We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food Mama Liz”
Review of Mama Liz's Kitchen

Mama Liz's Kitchen
Ranked #52 of 93 Restaurants in Caye Caulker
Cuisines: Caribbean
Restaurant details
Wales
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good food Mama Liz”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

We stopped in one night to get a take out meal. We had chicken stew with rice and beans. It was really nice and really cheap too.

Helpful?
Thank allie1904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    6
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“As local as you get”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I was just invited to have dinner with a Belize family, that's how it feels eating at Mama Lizz. We asked what's for dinner and she offered one pork dish and one beef. We said sounds good.

We sat at the front part of the house and practically watching tv with the family. The dish came and it has the meat we ordered, potato salad and rice. They are definitely homemade food. And they are so good since we always appreciate local food and culture, and thus meal has both.

Since you are eating at someone's house, while they are doing whatever they are doing, don't expect formal restaurants service. But do expect interact with the owner and the so called "crazy cousin", and their family members. It's all great and fun there. Highly recommend if you want to see how locals live.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rudy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The best Belizean food on the island !”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

As cliche as it sounds... This is soul food at its best.

We ate from Liz's kitchen twice. A slightly hidden gem of a find, it sits on the main road nearby Chan's supermarket.
Basically Liz is a dream. First up was fried plantain, the best potato salad I have ever had, chicken, and rice and beans. My boyfriend had the same but with meat balls also cooked to perfection. The food was double the portion size of anywhere on the island, half the price and with about 10 times the amount of soul put in to it.
We have been away for a few months now and meeting Liz made me think of my friend at home that is a fantastic cook and host.

We grabbed a couple of beers from the nearby shop and dined on the front porch as if we were part of the family. Music was playing from the kitchen, the moon was out; a very romantic setting indeed.

After dinner we chatted with Liz in her kitchen, such a funny and friendly lady it's clear that Liz is very passionate about her food and it's deliverance.

The following night we got some grub to take away from there and as we waited, Liz served us some of her beef soup.
The meat just fell of the bone and the potatoes held their texture perfectly in the nutritious soup.

Unfortunately we didn't have time to try one of her Johnny Cakes for breakfast but I'm guessing they'd have been as equally delicious.

Much love to Liz, thanks for a fabulous feed and lovely experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Poppyloveschillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Scrumptious”
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

I visited mamma lizz kitchen nd was amaze by the service I got..
I would like to go bcl again when visiting bze... Love you mamma lizz!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shelmadeem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent WA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Walk up to good food, good service with a view”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Prices from 10BZ ($5 US)and up for Belizian meals. Has a small bar, indoor or outdoor dining. Off the street walk up to 3rd floor family operated café.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank tbirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mama Liz's Kitchen also viewed

Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 

Been to Mama Liz's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing