We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice newly renovated rooms”
Review of Rainbow Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rainbow Hotel
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Certificate of Excellence
BC
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Very nice newly renovated rooms”
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We pulled up in the water taxi without a room. Nothing online was available that we saw.
The golf cart taxi driver took us here first stop.
From the outside, it looks like a basic well kept beachfront motel, but inside the newly
renovated room was 2 fantastic beds, a 40" LCD tv, nice compact kitchen and a great bathroom. There was a new electronic safe in the closet, new quiet ac on wall and everything in the place looked just built. It is located right across from the new sand beach the gov't is building, and across from their shorefront restaurant right in centre of the town essentially.

Overall, for Caye Caulker, it was a very nice room, and worth the very little extra it cost. It had no extra amenities, but for Caye Caulker, the area is so small quaint and communal that there is no need beyond just a very nice room.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TantheManBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    55
    11
    5
    3
See reviews for
20
57
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lunenburg, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Don't read the pre-renovation reviews, this place is very newly renovated (it even smells brand new). This hotel is definitely in the pricier range on the island, but it's also probably the only one that offers all the US-style amenities like pillow-top bed, flat-screen tv (although who watches TV while on vacation), and fancy soaps and shampoos. The service was excellent at the front desk. The location is great, being right in the middle of the main street with all shops and restaurants, and literally looks out onto the ocean and beach. Very close to the water taxi docks (5mins walk. 2min taxi.). Very clean and comfortable.

My only comments are based on comparison with other hotels on Caye Caulker in the same price range:
- It lacks character. It could use some hammocks on the deck, a common area to relax, some thatched roof areas or awnings, or maybe a private dock area (see Seaside Cabanas or SeaDreams for example).
- The lights right outside the room windows were a bit annoying at night. Instead of curtains, maybe some wooden-slat shutters. This would also allow guests to open the windows at night to let the nice breeze in while maintaining privacy (and also cut down on your AC bills).
- Screens on the windows so bugs don't get in when windows are open. I got many bug bites at night from the no-see-ems.

I booked this last-minute, so don't think I would stay here again if others in the same price range were available.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fortunehotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Apparently, this place has went through a big renovation since most of the guidebooks have been updated because all of them say it's about $50 USD a night for a room. Um, no. It's like almost triple that. But honestly, we went to Caye Caulker on a last minute whim and had no reservations, so we weren't in a position to shop around for a cheaper place.
The hotel room was nice and clean and modern looking (something like you'd expect to find in the U.S.), but the BIG problem was that there was a huge glaring light right above our window outside, which totally illuminated our room (even though we had pulled both of our curtains shut), and we couldn't turn it off! I think they do this for security reasons, but my God, it was really hard to sleep in a room that's so bright.
With that said, the hotel is right across from the beach and since we couldn't sleep, we were up before the sunrise and got to see a pretty amazing one come up right outside our room.
The guy working the desk was very nice and allowed us to change out of our wet bathing suits (after a snorkeling excursion) in their bathroom even though we had already checked out.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

I would definitely recommend this hotel while staying in Caye Caulker, Belize! It has soft beds(which are hard to find in most of Belize) and all the amenities of U.S. hotels. It's also in a great location, close to the beach, centrally located, and close to the water taxi to Belize City.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maryhadalamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2011

rented the cabin out back through caye caulker rentals. the place was terrible, sitting across from a construction site. they made us pay all 7 nights up front before even showing us the place. tired and exhausted from the trip, we unfortunately did so and after one night asked for a refund for part of the reservation. they refused to give us back any money. we would have been willing to accept the three night cancellation fee, but they refused. now we are disputing the charge through our credit card company.

do yourself a favor and stay elsewhere. we ended up at the lazy iguana hiotel which seems to be the best hotel on the island. at only $30 more a night, the difference was huge. for $30 more a night, u get free wireless, breakfast every day, a pool, free kayak rentals, quiet and peace of mind.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2011

Probably our favorite place in central america.

The hotel is on the main road (although there are only a few roads on caye caulker). the room was really nice. Clean, relatively big, nice size bathroom with good pressure and hot shower. There was also cable TV for those who like it. Sitting at the terrace was really nice as well. It was breeze and relaxing.

The only issue is that reception closes early (around 7pm) so make sure you let them know if you are arriving late.

We had to leave one day earlier and they refunded us for the last night which was nice as we didn't give them any notice.

Overall opinion - very good and would definitely recommend.

The bad was so comfy as well

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Srubka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2011

The hotel is located on the main street (front street) and in the center. It is equal distance to the other end of the island and to the Split. There is no wifi, but there is fan or aircon and tv. There are metal bars on the windows, which adds extra security to the rooms. Rooms are clean and roomy. Tv has lots of channels.

Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Agent226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caye Caulker
0.3 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
272 reviews
0.0 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
256 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#11 of 19 in Caye Caulker
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
92 reviews
11.8 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#21 of 53 in San Pedro
800 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Isla Resort
La Isla Resort
#7 of 31 in Caye Caulker
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Hotel

Property: Rainbow Hotel
Address: Front Street, Caye Caulker, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Rainbow Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Rainbow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbow Hotel Caye Caulker

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing