We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Calm & Silent” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ignacio's Cabins

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ignacio's Cabins
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Calm & Silent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

I had three nights with a friend in a cabin in front of the sea; cabins are simple and clean, a great amaca on the balcony will let you relax with the wind's sound. Very very cheap, you can rent a bike to ride the island; we met a nice friend there, Max the dog who slept in our balcony and made our staying enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    20
    18
    8
    22
See reviews for
2
38
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Its probably one of the cheapest places on Caulker and it certainly reflects it. I would have originally given this place 2 stars. For its price you can get a view, a grimy room with two beds, a barely functioning toilet and shower and one dim light bulb. And the proprietor is at least friendly and helpful. That is expected with a price like that.

However, my bed was infested with bed bugs. They pretty much ate me alive. That alone makes this not worth it.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Hobo003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Caye Caulker hotels

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
121 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

I dont get the negativity towards this place. I am a global traveler and not some nube back packer. If you want air con, open the door. If you want hot water, stay in a hotel, if you want a party scene, go stay in town. If you pay £15 a night you get £15 a night not £150 a night.

However, if you want sublime tranquility and utter peace with every single sunrise blazing in through your window then this place is for you. Get off the boat and turn left and just keep walking. Its about 10 mins from the jetty and you will see it.

I have been lucky to travel the planet and this place was my absolute favourite. I came for a day and stayed for a month in cabin 18. Yeah its got things wrong with it but you find that in every place. My loo seat was broken but did it ruin my day, nope. Ask Ruben and he'll fix anything for you. Does Ignacio carry an axe, yes, but then he's always chopping down trees and stuff.

Lazying in my hammock for hour upon hour I just fell in love with Caye Caulker.

Now Senior Ignacio (big glasses) is one of the original people on this island and he may seem crazy mad at first but I swear, get to know this guy and be polite and he will take you fishing, snorkeling and will tell you stories that will gave you in tears.

A group of us stayed there for a month and more and more people joined us as they heard about this incredible place way out of town. Max the Dog even walks you to the jetty when you leave.....no joke. He woofed at a Dolphin that I would never have spotted on my last day, how cool is that.

Power cuts in and out but it does all over the island. The wifi is okay enough to load FB pics.

Cost is $50BZD a night for 2 bed front cabin. Thats just $25 US a night or £15 a NIGHT!!!!

You can pay as little at $35BZD for a cabin in the second row with the same view.

I would 100% say to stay here. It is basic but they view and the sea breeze is just incredible.

Id rate this place as just awesome. Im used to The Hilton Group as a Diamond Honors guest but Id stay at Ignacios Beach Cabins anytime. Oh only sail with Ignacio if you know your stuff.

As I say, its rustic but thats the vibe of Caye Caulker and how it used to be.

I loved it and will stay here again when I back in 90 days. Several other key travelers like Just A Pack stayed here and loved it.

Room Tip: If something is wrong be sensible that you are in rustic cabins and ask Ruben to fix it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank lazyblueskies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

In our attempt to stay in a reasonably priced place, we checked into a small cabin at Ignacio's. Despite having a view of the water, the place was down right horrid and should be shut down as it is in no condition for people to stay in. The cabin was falling apart, there is no light in the bathroom and when we arrived in the evening, there were at least 5 large cockroaches that we saw scurrying about. Everything was broken and the place was filthy. Whenever we asked for anything, the owner's kids said their dad locked them out couldn't get the supplies for us or that the office closes at 5pm despite them living on the property. Overall, it was a terrible experience. Do not stay here!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bellec1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

We are renting a cabana here for about a week and are very happy with the value. The place itself is located in a tucked away little section to the south of the island and sees very little foot traffic. The balcony over looks the east side of the island and is an amazing place to watch the sun rise and chart the moon's path at night. Peaceful tranquil view with great bang for the buck. The cabana itself is pretty basic but we aren't here for luxury accommodations. Comfortable bed and cold water showers with a private bathroom. Recommended.

Visit us at justapack.com to share our year long journey.

Room Tip: 50 Belize dollars for the waterfront cabanas. Rent those if able.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JustaPack2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Ignacio's Cabins are very rustic, i.e. "you get what you pay for." Simple cabins on stilts with attached bathroom (although that's a generous statement). Basically a step up from camping, however good money saver if you'd rather spend your dollars on food/scuba/snorkel/other experiences to be had in Belize. Far from center of town which is good and bad: quiet and secluded which is nice, but can feel maybe too secluded if you want more socializing. Can rent bikes from Ignacio (read: rusty, old, rickety, but will do the job). A word of CAUTION: in general the place feels so low key and intimate, but there have been several incidents of opportunistic ROBBERY from the cabins by locals, after forgetting to lock the door, or sleeping with the door cracked open for better air flow (many people do this; it gets hot in Belize!). It is generally a safe relaxed place but be sure to use your smart travel head and always LOCK THE DOOR.

Room Tip: Always ask to see a room before you make a decision.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

Budget accommodation with beautiful Caribbean views! I had a back room which was very basic and comfortable for what I needed. It's a little further from the happening place so I also needed to hire a bike, the walk isn't too far but maybe a little long at night. Overall good accommodation at an affordable price :)

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Samantha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caye Caulker hotels
0.0 mi away
Popeyes Beach Resort
Popeyes Beach Resort
#14 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.0 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.0 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.0 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#12 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rainbow Hotel
Rainbow Hotel
#9 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ignacio's Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ignacio's Cabins

Property: Ignacio's Cabins
Address: Caye Caulker, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Ignacio`s Cabins Hotel Caye Caulker
Ignacios Hotel Caye Caulker

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing