couldn't have been better. The apartment is very clean, the beds are comfortable and the location is great. Zeke, the property owner, was always available to answer questions about the island and the property and gave us a lot of privacy. We walked into the main area of the island, takes about 10-15 minutes. You can rent bikes from places in town if you'd rather pedal. On the other side of the airstrip there is a fun walking path that takes you around the 'remote' side of the island. In this area there are plenty of places to lay on a dock, soak up some sun and take a swim. Make sure you take time to look at the landscape around the Casa Roja, amazing orchids and airplants, pet Meyhem the cat, and watch a sunset from the amazing rooftop deck. Great place, would definately stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and cleanliness
Liked least: It was all great, really
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Mar 2013
Thanks guys. We really enjoyed having you. Please come back and visit Caye Caulker, you were great guests. Zeke
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichiganZ...
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Verdant Retreat”
Reviewed 16 February 2013 for a stay in February 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Casa Roja is a lovely two story palapa-topped house surrounded by native foliage and orchids and located on the airport road, a healthful ten - fifteen minute walk from Caulker village and the beach front. Here, removed from village structures and traffic, the temperature is a good twenty degrees cooler and the view from the roof is delightful, especially at sunset. The owner-resident is a lovely gentleman, both helpful and unobtrusive. He is most knowledgeable of island culture and activities and willingly answers questions and provides information. The second story rental has two good size bedrooms with plenty of hanger and storage space for baggage and sundries. Both bedrooms include a separate private bathroom. The kitchen is large and stocked with all cooking and dinning needs. The living area is large and is enhanced by a large deck with clam chairs. We took our coffee here every morning, drinking in, as well, the fragrance of the greenery. The living area includes a fold down futon couch. The apartment easily accommodates as many as two couples, and could serve for a family of four to six persons. The layout of the apartment is such that there is a free flow of air from front to back, the back also featuring a large deck. During our stay my companion and I had no need of the air-conditioning, although there are units in both bedrooms. The Wifi signal is excellent. We both love this little Caye and will return when in Belize, and our first choice of accommodation will be Casa Roja!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Two things: the location and the owner
Liked least: There is no least, all Was Very Good!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Feb 2013
Thanks Buzz and Yvonne.We enjoyed having you and hope to see you again on Caye Caulker. Zeke
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aries331
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ideal for Travelers”
Reviewed 5 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012

My friends and I stayed here while on a totally whim trip to Belize and could not have been more pleasantly surprised. There were three plus me, including a couple. The bedrooms were nice and tidy with more than enough space for two. There is a futon in the main room that is more comfortable than one would think. The room air conditioners will cool the entire place but you have to remember to turn them and all the fans on well before you plan to sleep. The best part of this place is the owner who is like and encyclopedia of what to do. He is very honest and will steer you in the right direction. He is was around enough so that we could get the scoop everyday but certainly kept a low enough profile to where you could not know he was there. The VERY close second best thing is the 360 degree rooftop view from the hammocks that were supplied upon our arrival to the house. Whether for morning coffee or happy hour they were always the best seats in the house. Another plus was the kitchen which is had a good size fridge, a coffee maker, and a water dispenser (which was crucial as no one drinks the tap water). All in all I would say this is a place for the well traveled who can make it without maid and "front desk" type service.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Hammocks on the roof
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meredith6...
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
“Wonderful - wonderful - perfect”
Reviewed 18 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012

In August I traveled to Caye Caulker with my brother, sis in law and friend. We were nervous to choose a house as we had never been to Belize before. Man were we surprised.... we could not have had a better place to stay. Casa Roja is amazing - wonderful views, great location, clean and nice. We couldn't have been more pleased. Not to mention that Zeke - the owner of Casa Roja - was awesome. Zeke met us at the water taxi - took us straight to the house and was friendly and welcoming. Zeke was always available to answer any questions we had and give us lots of great advice. We plan on traveling back EVERY year until we retire in Caye Caulker!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location - private yet close to town. Views were amazing!!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vtxer
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Relaxing atmosphere”
Reviewed 5 May 2012 for a stay in April 2012

Spent the 2nd of two weeks in Belize on Caye Caulker. There were four in our group so we decided to rent a house. Came across Casa Roja and was very happy with our choice. The house was good size with 2 bedrooms each with their own private bathroom. the kitchen was good size and fully stocked for your cooking needs, if needed. We ended eating out most of the time. Prices on meals there are very affordable. Ask Zeke about the little kitchen. He recommended this little gem where we ate most our meals. The house was very clean and had some of the best views on island. This is where we watched most of the sunsets from. The house sits just outside of the main village (walking distance) and is surrounded by several palm trees and other vegatation where it gives you that jungle feeling and privacy. There are also a couple of hammocks on top for your afternoon siestas. Zeke was very friendly and was able to answer all our questions. Very pleased with our stay at Casa Roja and would stay again .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: atmosphere
Liked least: didn't see microwave as listed, but didn't ask either.
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 May 2012
Thanks guys, enjoyed having you.Please come again. Zeke Casa Roja
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$135
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing