We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure Belize!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vega Inn and Gardens
Ranked #29 of 32 Caye Caulker B&B and Inns
Missoula, Montana
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Pure Belize!”
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We, along with our daughter and son-in-law, spent nine days in Caye Caulker in late February/early March, in one of the Vega Inn's apartments, about a block from the main Vega Inn. This upstairs two-bedroom apartment is in a building located on its own, locked small garden property, filled with beautiful trees and plants, birds, iguanas. It's very simple and basic, but had all we needed for our stay. Levita, our housekeeper, who came every day to sweep floors, empty garbage, etc., was an absolute delight, and had much good information to share with us, including where to buy hot, just-off-the-griddle flour tortillas, which we enjoyed several days.
If you're looking for luxury, you won't find it here. You will find, instead, a reasonably priced relatively comfortable place to stay. But, if you're just trying to re-create your U.S. vacation, then what are you doing in Belize?

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MTnative46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    7
    3
    1
    7
See reviews for
3
3
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
DeWinton, AB
1 review
Reviewed 8 February 2012

The woman that runs this establishment is one MEAN person. Needs to take a course in customer relations. HOLY - Was yelling at me because I gave some food to a starving dog that was on her lot. She could've handled this situation very differently, politely, instead I was very afraid of her. Would never stay at her run down inn either - too dreary & she's too Nasty! Seaside Cabana's next door was excellent!

Room Tip: Anywhere else
See more room tips
Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank j c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Caye Caulker hotels

1 review
Reviewed 13 January 2012

There arel two types of rooms in the vega inn. Beach rooms and ones across the street. In both locations the gardens are unkept making it feel dirty and attract gnats and other bugs- both around the area and in the room. The room across the street is loud and noisy. The entrance way is dark and is suggested you lock yourself in. I stayed when there were no other attendants. It was scary. The beach rooms do not have a beach view as the view is blocked with rubbish and trash. For the amount I paid I found I could get nice rooms with beach view in a cleaner location. When asking for a refund for the next night they refused. I would not recommend this place.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mearwee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panajachel, Guatemala
Level 6 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Maria Vega has a variety of rentals, some in her own house and other freestanding houses nearby. I stayed in a room upstairs in her main building, right by the beach. Her father built the house in the 1950s and is true Old Island Style. I was very comfortable and Maria was a great host. She introduced me to a wide variety of island characters and even insisted I attend her father’s 86th birthday party.

The house is in a coconut grove on the beach near the docks. There is only a small sign in the bushes out front by the wooden gate. Her property is quiet and the rooms are clean and well furnished with mostly 1950s-style furniture. There are numerous hammocks and Maria makes you feel at home. It is not luxury - no AC or flat screen TV. The fan was enough for me and I rarely watched the TV.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Groucho123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 20 June 2011

We booked a mini apatment with fan, cable tv and 2 beds. Nice homly feeling. This Island is chaning very fst with the new fancy hotels, guest hot etc but for me I just wanted to relax and Vaga Inn Did the Job!

Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank cavetubingrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2011

Caye Caulker is beautiful and a great place full of fun and interesting people. I stayed in Vega Inn for a few days and was happy with my choice. If you're looking for luxury, go for the hotels that are easily twice the price of Vega Inn. However, if you just want a private room to stay in that has the essentials, Vega Inn is a deal that is hard to beat. I had the upper suite in the two-story building that would probably be best described as a small apartment. It had two bedrooms (one full size, one with two doubles), a bathroom with shower toilet and sink, and a kitchen/dining area that had a gas stove, sink, cabinet space, a mini fridge, and a small table.

While not air conditioned, the rooms have fans and if you open the windows to get the breeze, it will be cool enough to be comfortable. Keep in mind though that it is hot in Belize so unless you have air conditioning, even shade will be warm. You're near the Equator and that's what you should come to expect.

The beach in front of the office (just across the street from the apartment building) has a good area to relax in. It has palm trees and hammocks in the shade while you cool down from the (sometimes overpowering) sun in a nice breeze. The sandy area isn't large but that is typical for Belize. However, I found that Vega Inn's location was a very nice balance where it was far enough away from the bars and more touristy area near "The Split" (north part of the Caye, where a hurricane split the island) so you can have more room to yourself, but don't feel too isolated. While sitting under a palm tree in the sand or swaying in a hammock, you could usually enjoy the music of Havana Nights (a Cuban restaurant). It wasn't too loud either.

The staff was very friendly too. They even cut down a coconut and served me fresh coconut water and also baked me a couple homemade cookies. The screens on the doors and windows kept all the bugs out surprisingly well and the staff was very helpful in cleaning up at times convenient for me.

If you're looking for a flat screen TV and air conditioning, you're looking at the wrong place (and honestly, I think you're missing out on the Caye Caulker experience). If you're really on a shoe string budget, there are hostels available that are cheaper. However, if you want to stay at a reasonable budget, Vega Inn is a competitive choice.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank virginiangentleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2011

Travelled here for a beautiful wedding in Dec 2010, supported by everyone on the island......except the owner of Vega Inn, who went out of her way to sabotage it, for no apparent (or legal) reason. Neighboring establishments (continually affected by her bizarre, intrusive behavior) have filed numerous, official complaints against her with the Tourism Board as she has regularly been an embarrassment to the beautiful people of Caye Caulker. The owner of this establishment has repeatedly proven herself to be a spiteful and vengeful woman with questionable mental health. Support the people of Caye Caulker.....stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SconnieGal76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caye Caulker hotels
0.0 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
266 reviews
0.0 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#10 of 19 in Caye Caulker
256 reviews
0.0 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
91 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kokomo Beach Suites
Kokomo Beach Suites
#24 of 32 in Caye Caulker
53 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Isla Resort
La Isla Resort
#21 of 31 in Caye Caulker
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vega Inn and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vega Inn and Gardens

Property: Vega Inn and Gardens
Address: Box 701, Caye Caulker, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Vega Inn and Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing