We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More expensive than the guidebooks say”
Review of Rainbow Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rainbow Hotel
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Apparently, this place has went through a big renovation since most of the guidebooks have been updated because all of them say it's about $50 USD a night for a room. Um, no. It's like almost triple that. But honestly, we went to Caye Caulker on a last minute whim and had no reservations, so we weren't in a position to shop around for a cheaper place.
The hotel room was nice and clean and modern looking (something like you'd expect to find in the U.S.), but the BIG problem was that there was a huge glaring light right above our window outside, which totally illuminated our room (even though we had pulled both of our curtains shut), and we couldn't turn it off! I think they do this for security reasons, but my God, it was really hard to sleep in a room that's so bright.
With that said, the hotel is right across from the beach and since we couldn't sleep, we were up before the sunrise and got to see a pretty amazing one come up right outside our room.
The guy working the desk was very nice and allowed us to change out of our wet bathing suits (after a snorkeling excursion) in their bathroom even though we had already checked out.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2012

I would definitely recommend this hotel while staying in Caye Caulker, Belize! It has soft beds(which are hard to find in most of Belize) and all the amenities of U.S. hotels. It's also in a great location, close to the beach, centrally located, and close to the water taxi to Belize City.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maryhadalamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2011

rented the cabin out back through caye caulker rentals. the place was terrible, sitting across from a construction site. they made us pay all 7 nights up front before even showing us the place. tired and exhausted from the trip, we unfortunately did so and after one night asked for a refund for part of the reservation. they refused to give us back any money. we would have been willing to accept the three night cancellation fee, but they refused. now we are disputing the charge through our credit card company.

do yourself a favor and stay elsewhere. we ended up at the lazy iguana hiotel which seems to be the best hotel on the island. at only $30 more a night, the difference was huge. for $30 more a night, u get free wireless, breakfast every day, a pool, free kayak rentals, quiet and peace of mind.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2011

Probably our favorite place in central america.

The hotel is on the main road (although there are only a few roads on caye caulker). the room was really nice. Clean, relatively big, nice size bathroom with good pressure and hot shower. There was also cable TV for those who like it. Sitting at the terrace was really nice as well. It was breeze and relaxing.

The only issue is that reception closes early (around 7pm) so make sure you let them know if you are arriving late.

We had to leave one day earlier and they refunded us for the last night which was nice as we didn't give them any notice.

Overall opinion - very good and would definitely recommend.

The bad was so comfy as well

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Srubka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2011

The hotel is located on the main street (front street) and in the center. It is equal distance to the other end of the island and to the Split. There is no wifi, but there is fan or aircon and tv. There are metal bars on the windows, which adds extra security to the rooms. Rooms are clean and roomy. Tv has lots of channels.

Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
Thank Agent226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2011

we spent 3 nights here as we were on a GAP tour - so not our choice of hotel. the beds were very hard, the bathrooms were dirty and the shower was a mere dribble.

there was also no free internet...something that most of the hotels hotels offered

apart from being painted in rainbow colours the hotel is a bit of an eye sore.

the island is beauitful and there were much better accomodation on the island elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misslcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2010

No Internet, centrally located, clean. Second floor rooms have great view.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caye Caulker hotels
0.2 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#11 of 19 in Caye Caulker
262 reviews
0 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
262 reviews
0.3 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Popeyes Beach Resort
Popeyes Beach Resort
#16 of 19 in Caye Caulker
186 reviews
0.6 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
101 reviews
0.6 mi away
Barefoot Beach Belize
Barefoot Beach Belize
#5 of 19 in Caye Caulker
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Hotel

Address: Front Street, Caye Caulker, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Price Range: £78 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rainbow Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Rainbow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbow Hotel Caye Caulker

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing