We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Barefoot Beach Belize
Nearby Hotels
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel(Caye Caulker)(Great Value!)
US$76
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$229
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
De Real Macaw(Caye Caulker)(Great Value!)
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Anchorage Beach Resort(Caye Caulker)(Great Value!)
US$85
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Popeyes Beach Resort(Caye Caulker)
US$58
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Anchorage Resort Hotel Belize City(Caye Caulker)(Great Value!)
US$98
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Beachfront
Caye Caulker Condos(Caye Caulker)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (492)
Filter reviews
492 results
Traveller rating
300
112
38
31
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
300
112
38
31
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstiki hutthe ownerlock boxview roomocean front suitebusy partminute walklounge chairsdrinking waterprivate pierlaid backfree bikesmain partbeach frontliving roomsand fliescable tv
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
423 - 428 of 492 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2007

First trip to Belize, and I happened upon this little gem online. Can't say enough good things about this place, ambience is great, hosts who'll do anything to make your stay more enjoyable. Particularly loved the dock for sunning, cleanliness, proximity to town, yet quiet at night. I truly feel this is the best mid-priced hotel on the island.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank gpelchat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2007

My husband and I just spent a wonderful 2 weeks on Caye Caulker staying at the Barefoot Beach south of the water taxi dock. This was our first trip to Belize and if this is an example of the entire country, we are in love. Our hotel hosts Kim and Susan made us feel welcome immediately and throughout our stay made sure we were having a good time and enjoying our experience. I've traveled a great deal with business and I have never experienced this kind of hospitality. I certainly have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone interested a great experience. We have already booked for this time next year.

Our overall experience on Caye Caulker was wonderful. The people are very warm and friendly and the island offers a quiet laid back experience for those of us who need to relax. At the same time all of the adventure tours are easily accessable from Caye Caulker. You can be as active or as laid back as you choose. Best of all we didn't have to share the beach with a thousand other people.

See you there next year.

3  Thank Rocky_Mountain_Kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2007

My wife and I spent a couple nights there last week and absolutely loved our stay.

Susan is a wonderful host and makes you feel very welcome and gives great advice on places to eat, snorkel companies to use and so forth. She even busted off a piece of aloe when my wife showed her a nasty sun burn.

It is a little out of the way from all the restaurants and snorkel shops, but that's a huge advantage in our eyes. There aren't many people walking by so you can enjoy your view of the waves breaking over the reef in the distance in solitude. Walking to the main part of town only takes five minutes.

We loved the hammocks out at the end of the private dock and could have stayed in those all the time if we hadn't already made plans to actually be active during our stay.

Our room had a private deck right on the water and as much as we loved it, we would probably plan the dates of our next trip around the availability of their "Oceanfront Suite".

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pairadux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2007

We had a blast while staying on Caye Caulker, and definitely loved staying at the Barefoot Beach. It had everything we needed and more


I don't even know where to start...everything about our visit to Caye Caulker was so perfect!
The Barefoot Beach hotel made our stay that much more awesome. It was great to look at, down the beach, right on the water, and close to everything (although everything over there is close to everything else!), and our room had everything we needed.

My biggest concern about going to Belize was the water. (I drink ALOT of it, and was worried I would spend a fortune on it.) Susan hooked us up with a giant 5 gallon container for the price of $2.50 American. Honestly, all of our worries were taken care of with the ring of a bell. There was even HBO! (the comforts of cable go quite far when dealing with a torrential downpour!). You can also rent bikes from them.

This hotel was perfect for us, and various times when we were on our way back to our room at the end of the day we reflected on what a good choice we had made by booking with you them.

As a side note, we actually got engaged in the hammocks at the end of the 'guests only' pier.

Their hospitality was amazing, they tended to all of our needs, and it made our stay that much more amazing.
If you need a laid back and comfortable place to go with all the 'American' amenities, definetly stay here!

Stayed: February 2007
2  Thank chenor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2007

Barefoot Beach is a small hotel run by an American couple. There are some problems--kitchen poorly equipped, bath towels severely worn--but overall the place is OK. No internet and everything --like renting a bike for a few hours-- costs extra. Not as friendly as we thought it would be from the reviews we read before booking this place. Do not expect thorough room cleaning--a sign posted at the kitchen read "You will be charged for unwashed dishes." Yet there were no sponges or other items to assist in washing them!

The name of the place is misleading, as there is not a beach at this site, and the swimming in front of Barefoot Beach is not good: too much sea grass growing everywhere.

Positives: the pier is great, with hammocks and deck chairs. And this place is quiet, away from the noise of the town, yet everything is in easy walking distance.

Stayed: January 2007
2  Thank momandboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mermaidhunter, Owner/host at Barefoot Beach Belize, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2007

You stayed with us? The kitchens we have are stocked with all the basics and specialty items can be borrowed from us (we live on site). We also supply dish soap, clothes, towels, and scrub sponges in each kitchen. Our bath towels are imported in bright colors from the US and are in great condition and air dried from the island breeze. Finally, our beach is one of the best strips on Caye Caulker. It is a beautiful natural reef front beach. Judging by our other reviews, I question whether this person really experienced Barefoot Beach or us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews