We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most "resort like" Hotel on Caulker”
Review of Iguana Reef Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Iguana Reef Inn
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Certificate of Excellence
Chardon Ohio
Level Contributor
176 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“Most "resort like" Hotel on Caulker”
Reviewed 8 March 2007

Hotel: Nicest Hotel on Caulker. Is being tiled everywhere...it is going to be even more beutiful when it is finished. We saw progress on the pool...but likely not the reason you would visit Caulker anyway.

AC worked great. Honor bar in room with water, pop, and beer...fairly reasonable prices.

Continental breakfast was good with fresh baked goods and fruit along with jams and juices...and coffee.

It is on other side of Island from most hotels, but that is a good thing...can watch sunsets right from the back beach (more like a sand deck)...but you can walk to main strip in 3 min.

Hotel is gated and for guests only...which is great for safety, but I felt very safe most places on the island.

Staff seemed OK, bartender is great. Owner Jim seems to lurk around the place a little more than I was comfortable with, but was nice when we engaged him.

We used the scuba shop next door and they were good...no problems. If you are birdwatchers...make sure you get to the other side of the split and walk down the path. We found out too late but that is where most of the birds are.

Renting a golf cart for the day so you can explore the whole island...there is a lot to see outside the strip.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank Bobo185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    432
    63
    14
    2
    1
See reviews for
90
242
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2007

My family and I stayed at the Iguana Reef Inn and it was awesome. The atmosphere is comfortable and laid back. The food was good and plentiful. The staff was friendly and helped us make arrangements for golf cart rentals, snorkeling tours, and kayak rentals. The refrigerator was stocked everyday and the prices were very reasonable. It was a little noisy on the second floor but there is also a 10 pm quiet time rule that was observed. There was no TV. Some people might like to get totally away from it all but it bothered me a little. It did rain a couple days while we were there and I wanted a current magazine or newspaper to read when I couldn't go outside. All in all we did enjoy our stay. The place was beautiful and perfect for us. We will definitely stay at the Iguana Reef Inn again and it is hands down the best place to stay in Caye Caulker.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — no outside communication
  • Tips/Secrets — bring something to read
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank EllieandEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2006

My wife and I stayed here this past February and we just made reservations to stay with Jim again next February. The rooms are so nice and the air condition is so, so cool. The word is that they will be putting in a pool sometime this Fall..!! If you choose to stay here you will not be sorry..

  • Liked — the rooms
  • Disliked — lack of pool
  • Stayed February 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjw2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barataria, Louisiana
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2006

My wife, and three of our friends stayed at Iguana Reef Inn last week, and I must admit Jim, and Mario have the best place on the Caye. Both Jim and Mario go out of their way to take care of their guest. Adrian the bartender is also fantastic. The weather was not the best, but on the rainy days Adrian kept our spirits up by pouring great drinks. On one day last week their was a small problem with our business back home, so our manager emailed the Inn, and the email was delivered to our door within minutes of being sent. Now that is service!!!
On this past Saturday when we left the Caye by water taxi Adrian was there with his two beautiful little daughters to see us off at the pier.
The rooms all were very spacious, clean, and the atmosphere was great. I highly recommend the Iguana Reef Inn.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
Thank Brent-and-Paula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellsworth ME
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2006

We just returned from 9 glorious days in Caye Caulker at Iguana Reef Inn. What a bargain! We had an oceanfront deluxe suite that was beautiful with original art on the walls and a lovely private veranda overlooking the water. Breakfasts (included in room rate) of fresh fruit and freshly baked cinammon rolls couldn't be beat. Adrian is the world's best bartender who whipped up special drinks for us every day. After walking around the island it was easy to see that this is by far the nicest place to stay.
We snorkeled the barrier reef with Juni and would highly recommend him. Our favorite restaurant was Don Corleones, followed by Rasta Pasta. If you're looking for a really laid back and relaxing vacation this is the place for you.
Linda & Art, Ellsworth ME

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happymaineaic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2006

We've been to Caye Caulker at least 5 or 6 times, and always stay here. Room 12 is the best one, on the second floor by the ocean. The island does seem to be getting more Americanized each time we go (more rap music, for starters), and the locals aren't too thrilled with the cruise ships coming in. However, it is much quieter than Ambergris, and still has the same options for diving, snorkeling, or going inland. This is the only place on the island I'd stay. We even got married on the beach here, so Jim and Mario (the owners) can arrange anything!

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jenna0043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunn, NC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2005

My family and I went to Caye Caulker and Belize over the 4th of July week and loved it. We decided to take the water taxi over and fly back..to sample both means of transportation. Having done so, we would choose to fly both ways. Once we arrived at the airport in Belize City, the Inn arranged for a taxi to take us the the marine terminal for the water taxi, which took about 45 minutes. Due to the holiday weekend ( Lobster Fest) the boat was packed and was unbearably hot. On arrival, the Inn arranged for someone to meet us at the dock, help us with our bags and get us to the Inn. Everyone at the Inn was very friendly and helpful. We were thrilled it had air conditioning! ! as most of the island's Inns, restaurants and stores do not have any air conditioning.
The drinks and breakfast at the Inn were great. The rooms were very nice. The only drawback I can see is the lack of a beach. They have a man made beach there overlooking beautiful water, but unswimmable. There is only 1 beach on the island that we could find, very small and always packed with people. The kids did rent ocean kayaks for a few hours and had fun,and went snorkeling on the reef, which was fabulous.

Al-in-all we had a great time and look forward to returning one day soon.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank SaraTDunn_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caye Caulker
0.3 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
262 reviews
0.1 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
254 reviews
0.6 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Popeyes Beach Resort
Popeyes Beach Resort
#14 of 19 in Caye Caulker
168 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#12 of 19 in Caye Caulker
253 reviews
13.0 mi away
The Phoenix Resort
The Phoenix Resort
#1 of 54 in San Pedro
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iguana Reef Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iguana Reef Inn

Property: Iguana Reef Inn
Address: PO Box 31, Caye Caulker, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iguana Reef Inn is located on the water's edge, in a secluded location in the heart of a charming village. The Inn offers decidedly upscale accommodations and the enchantment of the "Old Caribbean" island lifestyle. Relax on the verandah of one of the Inn's richly textured rooms or poolside and settle into the unhurried pace of the island. The Inn's ideal location is just minutes away from the restaurants and night spots on Caye Caulker. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Iguana Reef Hotel Caye Caulker

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing