We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tropical Paradise Hotel
Ranked #24 of 32 Caye Caulker B&B and Inns
Tulum, Mexico
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice Beach”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Nice location at the end of the main street in Caye Caulker. Tropical Paradise also has its own beach with chairs and side tables for you to use while soaking up the sun. We snorkeled right off of their dock and saw lionfish, lobster, and starfish! A few complaints I have about the hotel are the beds and the "comfort level". The mattresses were extremely uncomfortable. I felt like I was sleeping on springs. No TV in the room but we did have our own bathroom. Also don't plan on using very many electrical outlets. There were two in the room and two in the bathroom. Giving us a total of four plugs. We did not know how long we were staying in Caye Caulker and kept paying in the morning for the following night. The staff was pretty rude about getting the payment which I think can only be contributed to management being on their cases. We were offered clean towels a few times and they were happy to oblige. Overall I think there are places on the island where you can get a bigger bang for your buck.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    83
    61
    30
    28
See reviews for
36
98
24
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We were referred by friends who had been to Caye Caulker before to stay at the Tropical Paradise Hotel. They warned us it was rustic but we were anticipating that and thought all would be ok. Rustic is being generous. The beds were horribly uncomfortable and lack of towels was interesting. One room had a tv (quite small) and ours didn't. Most concerning was that they had us confused with another reservation and kept mentioning tours we were booked on through them (which we hadn't booked). They never really seemed to get that straight. We were supposed to have 2 cabins beside each other but because the other people didn't come back in time they couldn't move them out (why they needed to do that anyways I don't understand) and thus we stuck with what we were given the first night. Felt they weren't really organized and didn't often know what was going on.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovetravel662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Caye Caulker hotels

Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Our first trip to Caye Caulker was one year ago. My wife saw this place while we were there and said we would be staying there next time we went. Upon arrival we were checked in to our room and it wasn't even on site. We were escorted down a side street.(major disappointment) When we opened the door our room had not been cleaned. We went back to the office and they didn't even apologize for the state of the room. We allowed them time to clean and went back in and it was still sub-standard even for Caye Caulker. Parts of the fridge were lying on the floor, the toilet wouldn't flush, the A/C made so much noise we couldn't sleep, the windows don't open to allow a breeze and out the back door the ground was covered in dog fecises. We went back to get moved to another room and they said they had none. We were told that if we spent the one night we could check out and get a refund for the remaining nights we had booked. The next day when we checked out we were told that we would have to come back to speak to the manager. After speaking to the manager we were told that he would have to go to the bank to get a form to issue us a refund. After two days of checking with him he told us that he would not be giving us a refund and we would have to communicate with the owner via e-mail. After contact
with the owner, he said he would review the security video. We left the island and weren't able to contact him until we were back home. After arriving home and sending him a message there was no response. Not only did we loose our room charges but were also charged for the water taxi, which we were not aware of and paid for ourselves. This place is a total rip off. We ended up staying at another hotel which was awesome and they made our stay wonderful. Tropical Paradise won't be visited by us ever again.

Room Tip: The Cabanas are very quaint
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delta, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Do ask to see the rooms and try the beds. Some rooms are more up to date than others. The air conditioning is nice. Staff is great and the owner is awesome saved me two rooms through email communication.
Ramon is there to please and accommodate his guests. The restaurant is good too!

Room Tip: Some rooms in the back are noisier than the front ones. The front rooms facing the ocean are nice bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Fantastic location, great onsite restaurant. perfect little beach space with lounge chairs and a dock you can relax on. fabulous stay in a clean, safe room (very basic, but very nice for Caye Caulker standards). The people on staff were very nice and helpful. great stay!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Carosatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Tropical Paradise quickly turned into Tropical non-paradise. We booked for a week. The location is at the end of the main street and it is very quiet and a little dodgy. We arrived into Caye Caulker in late afternoon. We really just wanted to relax that evening so we had an early night in. This was our first night at the hotel and at 5am, a guy broke into our room (room 21) whilst we were sleeping and stole our money. I woke up and so did my husband. My husband chased after him but we was too quick. Fortunately, the guy had also stolen a bag from another hotel that night but because my husband chased after him, he left the bag and the occupant got her bag back. The owner was initially very helpful, however that quickly changed and he accused us of letting locals into our room and for leaving our room unlocked. After reading other reviews (which I did not do before booking this hotel) this is not the first time this hotel has experienced robberies. And this room appears to be a target. We left the hotel and asked for a refund and the manager said that the owner was in Mexico and was not contactable (even thought the owner was his Dad) and to email the owner and work it out. I emailed the owner, who advised me to contact the reservations system I booked the hotel through. This was confusing as I had booked it through the hotel website, however after investigation, the hotel outsources its booking to a company called International Vacations. I rang them and they were actually fantastic. Very understanding and processed the refund immediately after I spoke about the situation. We filed a police report however we could not obtain a copy of it, which was frustrating. We asked the manager to look at the security footage, however we were advised this was not possible. I cannot stress enough that you really are taking a risk when choosing to stay at Tropical Paradise. I absolutely loved my time in Caye Caulker once we found a great hotel, that was the same price, but offered huge rooms with cable tv, 24 hour security and a great location. There are so many more options that are safer and nicer, however the problem is a lot of them do not have websites. If you are not travelling in high season, just take the boat over and have a look around first before booking. I recommend Dirty McNastys, Yumas and Barefoot Caribe. Tropical Paradise Too is owned by the same person as Tropical Paradise, and at the time of booking they used the images of this hotel for the Tropical Paradise Hotel, which is misleading. Caye Caulker is absolutely beautiful. I loved every day and recommend it, especially taking a scuba or snorkel tour and the locals overall are very caring and friendly. But just beware of this hotel and other small theft, so please do not leave anything valuable on the beach, or even under your hammock while you are relaxing in the hammock. A guy had his passport, cash etc stolen under his hammock whilst he was in it listening to his music on his headphones.

Here are other reviews of the hotel:

http://www.tripadvisor.com.au/ShowUserReviews-g291963-d308868-r26122606-Tropical_Paradise_Hotel-Caye_Caulker_Belize_Cayes.html#CHECK_RATES_CONT

http://www.tripadvisor.com.au/ShowUserReviews-g291963-d308868-r14647219-Tropical_Paradise_Hotel-Caye_Caulker_Belize_Cayes.html#CHECK_RATES_CONT

http://www.tripadvisor.com.au/ShowUserReviews-g291963-d308868-r186760946-Tropical_Paradise_Hotel-Caye_Caulker_Belize_Cayes.html#CHECK_RATES_CONT

http://www.tripadvisor.com.au/ShowUserReviews-g291963-d308868-r180822113-Tropical_Paradise_Hotel-Caye_Caulker_Belize_Cayes.html#CHECK_RATES_CONT

http://www.tripadvisor.com.au/ShowUserReviews-g291963-d308868-r179400714-Tropical_Paradise_Hotel-Caye_Caulker_Belize_Cayes.html#CHECK_RATES_CONT

http://www.tripadvisor.com.au/ShowUserReviews-g291963-d308868-r127744550-Tropical_Paradise_Hotel-Caye_Caulker_Belize_Cayes.html#CHECK_RATES_CONT

http://www.tripadvisor.com.au/ShowUserReviews-g291963-d308868-r125132394-Tropical_Paradise_Hotel-Caye_Caulker_Belize_Cayes.html#CHECK_RATES_CONT

http://www.tripadvisor.com.au/ShowUserReviews-g291963-d308868-r115129645-Tropical_Paradise_Hotel-Caye_Caulker_Belize_Cayes.html#CHECK_RATES_CONT

Room Tip: do not stay in room 21
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ilovetravel098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton Island, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

First night staying in the hotel which we had booked two rooms at, we were staying in #21 and #7 we had bed bugs crawling all through #21! We only used the other room for the rest of the trip but the real issue came when we told management. Over 3 days we were given the run around and only till we sat in the office and demanded the manager were we offered a refund to the other room. It is also a poor site when we learned within 2 days they had already put someone in the room who got covered in bites as well. Extremely poor management and lack of care factor. I would suggest one of the many other options in caye caulker.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Bailes12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caye Caulker hotels
0.4 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
254 reviews
0.1 mi away
Popeyes Beach Resort
Popeyes Beach Resort
#14 of 19 in Caye Caulker
168 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#10 of 19 in Caye Caulker
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
89 reviews
0.1 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
262 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Isla Resort
La Isla Resort
#28 of 30 in Caye Caulker
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Paradise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Paradise Hotel

Property: Tropical Paradise Hotel
Address: #1 Luciano St., Caye Caulker, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropical Paradise Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach Location offering Deluxe Cabanas, Suites, and Regular Rooms. Our Restaurant offers first class seafood and local cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tropical Paradise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Paradise Hotel And Restaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing