We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful home away from home”
Review of De Real Macaw

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
De Real Macaw
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Certificate of Excellence
Versailles, Kentucky
Level Contributor
180 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Wonderful home away from home”
Reviewed 27 January 2011

This is a special place. If you're looking for a JW Marriott, you need to be on a different island; if you're looking for a Holiday Inn Express, you probably need to be looking at somewhere else. But if you want first class service in a comfortable, island guest house, you should look at De Real Macaw. The inn is rustic, and the rooms are not spacious. But the personal service and commitment to satisfaction more than makes up for any of those physical shortcomings. My wife and I loved Caye Caulker, and we're already planning our return. And we intend to stay with Rob and Jessie when we do.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank turneraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    94
    26
    7
    8
See reviews for
29
98
26
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2011

I stayed at this hotel during my second visit to Caye Caulker. This hotel is a good deal for the money, has its charm, and is in good location. However, I was bitten horribly by some 300 bed bugs that made my whole body itch incessantly for a week and the owner would not even offer a refund to me! As far as I know he had the room where I stayed booked for the next night, and he didn't seem to be bothered by the fact that the next guests would be feasted upon, too!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucidmelody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeRealMacaw, Owner at De Real Macaw, responded to this review, 28 January 2011
In the 9 years we have been in business, this is the first person to complain about bed bugs. She had bites on her, but not from our hotel. She had to leave because we had a reservation for the room. No bed bugs were found when both searched so we would not give her a refund. The following guest did not complain about any bites they received while sleeping in the room for a week! We have not received any complaint regarding bed bugs in any of our rooms since this one young lady's visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2011

No frills but the accommodations were totally adequate and the shower had good water pressure and hot water. It was convenient to have a fridge in the room to save on eating every meal out. De Real Macaw's location is nice because it's a bit quieter than some of the other accommodations on the island.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dc15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2011

My brother and I stayed here for 4 nights in #7. It's very well located, right on the main road. The room was not especially impressive though. It is small and dark. The large bed in the room was comfortable enough for me, but the smaller bed was apparently hell for my brother. The room had a/c, ceiling fan, refrigerator (did not work), a small tv with cable that flickered in and out so as to be worthless, wifi which was rather sporadic. There was a small porch with a hammock, to which several fleabitten cats were drawn. The courtyard is small, and every single day was filled with little kids, who woke us up every morning. The guy who worked at reception was not especially friendly. Lots of the more sketchy local guys hang out right at the entrance. The people from the shops across the street (which block the view of the beach) often came to pee in the yard right next to our room. Overall, I would not say this is an especially good value compared to other options nearby. We paid $50us a night, it was worth about half that.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renton, WA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2010

Deb and I stayed in De Real Macaw for just short of 2 weeks. We had planned to use it as our base of operations and travel to the mainland for Ruins tours etc, but we enjoyed Caye Caulker so much we just never left the island. Jessie was delightful and helped us at every turn and gave good advice for restaurants and tours. Initially we thought the vendors would be a problem too, but Jimmy Jam & Del, who have a jewelry stall there became good friends. Jimmy and I had coffee every morning and we still keep in touch via txt message. Juni was recommended by Jessie for the snorkeling trip and he was terrific as well, only takes 4 people at a time on a sail boat he made by hand so he has time to give a personalized guided trip. Juni's coffee and fresh fruit are to die for....We ate at all but one of the restaurants on the Caye, all were serviceable, but one of our favorites was Maurice's Place. We had just about every kind of seafood imaginable for Christmas dinner there and came back again (dinner included lobster and was $7.50 US! + drinks) We would have come back this Christmas, but ended up visiting family in Florida instead.
We will be back, Thanks Jessie!
Doug & Deb

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harkmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2010

Staff were friendly. Lots of TV stations for when the tropical storms come in(we were there rainy season). We got a great price because it was quiet. Perfect location on the island. Happy with our stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robbie_derek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2010

There are LOTS of choices on Caye Caulker, but my wife and I stayed a full week at Da Real Macaw because the location is perfect, i.e. in the middle of everything-- you can sit on the porch and watch the 14-hour a day parade of interesting folks coming and going on Front Street. However, you can also retreat to your room for quiet and privacy.
Obviously, we love people watching... if you do too, be sure to stay at least a couple days here. If they are on the Caye, you'll see them.
PS-- Buy the Banana Bread from the strolling salesman. It rocks.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prioleau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caye Caulker
0.3 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
262 reviews
0.6 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
89 reviews
0.3 mi away
Popeyes Beach Resort
Popeyes Beach Resort
#14 of 19 in Caye Caulker
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#12 of 19 in Caye Caulker
253 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rainbow Hotel
Rainbow Hotel
#9 of 19 in Caye Caulker
119 reviews
11.8 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#21 of 54 in San Pedro
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Real Macaw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Real Macaw

Property: De Real Macaw
Address: Front Street | Hicaco Ave., Caye Caulker, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your De Real Macaw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Real Macaw Hotel Caye Caulker
De Real Macaw Caye Caulker

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing