We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice,comfortable and quiet”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Yuma's House Belize
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice,comfortable and quiet”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

This hostel is located steps from the water, Its very clean and comfortable(the best beds we found on our travels to the area). It has two full kitchens and refrigerators for your use.The owner does set some strict rules(if you attended catholic school you will see the similarities) . No loud noise after 11 that's fine, Go party elsewhere and come to sleep in peace.Also only registered guests can be on the property. So if you meet some new friends on the caye, They can not come on the property. You have to leave the gates to even talk to them. That's just odd! The showers are clean and roomy, just no hot water.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stormcrowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    97
    17
    3
    6
See reviews for
6
130
115
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

This hostel is pretty good if you set your expectations correctly before going. The wifi wasn't very ok in the room but was good downstairs and oddly at a bar a couple hundred feet away. The showers didn't have hot water. The beds weren't super comfortable but were adequate although the room did get a bit hot. Location in town is great and is very near all the activities. Hammocks downstairs are great for relaxing. There are a few other places in town that would be the same price for groups of three or more but Yuma's House is better for meeting other travelers. Quick tip, if you're planning on buying alcohol, buy it on the mainland and bring it with you and it will be much cheaper.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mwwalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Oh, Yuma's. Yuma's is the longest time I spent in any hostel, two and a half weeks. Right off the beach, it is well run, bright, smartly appointed, and clean. The rules and management can seem strict at first, but it is all to protect the experience of responsible guests and management actually cares a lot. In fact, excellent management, facilities, and guests are what make Yuma's special in my book. Most definitely get reservations well in advance as Yuma's fills up often!

The kitchens are clean and well equipped--a huge plus for me--for when you crave something other than bbq or fry jack. The common areas are a great place to hang out, scattered with chairs, hammocks, and swinging benches. The six-bunk dorms are comfy, cooled by fans and ocean breezes. Private rooms are also available. Quiet hours are enforced by a night watchman, as diver guests are often getting up extremely early the next morning headed for the Blue Hole.

It is a chill place where you and your new crew of friends (over the course of two plus weeks, I rotated through three full crews) can easily slip into the Caye Caulker mantra of "go slow". The slow life is oh so good. I took my Open Water course here and got good at day drinking at the Split. There's a sweet rhythm to Yuma's and Caye Caulker that is enchanting. After not too long, it felt like home.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErinH876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

Don't be fooled by any other hostel on the island! This is the place to stay. Susanna runs a tight ship with strict rules of no outside guests and quiet hours at 11 pm, which ensures safety for all guests. There are two fully equipped kitchens and only four beds to each dorm which is very comfortable. The location is beyond perfect: right on the water and steps away from the water taxi terminal. Hang out in one of the many hammocks on site and enjoy the outdoor picnic tables where guests are encouraged to hang out and spend time together, or walk five minutes to the split. The staff are friendly and extremely helpful and the night guard does a great job of ensuring no one comes in who isn't a guest.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jocelyne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caye Caulker, Belize
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

I would recommend this hostel to anyone staying on Caye Caulker.
I had a private room which the owner offered to have cleaned regularly, great service from a hostel!
The upstairs bathroom was spacious and clean.
Great location, just around the corner from some of the best places to eat on the island.
Cleaners did a good job keeping things clean.
Security at night and security lights made the place feel very safe.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Experience21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
151 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Yuma's a great choice: not just because they rooms are spotless, that people really make an effort here to keep things in tip-top shape, because the private rooms are lovely, that it's painted bright colours, that it's airy, with wonderful hammocks, both in the garden and on the pier, or because it's extremely good value and next to the water taxi pier (best location). It's a great choice because it's so easy to meet people here, and you are likely to meet wonderful people. A real find. Make sure you book, because it books out well ahead of time. The owner is rather strict: about keeping visitors out of the hotel, about deposits on towels and locks, about rules---but I'm not about to complain when she gets such good results.

Room Tip: Excellent value private rooms along the veranda.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GiuseppeNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

I thought that the staff here were diligent about cleanliness and everything looked brand new here. Awesome paint job throughout the whole place. Susanne is very nice and very helpful. Susanne, you run your place better then anyone that I have ever seen! I got excellent sleep in my room. The kitchen is the best as well, plenty of cookware and equipment. Water taxi is 30 meters away. Susanne, you made me feel very welcome and I really appreciated that as I was traveling alone. When I return I will make you another breakfast sandwich!!! Bye for only now. Thank you!,
Paul

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caye Caulker hotels
0.1 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
262 reviews
0.2 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
254 reviews
0.1 mi away
Popeyes Beach Resort
Popeyes Beach Resort
#14 of 19 in Caye Caulker
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#10 of 19 in Caye Caulker
253 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
89 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rainbow Hotel
Rainbow Hotel
#9 of 19 in Caye Caulker
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yuma's House Belize? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yuma's House Belize

Property: Yuma's House Belize
Address: Playa Asuncion, Caye Caulker, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yuma’s House Belize is a lovely inexpensive beachfront Backpacker's Hostel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Yuma`s House Belize Hotel Caye Caulker

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing