We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Nice hostel but go slow man"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dirty Mcnasty's Hostel
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"Nice hostel but go slow man"”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

It is a nice hostel good atmosphere. I recommend to you. There is many people visiting the island and in my opinion is made just for us (tourist) you don't really see how locals life in there. If you want to party and meet people who travels like you go to this hostel because is big and always busy.
Belize is a country with very nice people but also smart.

Room Tip: The girl at the office kept the deposit of our key because it was not written at the book. the day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolina c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    53
    50
    26
    23
See reviews for
5
32
43
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Anything good about this hostel is negated by the treatment of the poor dog locked under the balcony (near the reception office)
It's tied up 24/7, not fed or bathed, and kicked and beaten by a guy who calls himself 'smooth' who seems to work/ live there.
If you do stay here please take a moment to feed, walk, or just give a moments attention or affection to this poor animal.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Holllypop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Caye Caulker hotels

1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This hostel is perfect for travelers wanting to meet new people; basic accommodation, clean, very sociable and comes with free breakfast.The staff are really friendly and will help you with booking tours. In a great location too!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkpurpleorange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This place is a hostel. Different room sizes witch are cleaned rails . If you move you stuff . No lockers . No lamps . My 6 person room had 4 plugs . A good breakfast . Where WiFi worked you could make your own food in the large kitchen bar room AC and fans.
Make sure you get and keep all of you payment recipes. As with staff changes . Things go wrong

Room Tip: If it's not high season . Do not book a place until you land on the Island
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jammer27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

The place is quite cheap but not clean enough.
It is a good place for backpackers but not the best one in Caye Caulker.
Location is good although the island is quite small.
Crew is friendly and helpful.
Would go to another place next time

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stasyagu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

All in all, i did enjoy my time here. Would i have enjoyed my time here if i hadn't met the people i did? Debatable. It is a very basic hostel that is just about clean enough- although my room was also home to a fair few cockroaches! But the main problem i had with the hostel is the guy who works there, benedict. He starts off jokey and friendly but then becomes more and more obscene and makes you feel very uncomfortable, especially as a young female traveller. Unfortunatley he blighted my experience in this hostel.
Despite this, the hostel was great to meet people, with travellers often in the communal areas. They are extending, and are building a pool. The other staff were all very friendly. I wouldn't say dirty mcnasty's is a definite no go, as long as you don't mind not having the cleanest night and have a thick skin to resist benedict's comments!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We booked into a room although decided to only stay one night as it was a bit too loud for us. Beds were comfortable, air con was an option, shower leaked on floor and into rooms downstars, but the breakfast was great, and free rum punch in the evenings. We went on a snorkelling / fishing trip which was much cheaper than all other deals on the island as it's un-licenced. Good fun but all a bit sketchy.
Overall I'd say stay here if you're up for socialising with the backpackers and staff and don't mind paying a little more for a party atmosphere.

Room Tip: All pretty similar with air con or fan option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caye Caulker hotels
0.0 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.3 mi away
Popeyes Beach Resort
Popeyes Beach Resort
#14 of 19 in Caye Caulker
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#11 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rainbow Hotel
Rainbow Hotel
#9 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.6 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dirty Mcnasty's Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dirty Mcnasty's Hostel

Property: Dirty Mcnasty's Hostel
Address: 1 Crocodile Street, Caye Caulker, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Dirty Mcnasty's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing