We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK and friendly staff”
Review of De Real Macaw

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
De Real Macaw
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“OK and friendly staff”
Reviewed 5 October 2007

We stayed there 6 days in August. We had a room in the backbuilding which was ok. Clean sheets and towles every day. Beds are not the best. What we missed was comy sunbeds. The one thay had were not very good after 20 min. We had hammocks thou. We will probabely choose the Cabanas near the harbour next time. Looked better, but they were also more expencive.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank VikingOslo_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    93
    26
    7
    8
See reviews for
29
98
26
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2007

We stayed here for 3 nights in the beachfront rooms. it is a nice place, though nothing special.We checked the other accomodations in Caye Caulker before but all of them seemed to be full so we ended up here. We paid 70 dollars a night and i think it is a little overpriced for what they offer.Especially when you compare with nearby hotels. The beds and pillows were really uncomfortable and the aircon was a small one,so it didnt feel like we have AC in the room.They dont offer breakfast and they are not much helpful except if you want to take the tours they arrange.We didnt take any tour as we are not interested in snorkelling. Not only the staff comes only to make your bed and change the towels, but also they expect you to tip them. Still, it is caye caulker and its a very laid back place so we did not seem to bother. Though next time, i will stay at somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank chloeshiny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2007

I stayed at this hotel march 2007 for 3 nights in one of the beach front rooms (70$ us/night). the hotel is a little pricier than the others in Caye Caulker but definitely worth the extra. The location can't be beat - right on front street in the middle of all the action on the island with a beautiful view of the ocean from the hotel. The room was modest but had everythind needed including AC (that worked well), ceiling fan, shower with warm water, fridge, coffee maker and television (with about 50 channels). The room was very clean and the beds comfortable. The hotel had a nice veranda with chairs and hammocks; a perfect place to sit in the shade and read or watch the people walking up and down the street.

The owners, Jessie and her son Jeff, took very good care of us. They were lovely people that clearly love Caye Caulker and are extremely helpful. Jessie just wants to go out of her way to help you out in any way possible. she has 3 adorable little dogs - all pekanese-like - and they are the most well cared for dogs on the island!

There is an empty lot next door to this hotel that is home to a bunch of stray cats. Some wander onto the macaw property from time to time and the occasional cat fight can be heard at night. Not really a big problem for us.

I would definitely stay here if return to Caye Caulker. I would suggest booking ahead of time because the place was full the entire time we were there.

  • Liked — friendly atmosphere, great staff, perfect location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank tuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2007

We had a great experience with this guest house. It is a little pricey, given the competition, but to our minds was a great value. It isn't a Hilton but was just right for our needs. Jessie, Jeff, Selya(sp?), and Ella were all very helpful and outgoing. For us, we spent quite a long time there - 10 days - and were thoroughly enamored with the place and the people. We did have a cat from the lot next door adopt us and she took turns on our laps as we sat and watched the rain on one of the days that it showered. We sat on the front porch and watched the people pass by. We made quick friends with Steve, who runs sailing and snorkel tours and markets from the office out front and with Russell, the tormented soul who is as lovable as a brother and usually spent his days at the park out front. Last but certainly not least with Jesse, who owns and manages this place. Jesse does the very best she can for her guests and as far as we could tell for everybody around there. To us, the location and the proximity of the people on the street was very much an added attraction. When we left it did feel like we were leaving family and can't wait to go back. I would recommend this hotel to friend or family. We feel it was a great choice.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank apple51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2007

Firstly, most of what is said in the other reviews is correct: De Real Macaw is a nice place to stay. But note how most reviewers are actually enthralled with Caye Caulker more than anything else. Frankly, one could sleep on the street in a corner of this town and retain a smile, and ALL the people on the island are helpful, kind and interesting, noit just Jessie and Jeff. The question is, therefore, are the $75 you will spend per night on a Macaw room worth it, when you can stay at several other, comparable places for half that, or a sixth of that if you don't mind sharing a bathroom.

Truth is, De Real Macaw FORGOT TO ORGANIZE OUR AIRPORT TRANSFER and once someone has happily taken your money, I can't think of anything worse! We'd arranged the transfer in advance, via email, and reconfirmed the day before our departure. Jeff assured me he'd take care of it. He did not. So we were stranded at De Real Macaw at 6:30 am, with only a half-hour to get to the airport, in the rain, with no telephone to call for help becasue the office was still closed. I ended up walking through the rain until I found someone with a cell phone to call the taxi company. This affected our Caye Caulker stay negatively and leads me to point out a few more things about De Real Macaw that need attention, so that you can make an informed decision before making your reservation:

1) The aircon units are too small to be effective and very loud.
2) The hot water isn't hot by any stretch of the imagination. This can be really bothersome if the weather turns.
3) The fridge will be set to the lowest setting when you arrive, so there won't be any ice and your milk will spoil unless you turn it up.
4) If the cats in the construction lot next door are feeling amorous, they will keeep you up all night.
5) The bathroom window had come off its hinges and banged all night once the wind picked up.
6) No one ever checked up on us or bothered to ask us how we were enjoying our stay or whether there was anything we needed or wanted to talk about. This is a basic courtesy in the hospitailty industry and doesn't cost anything. We felt aignored, frankly, once our credit card had been swiped.

The point is, this bad review could have been easily avoided. In fact, if only the airport transfer had been taken care of, as promised, I'd never have bothered writing this. De Real Macaw seems to have come to that point in an establishment's history when the owners are resting on their laurels, not maintaining the property more than is absolutely necessary, and think it's fine to sit on their veranda all day smoking cigarettes, ignoring their guests who are paying inflated prices. There are many other places on Caulker that are just as nice as De Real MacFlaw for much less money. Why pay the relatively high price of $75 per night if you're not going to get your money's worth and the folks charging half that will treat you twice as good? If you do decide to really Macaw, I recommned arranging your own airport transfer. But yes, the island is awesome and the people are all wonderful and despite the above flaws, we had an unforgettable time.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
8 Thank Rare-Sighting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2007

We just returned from Caye Caulker and Ambergris Caye. We stayed first at De Real Macaw and had such a great time. Everything about the hotel was great- the staff were so friendly and helpful with booking any type of day trip or suggesting things to do. The whole island is very small and lives at the best pace.

The whole island is ideal for people who want to have a slow time in a fantastic location. We travled over to Ambergris caye, and wished we'd stayed here the whole time- it was such a great pace with very friendly folks.

The location of the hotel was ideal for exploring town and having easy access to our room as well. The room itself was nice and was cleaned daily. The only thing I would recommend is booking an upstairs room as we did get lots of noise from our above neighbors. Each room has an adirondeck chair and a hammock- there are also lounge chairs and extra hammocks in
the courtyard.

We adored this spot and would recommend it to folks traveling there- the other guests were like minded travelers- other honeymooners, families with kids, single people, couples- and all seemed to be having a great time and were very excited to share stories, or to give you quiet space to hang out. If you are headed to Caye Caulker, I would recommend you stay here!

  • Liked — The laid back vibe with excellent service
  • Disliked — Noise from room above
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WesternMaineBlackdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2006

I stayed here and had a fabulous time. After travelling in Mexico where the standard of accomodation was not quite so high I was so happy to get to De Real Macaw. No it is not a 5* hotel but it's clean, boasts a selection of room types, friendly service and is really good value for money (we stayed 7 nights and got the 8th for free). The island is very beautiful and untouched in many ways and this adds to its charms. One day seems to roll into the next and although the nightlife is pretty non-existent, sitting on the hotel porch with some One Barrel rum and coke and a few friends is the perfect way to spend an evening! Plus if you just fancy chilling out and staying in your room one night the rooms have cable TV!

  • Liked — The owner Jessie, the views, the mellow vibe and the hammocks (!)
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Persia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caye Caulker
0.3 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.3 mi away
Popeyes Beach Resort
Popeyes Beach Resort
#14 of 19 in Caye Caulker
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.6 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#10 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rainbow Hotel
Rainbow Hotel
#9 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
11.8 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#20 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Real Macaw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Real Macaw

Property: De Real Macaw
Address: Front Street | Hicaco Ave., Caye Caulker, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your De Real Macaw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Real Macaw Hotel Caye Caulker
De Real Macaw Caye Caulker

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing