We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like sun, sea and sand a stone throw from your cabana at a reasonable rate, you will love Tropical Paradise.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tropical Paradise Hotel
Ranked #29 of 32 Caye Caulker B&B and Inns
Waterford, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“If you like sun, sea and sand a stone throw from your cabana at a reasonable rate, you will love Tropical Paradise.”
Reviewed 14 October 2009

The Tropical Paradise Hotel and Restaurant is a gem on the bracelet of hotels and restaurants that adorn the quaint island of Caye Caulker, 45 minutes water taxi ride from Belize City. If you like sun, sand and sea, you are perfectly situated here. You can choose from a variety of rooms and cabanas all reasonably priced. We've stayed in several over the course of 10 years and prefer the ones closest to the beach. The owners are prominent members of the island and take great pride in its upkeep and appearance. Staff members are friendly and efficient. Many of them have been with the hotel for years which tells its own story. We enjoy the restaurant, too. Again, friendly and loyal staff and good Belizean/International food. Though it is little there is lots to do on Caye Caulker and in our opinion no better place to do it than at the Tropical Paradise.

Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank beebeebab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    84
    61
    31
    33
See reviews for
38
100
24
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2009

I love this place. I have stayed here 5 times. I have stayed in the delux A/C cabanas, as well as the basic cabanas. This hotel is great for families, singles, couples, anyone. Right on the beach, a little away from the center of the island, quiet, and a good restaurant. Will keep coming back.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robertjude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
1 review
Reviewed 14 April 2009

Started staying there over 20 years ago while working at Belize Hospital.
Great place to stay, allways pleasent. You could not have better friends than the Reyes
familly. Always felt secure while staying at Tropical paradise and never had a bad
moment. I have sent friends there many times and have heard no complaints.
My wife, sister & daughter in law go alone with no problem. Staff have always been pleasent to deal with. Most of the family have been to my home in Alvin Tx for vacation &
shopping and I would always welcome their return.
I plan to return to the Island for many more years.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matcoraces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgetown ohio
1 review
Reviewed 25 March 2009

We have stayed at Tropical Paradise 8 out of 9 years in Belize. We have always felt safe and protected there. We have complete faith in the staff which most of them have worked at TP since we have staying there. I wonder who is writing these reviews! We have already booked for next yr.

Sondra & Sonny
Cincinnati, OH

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sondrageorgetownohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2009

My husband and I stayed in room #14, ac and fridge worked perfectly, room was very clean. The staff treated us great, they treated us like family.
My father just left there today, we recommended Tropical Paradise and he took the recommendation. He has no complaints at all.
We did not invited anyone into our room, we met many people on the Island, and joined many of them for meals at the patio.

The people at Tropical are very honest and good people, we have invited them to join us in Canada, and hope they will come visit.

Thank you Tropical Paradise for making our 25th anniversary the best it could be!

Allan and Terri Armour

P.S. We look forward to coming back to our new family on Caye Caulker!

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank singleredrose4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2008

We booked for 3 nights at the tropical 'paradise' hotel - and were offered a discount for paying upfront - on the grounds that therw were strictly no refunds. On the first night there, our room was broken into while we slept (before midnight!), and my camera, mobile phone and $300 were carefully and considerately taken out of my sling bag which was then placed back near the door, and my roomates shorts and jeans were taken. The hotel staff at first appeared indifferent, and the hotel manager refused to see us. When we returned from filing our report with the police the manager was busy suggesting to the police that we hadn't locked our door (a lie) and then miraculously found the shorts and jeans under our cabin which we had already checked before leaving for the police station. To add insult to injury, we were interrogated and searched by the police again at belize city police station. We doubt very much the hotel managers office has been searched with the same vigour. We suspect we were targetted as two young females travelling alone, we were watched and the bags and clothes we were wearing were taken note of, and that they hoped we would be scared off so they could rerent the room us having paid for 3 nights upfront. Tropical paradise indeed. Just make sure you put your bags in front of the door and sleep with your valuables under you pillow because would you honestly trust the safety deposit box in such a hotel?

  • Liked — Leaving with some of our possessions.
  • Disliked — Being robbed while we slept.
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank MelissaDuffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tropiparadise, Receptionist at Tropical Paradise Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2009
First of all we always advise our guest about brining strangers inside their rooms, we will not be held responsible if a guest brings in strangers and then gets robbed. Secondly the management that you are talking about and accusing of stealing is not only the manager, but also the owner, and he has been in the hotel and restaurant business for over 50 years and it is not his best interest to do something like stealing from a guest, if this would be the case his establishment would have been closed down years ago. I personally called the Tourism police and he came to the hotel. When they started Investigating the Tourism police found it very funny that there was not forced entry on the locks. Now let me ask you something should the hotel be held responsible when guest decide to go out and have a little more than fun and bring in strangers with them? Finally if you did not feel secure at the hotel after this situation a full refund would have been given to you.
To give you a little history of the owner/manager of Tropical Paradise Hotel, Mr. Ramon Reyes Sr. J.P.
The owner/manager of Tropical Paradise Hotel has been honored with High Positions. One he is the Honorable Ramon Reyes Senior Justice of peace and also a Commissioner of the Supreme Court of the Country of Belize, he has an impeccable reputation well known to the Belize Tourist Board which is the Supreme Authority Governing all hotel establishments in this country, you can log in to BTB for further information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Caye Caulker hotels

Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2008

My friend and I spent our last two nights here. We LOVED the location - there was a nice "beach" strip with lounges and chairs just a few steps outside of our door. The views outside were lovely at day and night (there was a full moon and lunar eclipse while we were there). There's a restaurant attached to the hotel (which we actually didn't end up eating at). It's also close to I & I Bar and Rasta Pasta restaurant, both of which we visited more than once.

In the room itself, the only draw was the shower. Water pressure sucked! We had a room with no A/C (two ceiling fans, which were sufficient) so it got a little warm mid-day. But we weren't in Caye Caulker to spend the day in our room. There is always a breeze coming off the water (especially at night), so opening the curtains was enough to fix that. The beds were decent, not great but not uncomfortable. I slept well though...

The front desk clerk was nice, and our room was cleaned well.

And for $45 US a night for a double (high season price, would be cheaper in low season), I was happy.

If you're looking for a 5 star resort, don't stay here. Might not even want to stay in Caye Caulker! If you want to have a comfortable, basic room, this would be a great place.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay here. I would definitely return!

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovelyteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caye Caulker hotels
0.4 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
256 reviews
0.1 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
272 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#10 of 19 in Caye Caulker
258 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Isla Resort
La Isla Resort
#7 of 31 in Caye Caulker
20 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kokomo Beach Suites
Kokomo Beach Suites
#25 of 32 in Caye Caulker
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Paradise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Paradise Hotel

Property: Tropical Paradise Hotel
Address: #1 Luciano St., Caye Caulker, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropical Paradise Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach Location offering Deluxe Cabanas, Suites, and Regular Rooms. Our Restaurant offers first class seafood and local cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tropical Paradise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Paradise Hotel And Restaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing