We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of De Real Macaw

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
De Real Macaw
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

We stayed at Da Real Macaw for three nights. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Rob, the guy who runs the place, was very accommodating. He dealt with a couple of issues we had immediately. He also gave us a good deal due to the inconvenience. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clementineSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    92
    26
    7
    8
See reviews for
28
98
26
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

The Hotel is a nice simple hotel located in the main street. It is very clean and the service from the people working there is awesome. Really cool friendly guys. Will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabirus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belize
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2011

I have stayed at De Real Macaw many times over the past five years and it remains my #1 choice for Caye Caulker. The rooms are spacious and well equipped and always impeccably clean and well maintained. This hotel is very well managed by friendly responsive owners who go out of their way to ensure their guests needs are met. I run a small resort in Belize also and this is the spot I take my visiting friends and family, as well as consistently recommend to my guests traveling to Caye Caulker. I take my business reputation seriously and would not recommend anywhere that I did not have 100% confidence in, as I do with De Real Macaw.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TCLODGE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
208 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2011

Very disappointing stay. The rooms are expensive for what you get. Very old/run down, nothing invested in maintenance. No insulation or ac, so boiling hot after a day of sun on the roof.

Manager didn't seem to care about our concerns either.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank silly_sausage_3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2011

I would recommend that anyone headed to Caye Caulker stay here. I loved my time at this hotel. The location was perfect, within easy walking distance (well, everything is within easy walking distance) of the Split and many places to eat. The rooms themselves were exactly what I expected after reading other reviews on TripAdvisor. The bed was comfortable and the AC worked VERY well. The only downside would be the fact that I could easily hear my upstairs neighbor early each morning, so bring earplugs.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeccaJ1601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yellowknife, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2011

We first got to Caye Caulker and Frederick came to pick us up from the boat taxi. He said he was with the real Macaw so we figured it was cool. He walked us to the hotel and when we came to give him a tip, he actually asked for money. We gave it to him. That was my ONLY negative comment on this hotel (and it has nothing to do with the hotel!!)
This place was awesome. He stayed in the room facing the street and the vendors. We made friends with Jam and Delicious, and New York the dog, and Corn and everyone else (we miss them!!)
The location was perfect. We sat in our hammock and watched people go by. There was a bit of noise, so if you dont like that, bring ear plugs, but stay here!!! you won't regret it.
The AC worked perfectly and the showers had super wicked water pressure. Rob was super helpful. He's such a laid back guy and was there anytime we needed anything. He is full of information about the island.
The beds were good, the cleaning lady, Latecia, what a sweetheart! She was there everyday. There's a super cool community area within the hotel gates where you can hang and sunbathe.
This hotel was so amazing, that after we left it to tour the rest of Belize, we decided to go back to Caye Caulker and back to the real macaw for a couple more nights!
Rob was super accomodating and hooked us up with a back room, just as good as the front one. With a queen bed and a single bed and the great water pressure!
I highly recommend you stay here if you wanna meet cool people and hang out. It is definetly a busier part of the island, but thats what makes it so cool!!
AND this place has free wi-fi, if thats something you're looking for
Miss it already!!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank n_elhakeem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Punta Gorda, Belize
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2011

We enjoyed our stay here so much. It was my husband and I and our 20 year old granddaughter and her boyfriend. We stayed in the condo and it was a wonderful accomodation for us. The place is centrally located to just about anything and the owners are so friendly and helpful. We did a 3 stop snorkeling tour with Blackhawk Sailing, right next door, and had a great time with Steve and Charlie. Our pictures made our family back home very jealous. It's not a luxury place at all, but very comfortable, safe, and clean!

Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caye Caulker
0.3 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
0.3 mi away
Popeyes Beach Resort
Popeyes Beach Resort
#14 of 19 in Caye Caulker
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.6 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#12 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rainbow Hotel
Rainbow Hotel
#9 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
11.8 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#20 of 54 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Real Macaw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Real Macaw

Property: De Real Macaw
Address: Front Street | Hicaco Ave., Caye Caulker, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your De Real Macaw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Real Macaw Hotel Caye Caulker
De Real Macaw Caye Caulker

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing