We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home Away From Home.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Meldy's

Meldy's
Ranked #22 of 92 Restaurants in Caye Caulker
Price range: US$2 - US$10
Cuisines: Caribbean, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: If you're the type who enjoy's flavorful food and family style service this is the place to eat. It is located across the only bakery in Caye Caulker and not too far from the only bank on the island, Meldy's is the place for amazing meals at an affordable price. It's a small place, but even if it's a little crowded or if you're in a rush, ask about take out, the extensive menu includes seasonal lobster,fish, burgers and everything in between. Also, be sure to ask about Meldy's bacon wrapped baked chicken, it is nothing short of spectacular. So look out for the little pink and green building on middle street, tell them you came to see Meldy. If she's in, she might be able to fix you a customized menu based dish to suit your taste, just ask, this is your mom's kitchen away from home.
Jasper, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home Away From Home.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

We tried our best to support small local restaurants on our travels, even if they were somewhat off the beaten track. As a result, we found the service, food and affordability to be off the charts compared to larger, non-local places!

Meldys was by far and away our most favorite spot. After one meal we were hooked and subsequently, ate Meldys delicious and super budget-friendly breakfast every day for our entire week on Caye Caulker. We even returned after a few weeks of backpacking to have our last meal in Belize at this funky family run business. The hugs and smiles we received from the marvelous staff made it feel like coming home. We cannot recommend it highly enough!
-Theresa & Jesse (The Canadian Backpackers)

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    77
    27
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Louis, MO
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great find on a small island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

We didn't have much time in Caye Caulker but I had narrowed down my choice of restaurants to 3 and ended up choosing Meldy's. We were pleasantly surprised and had a great meal, which because it was so HOT we got our meals to go and ate down on the beach (with a nice breeze). The place is pretty small, nothing fancy, but the food was wonderful and everyone working there were extremely nice. Even got to see some "wildlife"....a few cats and a chicken next door.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alymark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alberta
Level Contributor
110 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“LOVED Meldy's !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

What a great little place ! Nothing flash...just super great people...working hard and making really good food.
My fav thing is that they will adjust the best they can for you... you want extra veg or whatever they will do it for a good price.
First day here I order the fried chicken w extra veg and a couple salbutes to go and hope to make it home before the storm... nope...so take shelter in a shop by beach and share the salbutes w shop keeper...he says he and his family love Meldy's too and a fav to visit.
I stopped here several times. Syd's was closed while I was in caye Caulker but even so meldy's would of been hard to beat for quality and price.
Another day I stop and one of the ladies says she just made conch ceviche and had conch for fritters...so had the ceviche there and ordered fritters for home.
The Conch ceviche was served w warm chips and so good !!!! at a posh place in san pedro a person would be charged 24B..here it was 12B. The friters were so good and LOADED with conch. I tried fritters at El Fogon in San Pedro and they were like plain fritters..not good...here the conch was so tender and plentyful.
I enjoyed a lobster burger one day for 14B... I should of skipped the fries but the burger was yummy
I had stewed chicken one day... stew pork another...and the last day the ladies made me a BIG SEXY chicken dinner lol. (had had the chicken a few times..a fav) The fried chicken is amazing !!!! they did not mind cutting back the rice and beans and adding more greens... plantains... spices

everything here was so good

the prices were awesome

great staff

and again such a down home friendly place

Meldy's will def be my first place to stop for food when back on Caye Caulker

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AlbertaPeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathedral City, CA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A HOT DAY CHILLY TREAT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Strolling down Main Street one sunny day we noticed Meldy's sign for smoothies, frozen coffee, with rum or tequila optional, and hamburgers "with all the fixin's" and decided to accept her invitation to sit on her streetside porch. We ordered a mango and watermelon smoothie and a hamburger and spent the next half hour enjoying them and the passing scene. And then we returned the next day. Caye Caulkner is full of little enterprises like this and discovering a few of them is one if the best reasons to be here. So give Mandy a try.

Helpful?
1 Thank blueskiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Outer Banks, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best on Caye Caulker!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

After traveling for a month through Mexico and Belize we were more than happy to find Meldy's. The BEST we've had throughout our travels!!!! The (chicken) burritos and salbutes are a MUST try! Absolutely delicious and so so so affordable! Not to mention the service was top notch! All THREE (out of 7) nights we ate there we were waited on by the sweetest guy, Noel, he seemed like a genuinely nice young man and was always smiling! ...this is the first trip advisor review I've ever written and I made an account just so I could say how awesome Meldy's is! Also, every time we ate there Meldy was there and came to make sure our food was great! Love, love, love Meldy's!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryKHoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Meldy's also viewed

Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 

Been to Meldy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing