We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barefoot is the best place to stay on Caye Caulker”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Barefoot Beach Belize
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Certificate of Excellence
Bellingham, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Barefoot is the best place to stay on Caye Caulker”
Reviewed 1 May 2008

My boyfriend and I found this place through Trip Advisor reviews and we LOVED it! It is, by far, the best place to stay on Caye Caulker. It was very peaceful and quiet and only a short walk from town.
We spent a lot of time on the dock and hammocks as it was the perfect place to relax.

A friend of mine met up with us on Caye Caulker and we did the Ragamuffin sail/snorkeling to the Hol Chan Marine Reserve. Highly recommended! We snorkeled among nurse sharks, manta rays, moral eels and many other beautiful sea life. The crew was a lot of fun and we had a great time on the sail back, drinking rum punch and eating fresh conch ceviche.

  • Liked — The location, the dock, and the hammocks
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAMIE77BellinghamWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    104
    38
    30
    10
See reviews for
47
230
42
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Tahoe (California), California
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2008

My wife and I spent 5 nights here in a side room - the price was fair, the room was clean, but the location was the best! The ocean was right out our door and the dock with hammocks steps away was perfect to just hang out on. One note was the crazy shower with wires hanging out of it, we got shocked more than once on that thing, it needs to be fixed! But I certainly would go back here...

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank benjaminf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffersonville, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2008

My husband and I just returned from a wonderful week on Caye Caulker staying at Barefoot Beach. There is no better place to stay on the island!!!! This hotel is far enough away from "town" that it's super quiet at night but close enough you could walk there in 5-10 minutes or bike there in 1-2. There are bikes to rent for the day or week at the hotel. We stayed in the Beach View room for $69 a night, a complete bargain! The room was beautiful and with a fridge and AC for warm nights it had everything we could need. We loved sitting in the chairs on our patio, right outside our door, where there was a constant ocean breeze. One of the best features of this hotel that you won't find with other hotels is the AWESOME dock. I spent many hours sunbathing and my husband spent many hours in the hammocks under the palapa. It was fantastic!!! Kim (the owner) was fantastic as well. We wanted for nothing. Anything he could do to make our stay perfect he did. He also gave us great reccomendations on where to eat, shop, and who to dive with. We dove one day with Belize Diving Service and did an all day sail/snorkel with Ragamuffin Tours. Both were great. The rooms were cleaned everyday by Norma, who also makes yummy pizza if you feel like pizza one night. There is also a book trade available for those who love to read. I could go on forever about how awesome Kim and Barefoot Beach are! If anyone has any questions about the hotel or Caye Caulker feel free to contact us.

  • Liked — Everything!!!!
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luv2travel9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 April 2008

My wife and I spent 7 days on Caye Caulker, staying the entire time at the Barefoot Beach Hotel in one of the separate cabanas.
The rooms are very well kept with the kitchen having all the necessities. The rooms are air conditioned but the ocean breezes and lots of windows kept us very comfortable.
They have a nice dock with three decks to sit and watch the pelicans. Bikes are available for rent on site. The hotel is away from the "busy" part of the island, but a 15 minute walk gets you everywhere.
We had a great time. The owners are extremely helpful with recommendations for tour operators and equipment rentals that never went wrong.
We booked everything last minute and never regretted a moment. We will be back to Caye Caulker, but only if the Barefoot has vacancy!

  • Liked — great location
  • Disliked — the hotel (nor anywhere on caye caulker) does not have great beach
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ckw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2008

We could not have been happier! I felt like Goldilocks looking for just the right accomodations during peak season. I found the variations in pricing perplexing. This one was very inexpensive but why? Why was this other one so much more expensive? How could such a tiny island have such a big swing in accomodations? I booked one night with Barefoot with the possibilities of extending our stay there. Susan was amazing from the moment I got there. I knew immediately my gut reaction was correct. We did explore a couple other possibilities but there was no way I was leaving as long as they had room. The price for the room was very reasonable....the additional cost for the upgraded cabana was understandable & worth every penny once you saw it in person. And still a great value even for Belize. I would go back in a heartbeat! For a picky American who doesn't want to be in America (or surrounded by Americans) on vacation this was the perfect blend. Comfortable and exotic. The cabanas were obviously built with care and even have some quaint decorating touches not found elsewhere on the island.

You can tell they value their home and property. They make their guests feel just as welcome as family. Being able to watch the sunrise in the hammock on the dock was fabulous. We knew we wanted to be "away" from "town" but weren't sure if we would be too "close" to the airport. The bikes we could rent had us in town in moments and were probably the most fun I've had in a while...what a pleasure. And the airport was close enough for convenience but not an issue noise wise in any way shape or form. I only hope we can get back there and they're not fully booked!!!

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank austrailianext-year
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
msp,usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2008

First of all -- Caye Caulker is WONDERFUL. Super mellow and just a really relaxing place to stay. Add to that Barefoot Beach Belize, and you're talking amazing!

Our hosts, Susan and Kim were MOST accomodating and it was a lovely quiet place to come home to. We had the conveniences of home (satellite TV, fridge & coffeemaker) with the delights of a private dock and palapa with hammocks.

We WILL come back and stay, that is for sure! After one day, you slip into IslandTime, and that's a good thing. We enjoyed ourselves immensely and you will too!

  • Liked — Cleanliness, Susan & Kim, location
  • Disliked — can't drink the water (but that's Belize in general)
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank pastryprncss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yukon,Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2008

We are a couple from the Yukon who just wanted a nice, relaxing, "quiet" place to rest for 10 days and escape the cold! After a lot of research, we decided to stay with Kim & Susan at Barefoot Beach. I was so thrilled when we arrived just to see how well kept it was. We had a beachfront room with a cozy little nook outside where we could have our coffee in the morning and enjoy the beautiful ocean view (make sure to go to the small local bakery for yummy cinnamon buns). The rooms were always kept clean, in fact, it was a rule that we had to have our sheets and towels changed (like it or not) atleast every 3 days. (keeping in mind that you're on a small island where fresh water is a "rarity") I liked that. The bed was FANTASTIC! If anything, we'll come back just to sleep in it again!
As far as location goes, it was "perfect". I found that it was by far the best place to be where you are close enough to get to all the action without having to be right there in the middle of it. Barefoot Beach is so relaxing and quite.
All in all, it was the perfect place to stay. Great service, nice clean comfortable rooms and at a great price. We were made to feel right at home and treated very well.

Thanks Kim & Susan!!!

Tara & Laurent

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank LA737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caye Caulker
0.3 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
272 reviews
0.6 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
256 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#10 of 19 in Caye Caulker
258 reviews
12.4 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#21 of 53 in San Pedro
800 reviews
12.2 mi away
Royal Palm Island Resort
Royal Palm Island Resort
#2 of 2 in St. George's Caye
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barefoot Beach Belize? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barefoot Beach Belize

Property: Barefoot Beach Belize
Address: Oceanfront Street, Caye Caulker, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barefoot Beach is the Caribbean vacation spot that dreams are made of. We feature rooms, suites, cabanas, studios, huts and cottages just steps from the water's edge with a spectacular view of the reef 3/4 mile away. Our accommodations are modern, clean, and quiet with all the comforts of home. Our sunning deck, hammocks, and dock tiki are ideal to get you into the "island mode". For casual relaxation off the beaten path, but only 4 minutes walk to town, treat yourself to our beach front hide-a-way.Take off your shoes along with your worries! Let us help make your island dreams come true. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Barefoot Beach Belize Seaview Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing