We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for sunset viewing!”
Review of 88 West - CLOSED

88 West
Price range: US$2 - US$15
Cuisines: Bar, American, Seafood, Pub, South American, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Drinks, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place for sunset viewing!”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Outside seats are just a few meter from the water. Happy hour deal is also good. Nothing to dislike!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Leona L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    25
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Caye Caulker, Belize
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Taco Tuesday!”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We went to "taco Tuesday" last week and it was really good. They offered lamb tacos, ground beef tacos, and chicken tacos. The service was excellent, the margaritas were great! Our friends had the lamb tacos and said they were awesome! I had chicken and my husband had the ground beef and we enjoyed them. The restaurant got very busy the staff did a great job of taking cre of everyone that we there! We would definitely go back!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank foodiegal6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing conch ceviche”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

88 West is one of the more polished places to have a drink on Caye Caulker. We went for a drink before supper, unfortunately, our drinks were up there with the worst mixed drinks we've ever had! I'm glad we ordered the conch ceviche before we got our drinks though because it was amazing! I suggest trying the food with a bottled beverage.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank danasilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious food, not so great service”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We had drinks and dinner on the beach with 88 West. The drinks were yummy and were from their happy hour menu, so the prices were amazing. We ordered chips and salsa, which was clearly homemade and super delicious. We both ordered chicken burritos and they came out in a timely manner and were very good. Not the best I had, but certainly worth the trip on the island for the gorgeous sunset and tasty food. The service was slow, but it goes with the theme of the island mentality. What is the rush?

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jessi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
101 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great place for sunset viewing”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

It's a little hard to find, but worth the search. We enjoyed rum punch and extremely hot jalapeno poppers at a picnic table with an unobstructed view of the sunset. My eight-year-old grandaughter loved the freedom of wandering along the shoreline in a sheltered location. The server was pleasant despite a demanding crowd.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DansMarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 88 West also viewed

Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing