We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot !”
Review of De Real Macaw

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
De Real Macaw
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Certificate of Excellence
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great spot !”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

This little place is laid back and charming .
I happen to enjoy hearing people about and having th opportunity to see the ocean at a bargain price !!! Not th cheapest by far but a nice value .
Room wonderful, not luxurious but perfect for caye caulker . If you prefer up scale consider iguana reef . The real Macaw is perfect for people that just want o relax and enjoy the scenery and people . Love ths place .

Room Tip: A family f 4 woud prefer an upper with little kitchenette . Nice view .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matildanbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    94
    26
    7
    8
See reviews for
29
98
26
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hale, Michigan, United States
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Good location, although we had some noisy neighbors next door. The room was fine. None of the resorts are right on the beach, which is disappointing. The staff was very friendly. Rob was great, we had to catch a very early water taxi, & he stopped by to make sure we had a taxi ride to the pier. You can't drink the water on the island so take this into consideration, the hammock on the deck was wonderful. If you are going to book an excursion, book through one of the companies on the beach, do not book through the office, we booked a full day snorkel & were only out less than 3 hours. was not worth the price we paid.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queen Creek
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We chose to go to Caye Caulker because it was advertised as the more laid-back of the Cayes. We stayed at the Real Macaw right on the beach. We rented a 2-bedroom cabana, but one of the bedrooms had a single bed over a double bed, bunk-bed style and no a/c, while the other had a queen bed with a/c. There was a/c in the kitchen/living room, too. We had TV, with several channels in Chinese for all the supermarket owners. The balcony was our favorite spot since we could watch the people going by below as well as the ocean. The folks running the Real Macaw were exceptionally nice and helpful. There are no cars on Caye Caulker, only golf carts and bikes. Makes for a very relaxed environment. I went snorkeling for the first time in Caye Caulker, and I loved it. Don't leave without doing it.

Room Tip: Ask for a/c and a room off the street will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank selmagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

De Real Macaw offers a great location right in the middle of Front Street, clean and comfortable accommodations, welcoming staff, and good amenities. Our room had A/C, a private bathroom, a TV, and a basic kitchenette with a mini fridge and coffee maker. The room was small and a bit dim, but you won't spend much time indoors on Caye Caulker anyways. We also had a comfy porch with comfortable chairs and a hammock. They provided fresh coffee every day and there's wifi that is accessible outside the room. There's a nice courtyard with some deck chairs and picnic tables, and it's all topped off with a view of the Caribbean right across the street!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

we were walking up the shore and saw this little hotel... hammocks outside every room and nice little porches and we booked a couple of rooms for the rest of our stay... extremely pleasant, nice view onto the ocean, very pleasant rooms with fridges, coffee makers and TV's and a breeze off the ocean... all I could have required.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PJradio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Jessie replied to our emails promptly. After we put down a deposit by Paypal Jessie sent us all the information relate to CC like a little guide section. That was a great help!

Walked to the hotel from taxi dock five minutes. No need for a golf taxi.

We were in room #5, beach view room. The room was better than I expected after reading one review. Room was clean and neat. It's not easy to keep the hotel that clean in a seaside place.
Seeing a little bit ocean and the world go by from the patio. The view is better than beach front room.
Comfortable bed. New and fluffy towels.
The hammock was a bonus. Loved it.
Toaster oven was handy for toast, coffee (supplied)
It's a safe and secure room.

The owners, Bob and Jessie were pleasant to deal with.
The girls were helpful and cheerful.

Now the not so good part.
If you are tall the toilet seat that is toooooo close to the wall is not comfortable (I think someone has mentioned that)
The mirror and the sink were too small and shabby!
No Wifi in the room, you have to sit in the patio or close to the office to get this. That's a disadvantage to us.

All in all, it's above average, but seems to be lacking something (space in the washroom, Wifi in room.) For its location, facilities, and general setup, it's great! I loved the cleanliness of this place.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank catcatab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We had booked an ocean front room which turned out to be accross a street from the ocean, the view was good with a big gap between the vendor shops that lined most of that side of the street. The shops open early and close late, and the Rasta vendors are loud and fairly innapropriate. Our ac was basically non existant, which we should have told the manager (room 2), but with the nice ocean breeze and ceiling fan, we thought we would be ok....except for the noise, with vendors and their friends hanging out right in front of the hotel and our first floor room. The room was abit dark, good sized, with the bonus of a kitchenette. Beds are comfy. Lots of hot water and great pressure. Rooms are clean, staff are great. Nice sitting area on a deck outside the room with a hammock.

Room Tip: A room at the back and on the upper level would probably be better. (quieter)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luv2trvlabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caye Caulker
0.3 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
265 reviews
0.6 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
90 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#11 of 19 in Caye Caulker
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rainbow Hotel
Rainbow Hotel
#9 of 19 in Caye Caulker
119 reviews
11.8 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#21 of 53 in San Pedro
793 reviews
0.7 mi away
Weezie's Ocean Front Hotel and Garden Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Real Macaw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Real Macaw

Property: De Real Macaw
Address: Front Street | Hicaco Ave., Caye Caulker, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your De Real Macaw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Real Macaw Hotel Caye Caulker
De Real Macaw Caye Caulker

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing