We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great sports bar during NHL playoffs”

Barrier Reef Sports Bar & Grill
Ranked #10 of 94 Restaurants in Caye Caulker
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$9
Cuisines: American, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours
raymore
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“great sports bar during NHL playoffs”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Great quezadillas for a cheap price. The atmosphere was awesome as well, lots of happy drunks and cheap drinks! The only part that sucked was when I went there to watch NHL playoffs one night and half way through game 7 they mute the tv to let some chick have an open mic night! I thought it was a sports bar? Wait until the sports are over at least! Fifth time on the island and first time here and I enjoyed it!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank devildog0800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    138
    43
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corozal, Belize
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best place to watch the game!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This is a great locals and tourist bar- setup with many tvs, decorated with sports memorabilia. I really like the pub fish&chips. I enjoy sitting at the tables in the sand patio, looking at the ocean and reef- enjoying good food and Belikins on draft. Fun place with a mix of locals, tourists, and expats.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank terrajunebug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Bar to Watch Sports but Slow Service”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Hands down the best bar to watch sporting events on this island in my opinion... They have 6 larger screen TV's all over the main seating area and a few other behind the bar so if you want to watch your favorite sport or team, this is the place on Caye Caulker Island to come to....(In fact this location was the original site of Rasta Pasta years ago) Now lets talk about the service.... It's pretty slow, and I understand this is a small island but they would have gotten a lot more money from me if somebody would have just come by like once every 30 minutes... It was not just me either, I noticed a few other tables asking the wait staff if they forgot to order their food cause they had not gotten in it a long time.... So take this for what's it worth... The second and third time I came here to watch games, I went to dinner first at other places and then came to the bar to watch the games & have a drink.... this worked out perfect!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JR V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice spot for a drink”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This is a nice spot to have a drink while waiting for the ferry to the main land. They make some awesom drinks and have friendly staff. We didn't have a meal, but the menu looked good.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho, United States
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Ask about the poker game”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Loved this place! We decided that we wanted to never go to the same place twice...but we couldn't help but go back to this place a few times. The food was mediocre, but the atmosphere was great.

There's a poker game every Sunday/Tuesday/Thursday at 1pm. $25 US to play. A much better view for a poker game than in Vegas! Great staff too!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joe and Mariya O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barrier Reef Sports Bar & Grill also viewed

 
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 

Been to Barrier Reef Sports Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing