We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Affordable, Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tropical Paradise Hotel
Ranked #29 of 32 Caye Caulker B&B and Inns
Little Rock, Arkansas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean, Affordable, Friendly”
Reviewed 20 March 2013

I work for a nonprofit volunteer service organization and have stayed at Tropical Paradise with groups twice in the last three months. It's a great place for groups on a budget. I like it because I can put leaders in nicer "cabana" rooms with a view/AC/fridge/cable/internet and volunteers in more budget-friendly "economy" rooms with just fans and internet. My colleagues also use Paradise, Too hotel, which has the same owner.

I love that the hotel is just a little out of the way and that it has its own private dock, which is great for swimming. The rooms near the water are better, but can be louder from the passsersby and other guests. The rooms in the back are much more basic, but quiet. Of the rooms I've been in, none are well lit, but that doesn't matter when the point is to be outdoors. All the staff is friendly and easy to work with, and the owner (whom I've emailed with several times but have never actually met) seems super laid back. I can't be sure, but it seems like ownership/management may have changed hands after some of these older reviews were written. Rooms and grounds are clean and I've seen plenty of staff around painting/washing/raking/etc. I'll definitely continue bringing groups here, as will my colleagues.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    84
    61
    31
    33
See reviews for
38
100
24
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We arrived in Caye Caulker without hotel reservations. After declining the first two properties we were driven to by our taxi driver, we were relieved to find the Tropical Paradise Hotel and Restaurant. The room was adequate although the mattress was well worn; the food was good and reasonably priced; the buckets of beer were a charming alternative to the closest grocery store. Don't miss the ten-minute walk to the Split to enjoy the spectacular sunset and interesting folks who will share it with you. No visit to Caye Caulker is complete without attending the jam session at the Sports Bar on Friday afternoon/evening.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larsen57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tropical P, Owner at Tropical Paradise Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Thanks for choosing Tropical Paradise, and thanks for your review. The buckets of beer will be cold and waiting for you when you visit us again, smiles.

The Staff


PS: If you have the time please send us your Room Number or your name so we can quickly remedy that mattress problem you had. We recently put 24 new mattresses throughout the resort but that one may have missed us, apologies. Email us: tropicalp@btl.net
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saugerties, NY
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We were able to find a room here without a reservation. The location was right at the end of a "main street" with the adjoining restaurant. The rooms are clean, the was even a guard lizard oiutside my door. Since the reason we were on Caye Caulker was for water fun not plush rooms, the Paradise filled the bill nicely. If you book a tour with them they will give you a discount on the room and you get 10% off your food in the restaurant. The beach chairs are a good place for sipping a cold one or just watching the shore birds. The desk people are quite helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank skibob_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tropical P, Owner at Tropical Paradise Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Thanks for visiting our resort, we hope you visit again soon. Our head of security "MANGO" the LIZARD will be here to guard your room when you come back, smiles.

The Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

We have stayed at the Tropical Paradise for the last 12 years out of 13. Our room is very clean and comfortable and the price very reasonable. Their beach is the best on Caye Caulker and we love it. The staff is very nice and helpful. The bright yellow cabanas are simple and charming and catches everyone's eye that passes by. The Tropical Paradise Restaurant is right there and has very good food. We think it is the one of the three top restaurant on the island. The rum punches are great too!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IloveCayeCaulkerBeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tropical P, Owner at Tropical Paradise Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
We always enjoy having you stay with us and we are happy that we meet your expectations and you enjoy your visits to our resort and our island. Next visit we have a Rum Punch waiting for you. See you soon.

The Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guatemala City, Guatemala, Guatemala
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

We had a great time at Tropical Paradise. We highly recommend this hotel. The staff and service is one of the best was really great spending some nights there, the grounds were well kept. We will return for sure.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Monica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tropical P, Owner at Tropical Paradise Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
We look forward to your next visit. Thanks for staying with us.

The Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 March 2013

I have stayed at the Tropical Paradise Hotel a dozen times! I am an International Wildlife Photographer and travel throughout Central America. When I am in Belize, the Tropical Paridise is my favorite place to stay.

If your looking for the Ritz, then this is the wrong place for you. But if you are looking for a good solid place to stay, for a fair amount of money, then this should be your choice.

My room had air conditioning, a ceiling fan, and view of the ocean. The food was good, and the staff was great!

Caye Caulker is a beautiful island full of nice people. It has it's own airstrip, and police department. Overall, it is a safe place.

The staff at the hotel can help you with any excursions.

Room Tip: Speak with the staff about your room needs. They have some VERY basic rooms, and some very very nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tropical P, Owner at Tropical Paradise Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
All of us here at Tropical Paradise are happy that you enjoyed our resort and Caye Caulker. Let us know when you are ready to visit again and we will have one of our rooms ready for you.

The Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Good rooms, cleaned often and great location. Good to have a terrace to sit on when the weather's not that great and rooms are pretty reasonably priced for the area. Met lots of people staying here and had some good food at the restaurant. Nice to be next to the bars!

Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank greenfeet4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tropical P, Owner at Tropical Paradise Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
We're so happy that you enjoyed your time at Tropical Paradise. Our goal is to offer our guests a comfortable and fun resort. Our bar always has drinks for you, so come on back soon.

The Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caye Caulker hotels
0.4 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
256 reviews
0.1 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
272 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#11 of 19 in Caye Caulker
258 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Isla Resort
La Isla Resort
#7 of 31 in Caye Caulker
21 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kokomo Beach Suites
Kokomo Beach Suites
#24 of 32 in Caye Caulker
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Paradise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Paradise Hotel

Property: Tropical Paradise Hotel
Address: #1 Luciano St., Caye Caulker, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropical Paradise Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach Location offering Deluxe Cabanas, Suites, and Regular Rooms. Our Restaurant offers first class seafood and local cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tropical Paradise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Paradise Hotel And Restaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing