We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was a great place, and very accommodating.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Barefoot Beach Belize
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Was a great place, and very accommodating.”
Reviewed 20 April 2013

We were only able to stay for one night, as we booked last minute, and the place was full. Susan helped us find another place to stay for the rest of the week we were on the island. She negotiated a deal for us, and said she found a place she would have her family stay in if she couldn't fit them all.
Barefoot was very nice and clean, the recommendations Susan had for us were all right on. I'd be happy to stay with them again! This time I'll book a little earlier:)
Thanks for your great help Susan!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank matt78walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    104
    38
    30
    10
See reviews for
47
231
42
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, CA
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Right on the beach, own private dock to hang out (both in the sun or shade), everything you need is right there. Susan, Ashley & John were great hosts. Very welcoming and gave us great advice on businesses and restaurants in the area. Real down to earth people.
Stayed in the room near the office - comfortable, has TV, refrigerator, coffee maker, a few utensils, 2 beds(queen & twin), shower was really good - (I read a lot of reviews where they said it wasn't, that is not true.)
Beautiful, relaxing place to stay. Chairs out in the front of each room to relax. Also the dock was awesome! I would totally stay here again. The hotel is in a nice quiet area of Caye Caulker, still close to everything but not near all the bars. So it is quiet and peaceful. I miss it already!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alisonisky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We just got back from an amazing trip to Caye Caulker. We stayed at Barefoot Beach. Susan and Ashley were so nice to us, always checking to make sure that we had all that we needed, called for tours, recommended restaurants. The place was right on the water, beautiful views and very clean.
Thank you so much! We so enjoyed our stay!

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank looking4vaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Very small rooms, pretty old furniture, HEAVILYy overpriced, in a quiet area about 15 walking minutes away from the center. The beach for Caye Caulker is not that bad, but don't stay on the island if want to go swimming or enjoy the beach - there are much better places than on Caye Caulker.
You will find other rooms for a better deal on Caye Caulker, so can't really recommend to stay there!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stefan933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We had a great time at Barefoot Belize.

The first thing we noticed were the hammocks outside. As soon as we checked in, we ran over to them and didn't want to leave.

We stayed in a 3-person cabana, which had a king size bed as well as a futon. The room was extremely spacious and even had a huge kitchen and private porch.

The mother/daughter team were very hospitable and had great recommendations for us for activities and transportation safety. The other staff members were also very friendly and helpful.

We will definitely return to Barefoot Belize on our next trip to Caye Caulker.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pinkv9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

I walked almost the entire island - including the mangroves - and I saw all of the rental options on Caye Caulker. There are two resort-type hotels which we had also looked at prior to booking Barefoot Beach. They were expensive and one was west facing (not good winds) and the other was ocean side. Both were in the high traffic areas where there tend to be lots of people and carousing. Both faced the water, but neither were directly on the water; you had to walk across the main road. Barefoot Beach is in a quiet area away from the crowds but within easy walking distance of stores, Belize Dive shop, grocers, and restaurants. We prefer a unit with a kitchen so we can make some of our own meals. Because we wanted a specific unit for awhile, we actually stayed in two units. The staff took all of our things to the new unit. Both units had couch/chair/TV area, dining area, kitchen, bathroom and separate bedroom. They had nice porches where we could see the ocean, watch the birds, and read a book in peace. After seeing all of the options first hand, I can say that Barefoot Beach is the best accommodation in Caye Caulker. the place next door seems newer and maybe a bit more swank, but there is a wall separating access to the ocean and no porches. We were there when 1BelizeFanatic was there so what she said is accurate.

Room Tip: All units face the ocean. Oceana has best view with a porch. Parrots nest is on a second floor and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LBGtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

I was in Barefoot for 11 days and it was like staying with family. Susan, Ashley and John were super. They were freindly without being intrusive and very knowlegeable about the island. Cottage was very clean and nicely appointed. Even the futon in the living room was comfy. Barefoot is in a quiet location but near enough to be an easy walk to anywhere I wanted to go.

Room Tip: Oceana Cottage is the best cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caye Caulker
0.3 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
272 reviews
0.6 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
256 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#11 of 19 in Caye Caulker
258 reviews
12.4 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#20 of 53 in San Pedro
801 reviews
12.2 mi away
Royal Palm Island Resort
Royal Palm Island Resort
#2 of 2 in St. George's Caye
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barefoot Beach Belize? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barefoot Beach Belize

Property: Barefoot Beach Belize
Address: Oceanfront Street, Caye Caulker, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barefoot Beach is the Caribbean vacation spot that dreams are made of. We feature rooms, suites, cabanas, studios, huts and cottages just steps from the water's edge with a spectacular view of the reef 3/4 mile away. Our accommodations are modern, clean, and quiet with all the comforts of home. Our sunning deck, hammocks, and dock tiki are ideal to get you into the "island mode". For casual relaxation off the beaten path, but only 4 minutes walk to town, treat yourself to our beach front hide-a-way.Take off your shoes along with your worries! Let us help make your island dreams come true. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Barefoot Beach Belize Seaview Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing