We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barefoot Beach Belize

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Barefoot Beach Belize
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Certificate of Excellence
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

I was in Barefoot for 11 days and it was like staying with family. Susan, Ashley and John were super. They were freindly without being intrusive and very knowlegeable about the island. Cottage was very clean and nicely appointed. Even the futon in the living room was comfy. Barefoot is in a quiet location but near enough to be an easy walk to anywhere I wanted to go.

Room Tip: Oceana Cottage is the best cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    98
    35
    27
    10
See reviews for
44
218
39
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Townsend, Washington
Level Contributor
354 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013

We have been around the Caribbean at all types of hotels. From luxury to marginal. This small hotel makes you feel pampered but is very simple. We just now got home from Caye Caulker after 12 nights at the Barefoot Beach. It was comfy, very friendly, and it was quite hard to leave. A small, clean, quiet place, with nice people. The location is great, easily walkable to amazing restaurants. All types of attractions can be accessed from the many local dive, snorkel and tour shops. It's a friendly low-key relaxed hotel in a freindly low-key relaxed town. We LOVED it.

Room Tip: Each room is different. Ours had a nice view porch, which we loved.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carencro, Louisiana
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

We loved loved Barefoot Beach Belize! WE fell in love with the hammocks, the room was precious with a very nice large tiled shower with plenty of hot water. The a/c was great and kept us plenty cool at night. We got on our complimentary bikes and strolled all around the island. John, Ashley and baby Shade and Susan were Wonderful and have become everyday pen pals. We would love to move there that is how much we enjoyed our trip. The water was excellent the hammocks so relaxing that we didnt feel the need to do much more than just lay around and enjoy the view. We are returning July 24th and can't wait to return to "island life" and see our new found friends. The locals are very nice and the bottled water and beer Belikin was Fabulous!!!!! Peace and quiet is what we went for and that is what we got! Room was cute, clean and the wonderful colors of the building were great. We can't say enough about Barefoot other than we fell in love with the locals, the "go slow" island vibe and our inn keepers Susan, Ashley, Shade and John. If you like fishing John can get you a boat and a guide with fresh cold pinapple served in between casts into the crystal clear blue water. Just go and enjoy your stay John will be happy to grab yall a couple of coconuts and open them up and you can eat and drink the fresh coconut there is Nothing like it so refreshing. Caye Caulker is a wonderful island and we will return many times, can't express how much we loved everything!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1BelizeFanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013

Our family really enjoyed our stay at Barefoot Beach. It is a short walk from town, which means that it is quiet and peaceful. The service was great, as were the rooms, which were very clean and inviting. The perfect place to enjoy the island.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ctegler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibadan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013 via mobile

Leave the world as you know it behind and start by booking your stay at these perfect apartments a short walk down the beach from restaurants and bars. Hang out on the private pier, scuba dive the blue hole, snorkel protected reefs, and eat all the grill snapper you can eat. And of course enjoy the Belikin beer. Caye Caulker and the Barefoot Beach are highly recommended!

Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank btegler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sicklerville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

We really enjoyed our stay in Caye Caulker at the Barefoot Beach Resort. Susan and her daughter Ashley were very friendly throughout our stay. We stayed in the cabana room by the dogs pen and it was great! Colorful, inviting, and the decor was nice. The bed was a little hard but better than the place we came from in San Pedro. The wi-fi didn't work too well in this room, but out on the front porch it worked fine, as well as on the beach chairs on the dock. They have the BEST hammocks out on the dock. Susan was nice enough to tell us where she got them so we can buy one for our home. You get one bike per room at no charge, and you can rent another for $6 a day which was nice. We were told our sheets and towels are changed on the third day and they weren't changed at all. (They did say if we want them changed sooner leave the towels on the floor or the sign on the bed). A quick walk into town. If your looking for a fancy 5 star hotel this is not the place for you. If you want somewhere low-key, laid back, peaceful and relaxing than i recommend staying here.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teacup0618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2013

My wife and I stayed her for one night in Jan. I booked online and had the option of a direct sea view room for $129 plus tax or a room with no ocean view from the room for $69. As it was our last night in Belize I took the 'direct view' room. As you can see by the posted picture - my view was down a driveway between two houses. Not what I had paid an extra $60 for.

The owner was efficient, but not friendly at check in. She was very quick with the email responses, unlike almost everyone else in Belize. She showed us the room. It was a nice room, but pricey. The bed was nice but the pillows were stiff. The shower head looked like it should have been replaced 5 years ago. It was blue. Look at the picture and decide for yourself. I know I am next to the ocean, but maybe spend $10 and get a new one. The hotel had free internet. If I wanted to stand next to the office that is. It didn't reach to our room.

One other thing about this property that you should know. The owners live on property. This is fairly common in our experiences. BUT our room was right next to the dog play area. Nothing like sitting in you underwear with the sliding glass door curtain open and these people 15 feet away. Will skip this place next time.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kevandstac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caye Caulker hotels
0.3 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.3 mi away
Popeyes Beach Resort
Popeyes Beach Resort
#14 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.6 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.4 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#12 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rainbow Hotel
Rainbow Hotel
#9 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barefoot Beach Belize? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barefoot Beach Belize

Property: Barefoot Beach Belize
Address: Oceanfront Street, Caye Caulker, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barefoot Beach is the Caribbean vacation spot that dreams are made of. We feature rooms, suites, cabanas, studios, huts and cottages just steps from the water's edge with a spectacular view of the reef 3/4 mile away. Our accommodations are modern, clean, and quiet with all the comforts of home. Our sunning deck, hammocks, and dock tiki are ideal to get you into the "island mode". For casual relaxation off the beaten path, but only 4 minutes walk to town, treat yourself to our beach front hide-a-way.Take off your shoes along with your worries! Let us help make your island dreams come true. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Barefoot Beach Belize Seaview Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing