We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“don't stay in the shed”
Review of De Real Macaw

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
De Real Macaw
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2008

De Real Macaw has a great location, cute courtyard and friendly staff. They have one budget room in the back, that we paid $25 a night for. The room is TINY...it appears to have formerly been a utility shed that was converted into an extra room. There is a double bunk bed which has a few feet worth of room between the bed and the sink. If you are sitting on the toilet the space between your knees and the wall is about 1 inch. Thankfully my boyfriend and I are petite people. Anyone bigger than us would NOT have been able to fit in that room! (I am 5'3 and he is 5'7 and we are both pretty slim). The hotel should really tell people this.

I don't think any of the other regular more expensive rooms are this small and I would speculate that they were probably alot nicer.

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank medusa101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 257 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2008

The owners of De Real Macaw are very friendly and helpful and the courtyard is a great place to relax at a picnic table or hammock. It is very close to the Split which is a nice place to swim and sun. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allymariem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2007

We stayed there 6 days in August. We had a room in the backbuilding which was ok. Clean sheets and towles every day. Beds are not the best. What we missed was comy sunbeds. The one thay had were not very good after 20 min. We had hammocks thou. We will probabely choose the Cabanas near the harbour next time. Looked better, but they were also more expencive.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank VikingOslo_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2007

We stayed here for 3 nights in the beachfront rooms. it is a nice place, though nothing special.We checked the other accomodations in Caye Caulker before but all of them seemed to be full so we ended up here. We paid 70 dollars a night and i think it is a little overpriced for what they offer.Especially when you compare with nearby hotels. The beds and pillows were really uncomfortable and the aircon was a small one,so it didnt feel like we have AC in the room.They dont offer breakfast and they are not much helpful except if you want to take the tours they arrange.We didnt take any tour as we are not interested in snorkelling. Not only the staff comes only to make your bed and change the towels, but also they expect you to tip them. Still, it is caye caulker and its a very laid back place so we did not seem to bother. Though next time, i will stay at somewhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank chloeshiny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2007

I stayed at this hotel march 2007 for 3 nights in one of the beach front rooms (70$ us/night). the hotel is a little pricier than the others in Caye Caulker but definitely worth the extra. The location can't be beat - right on front street in the middle of all the action on the island with a beautiful view of the ocean from the hotel. The room was modest but had everythind needed including AC (that worked well), ceiling fan, shower with warm water, fridge, coffee maker and television (with about 50 channels). The room was very clean and the beds comfortable. The hotel had a nice veranda with chairs and hammocks; a perfect place to sit in the shade and read or watch the people walking up and down the street.

The owners, Jessie and her son Jeff, took very good care of us. They were lovely people that clearly love Caye Caulker and are extremely helpful. Jessie just wants to go out of her way to help you out in any way possible. she has 3 adorable little dogs - all pekanese-like - and they are the most well cared for dogs on the island!

There is an empty lot next door to this hotel that is home to a bunch of stray cats. Some wander onto the macaw property from time to time and the occasional cat fight can be heard at night. Not really a big problem for us.

I would definitely stay here if return to Caye Caulker. I would suggest booking ahead of time because the place was full the entire time we were there.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank tuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2007

We had a great experience with this guest house. It is a little pricey, given the competition, but to our minds was a great value. It isn't a Hilton but was just right for our needs. Jessie, Jeff, Selya(sp?), and Ella were all very helpful and outgoing. For us, we spent quite a long time there - 10 days - and were thoroughly enamored with the place and the people. We did have a cat from the lot next door adopt us and she took turns on our laps as we sat and watched the rain on one of the days that it showered. We sat on the front porch and watched the people pass by. We made quick friends with Steve, who runs sailing and snorkel tours and markets from the office out front and with Russell, the tormented soul who is as lovable as a brother and usually spent his days at the park out front. Last but certainly not least with Jesse, who owns and manages this place. Jesse does the very best she can for her guests and as far as we could tell for everybody around there. To us, the location and the proximity of the people on the street was very much an added attraction. When we left it did feel like we were leaving family and can't wait to go back. I would recommend this hotel to friend or family. We feel it was a great choice.

Stayed: January 2007
3  Thank apple51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2007

Firstly, most of what is said in the other reviews is correct: De Real Macaw is a nice place to stay. But note how most reviewers are actually enthralled with Caye Caulker more than anything else. Frankly, one could sleep on the street in a corner of this town and retain a smile, and ALL the people on the island are helpful, kind and interesting, noit just Jessie and Jeff. The question is, therefore, are the $75 you will spend per night on a Macaw room worth it, when you can stay at several other, comparable places for half that, or a sixth of that if you don't mind sharing a bathroom.

Truth is, De Real Macaw FORGOT TO ORGANIZE OUR AIRPORT TRANSFER and once someone has happily taken your money, I can't think of anything worse! We'd arranged the transfer in advance, via email, and reconfirmed the day before our departure. Jeff assured me he'd take care of it. He did not. So we were stranded at De Real Macaw at 6:30 am, with only a half-hour to get to the airport, in the rain, with no telephone to call for help becasue the office was still closed. I ended up walking through the rain until I found someone with a cell phone to call the taxi company. This affected our Caye Caulker stay negatively and leads me to point out a few more things about De Real Macaw that need attention, so that you can make an informed decision before making your reservation:

1) The aircon units are too small to be effective and very loud.
2) The hot water isn't hot by any stretch of the imagination. This can be really bothersome if the weather turns.
3) The fridge will be set to the lowest setting when you arrive, so there won't be any ice and your milk will spoil unless you turn it up.
4) If the cats in the construction lot next door are feeling amorous, they will keeep you up all night.
5) The bathroom window had come off its hinges and banged all night once the wind picked up.
6) No one ever checked up on us or bothered to ask us how we were enjoying our stay or whether there was anything we needed or wanted to talk about. This is a basic courtesy in the hospitailty industry and doesn't cost anything. We felt aignored, frankly, once our credit card had been swiped.

The point is, this bad review could have been easily avoided. In fact, if only the airport transfer had been taken care of, as promised, I'd never have bothered writing this. De Real Macaw seems to have come to that point in an establishment's history when the owners are resting on their laurels, not maintaining the property more than is absolutely necessary, and think it's fine to sit on their veranda all day smoking cigarettes, ignoring their guests who are paying inflated prices. There are many other places on Caulker that are just as nice as De Real MacFlaw for much less money. Why pay the relatively high price of $75 per night if you're not going to get your money's worth and the folks charging half that will treat you twice as good? If you do decide to really Macaw, I recommned arranging your own airport transfer. But yes, the island is awesome and the people are all wonderful and despite the above flaws, we had an unforgettable time.

Stayed: January 2007
8  Thank Rare-Sighting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caye Caulker hotels
0.3 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
279 reviews
0.6 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
93 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#10 of 19 in Caye Caulker
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Popeyes Beach Resort
Popeyes Beach Resort
#15 of 19 in Caye Caulker
178 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rainbow Hotel
Rainbow Hotel
#9 of 19 in Caye Caulker
122 reviews
0.7 mi away
Weezie's Ocean Front Hotel and Garden Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Real Macaw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Real Macaw

Address: Front Street | Hicaco Ave., Caye Caulker, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Price Range: £47 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your De Real Macaw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Real Macaw Hotel Caye Caulker
De Real Macaw Caye Caulker

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing