We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms, good view, very relaxin”
Review of De Real Macaw

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
De Real Macaw
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2005

Just got back from Belize yesterday and I am definitely missing De Real McCaw.

PROS: This hotel has a great location...It is close enough to walk to/from the front dock and is a short walk to the split. De Real McCaw is surrounded by restaurants and tours. I stayed in an upper cabanna without AC, but I didn't miss it. There is always a breeze and it feels great to just lay in a hammock and rock back and forth. The showers are cool, but it felt good in the afternoon after swiming/snorkeling etc. I think I might even start taking cool showers at home (I live in San Antonio). And the price is great- a very good deal. The owners-Peter and Jesse- are super nice and laid back.

CONS: There were cats that kept fighting and cat calling outside during the night. But it didn't bother me too much, because chose to lay there rather than go yell at them and scare them away! That is it though, the only CON I can think of.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Caye Caulker.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank bwookie623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 257 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2005

My partner and I, along with another couple, just spent two weeks at De Real Macaw and loved it.

It was our 3rd time on the island and the 3rd place we have stayed.

This was easily the best of the bunch!

The location is wonderful (close to the split and "downtown". The view is great and Jesse and Peter (the owners) are extremely helpful but also very laid back.

THe rooms were clean and in good shape.

We are planning to stay here again our next time on Caye Caulker!

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank drwToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2005

It's a great location and a great place. Jesse (the owner) was very friendly and helpful with where to go, what to do, as is everyone on the island. The accomodations are a bit cozy for 3 adults, but would be nice for a couple or young family. Good, clean accomodation, safe and convenient. What else could you ask for for $50US? Actually, there were quite a few people who had moved to De Real Macaw from other places because they were disappointed with their original accomodations, if that says anything.

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank zbethnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2004

My family stayed here for four nights in July and thought it was great. Between the two bedrooms (one with bunk beds) and the futon in the living room, there was plenty of space for the five of us. Plus, there's a full kitchen and dining area.

It's across the street from the water and a very close walk to the split and the main part of the town (if there is a main part!).

The owners/staff were friendly, the room was clean and it's a nice, quiet place.

I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank ableone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leparesseux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank Anastasia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Annie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caye Caulker
0.3 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
284 reviews
0.6 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
94 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#11 of 19 in Caye Caulker
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Popeyes Beach Resort
Popeyes Beach Resort
#15 of 19 in Caye Caulker
181 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rainbow Hotel
Rainbow Hotel
#9 of 19 in Caye Caulker
122 reviews
13.3 mi away
Hotel del Rio
Hotel del Rio
#37 of 54 in San Pedro
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Real Macaw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Real Macaw

Address: Front Street | Hicaco Ave., Caye Caulker, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Price Range: £47 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your De Real Macaw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Real Macaw Hotel Caye Caulker
De Real Macaw Caye Caulker

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing