We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best sunset......”
Review of Iguana Reef Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Iguana Reef Inn
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2014

One of the best weeks ever. The rooms are clean spacious and is really does have the best sunset on the island. Thanks to Liz for making us feel at home from the minute we got there even finding band aids and peroxide for a little golf cart mishap on the way in. She was so helpful and happy and makes great coffee. If you're there on a weekend you have to try Otis's cooking. Dinner and dessert were fabulous and presented beautifully. I probably would of eaten there every night if available. Being on the west side it's quiet and away from the bustle of the main st. but still easy walking to everything. Relaxing cozy and beautiful, we will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (547)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

270 - 276 of 547 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2014

We have been to Caye Caulker 5 times and have stayed at the Iguana Reef Inn on four of these visits. The only reason we did not stay every time at the Iguana Reef was because it was booked solid during one of our visits and we reluctantly had to book another hotel. Our latest stay at the Iguana Reef was for 10 nights during Feb. 2014. We love staying at the Iguana Reef because of the clean rooms and facilities, the great pool, the great sunsets off of the back deck, and most of all the welcoming and friendly staff. Alex, Elizabeth, and Otis are the best hosts anyone could ask for.

Otis cooks on the beach on his days off from the Iguana Reef. You really need to try his jerk chicken and pork chop lunch plates while you are there. You will not be disappointed! We always hate to leave Caye Caulker and look forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmarekjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

This maybe a more expensive choice on the island, but for far less than $200 you get a $500 hotel room and top of the line service. The pool is peaceful and the sunsets unbeatable. Our room was huge with a proper couch and sitting area, bathtub, hot shower and great ocean breeze. The owner, Eric, showed me sea horses and tarpin off the dock and made great recommendations for activities and generally made us feel welcome and at home. We only stayed for two nights but by the first afternoon the bartender had already memorized my name and my boyfriend's. They pay great attention to detail and the hotel is fresh and clean feeling throughout. This isn't a rickety spot with lizards in your shower but a truly cozy, warm and luxurious place to stay at a ridiculously low price for what you get. If you want the relaxed island experience with a truly beautiful place to relax at the end of the day, stay here. If you're thinking about Mexico or Puerto Rico, consider this instead!! Great price, top notch accommodation AND you can drink the water ;)

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We cannot wait to go back. We had room 14 which is right in the middle. It was very nice! And quiet..... the staff is outstanding!!We spent Valentine's day here for dinner. The food was great and the service made us feel like we were old friends. We biked all over the Quay looking at all the other Hotels & this one is still our first choice!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janasize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Situated on the west side so less breeze and quieter as most hotels are on front street. Hotel staff have worked there a long time and are excellent especially Otis and Elizabeth. Has a great deck out of hotel and the sunsets from here are perfect, pool is good size and hotel is only a short walk to everything caye caulker has to offer, rooms are spacious very clean and comfortable, one down side though is noise from top floor as their appears to be no carpets in the penthouse suite, so can be noisy from foot traffic if occupied by inconsiderate guests. New hotel owner/manager is really trying to make it the best and has good plans for future. Had a fantastic week there and would/will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Get a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

While Iguana Reef might be considered a 3-star resort, I would rate it as top notch for Caye Caulker. My husband and I stayed there for 5 nights and our stay exceeded our expectations. First and foremost, the staff there was extremely friendly and very helpful. All of the staff that we met was eager to say hello and ask how were enjoying our stay or ask what we might need. They were well staffed and always available. For a slow-paced island, Iguana Reef wasn't slacking in terms of service in any way. Our room wasn't luxurious, but it was very nice for the price and we had plenty of space for ourselves and our belongings. My only complaint about the room is that the bed wasn't the most comfortable and the closet lacked hangers (but I'm sure they would've provided had I asked for them. Not a big deal in the grand scheme). The fridge was well-stocked every day and they didn't overcharge for bottles of water or items available in the room. Each day housekeeping did a great job and we were presented with a different & creative towel animal creation awaiting us. Our toiletries were well stocked without asking. The only other minor complaint I have about the room was the loudness of the AC unit, but again, I wouldn't consider this a big issue--easily solved with earplugs or a couple drinks to knock oneself out--at least the AC existed. The pool was set to a perfect temperature and was well maintained. And while we hadn't expected it, they also provided pool-side service for bringing drinks or snacks while laying out by the pool or nearby beach area. We were provided with an evening of drinks on the house (2ea.) and some appetizers for one night of our stay. A continental breakfast was provided each morning over reasonable hours from 7am-10am, including fruit, cereal, yogurt, and coffee. The resort is also located in one of the best spots for viewing the sunset on the island. Iguana Inn had a nice dock with lounge chairs for either laying out in the sun or watching the beautiful sunsets. I highly recommend taking advantage of the sunset views from this property. We also were able to borrow a kayak for a partial day trip off the dock to paddle around the island. My husband and I consider ourselves well-traveled and we have paid a fair amount to stay at much less favorable places. For the price, I have to say that Iguana Reef offers all the amenities that one might need; meanwhile remaining friendly but not annoying for the traveling patrons. We also got the impression that a few folks staying there also lived at the resort and the patronage amongst the staff to these long-term residences also showed their commitment to great service. I would definitely stay there again in a heart beat upon returning to Caye Caulker. The biggest key to their success has to be the overwhelming friendliness and consideration of the folks running this place--thank you Eric, Alec, Alex, Ottis, and Elizabeth!! You guys were awesome!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SpaceKace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

There is a lot to love about this place. First, it has probably one of the best views of sunsets on the entire island. Part of our group stayed in the penthouse, and part staid in a standard room. Both were very clean and comfortable. The penthouse was great! It has a full kitchen, but it could use more pots and pans and stuff in case someone actually would like to cook. Also, it definitely has space for 6 people to stay there but the hotel won't allow more than 4 to stay in the room. This was very unfortunate since we were a group of six :( The staff is awesome. They try their best to leaner everyone's name, so it feels a lot more personal than other places. My only complaint was that the outside dining area was under construction while we stayed there. As a result, the pool area was pretty dirty and it was very noisy during the day. However, it was finished before we left, and it was really nice after that. I would definitely recommend that others stay here. You won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: Higher floors in the building with the penthouse provide wonderful views of the sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NRHill11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caye Caulker
0.3 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
295 reviews
0.3 mi away
Popeyes Beach Resort
Popeyes Beach Resort
#15 of 19 in Caye Caulker
185 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#11 of 19 in Caye Caulker
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
100 reviews
0.1 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
262 reviews
10.2 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iguana Reef Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iguana Reef Inn

Address: PO Box 31, Caye Caulker, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Price Range: £98 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Iguana Reef Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iguana Reef Inn is located on the water's edge, in a secluded location in the heart of a charming village. The Inn offers decidedly upscale accommodations and the enchantment of the "Old Caribbean" island lifestyle. Relax on the verandah of one of the Inn's richly textured rooms or poolside and settle into the unhurried pace of the island. The Inn's ideal location is just minutes away from the restaurants and night spots on Caye Caulker. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Iguana Reef Hotel Caye Caulker

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing