We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel on Caye Caulker”
Review of Seaside Cabanas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seaside Cabanas
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Caye Caulker is a delightful little island with a very unique charm, and no hotel on the island is as charming as Seaside Cabanas! We were going to spend one night on the island just to experience it before heading to Ambergris Caye, but for budgetary reasons we decided to stay for three. We are so glad we did! Seaside Cabanas completely exceeded my expectations! The location was perfect...nothing on the island is far away, but we were close to the water taxi when we needed to use it, close to the best restaurants, and especially close to the bakery for warm cinnamon buns for breakfast! The pool was great at the end of the day when we were dusty or salty from a day of exploring or snorkelling. The rooms were clean, quiet, and very comfortable. I like a firm bed, and was actually having back problems from a softer mattress at a previous resort, so this bed was perfect. When I think what I pay back home for a night at a Super8 or Travelodge...it is a crazy bargain to stay at a property this nice in such an exotic seaside location! Mary and Laura at the front desk were very helpful recommending a company for a day of snorkelling and a manatee watching...good advice...we had a great day with Anwar Tours. I can't imagine finding a better place to stay on Caye Caulker!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 6, upstairs from room 5 and thought it was great! I get a bad reaction to mosquit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cc-in-cc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (665)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

332 - 338 of 665 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2013

Location cannot be better when arriving by water taxi, being a 30 second walk from the dock. After wandering around the island, it is clear that Seaside Cabanas is one of the nicer hotels. It is well maintained, and one of few properties with a swimming pool. Myself and a friend stayed in Cabana 4. Room was great, including hot shower with good water pressure, good AC, good TV, and free wifi. The cabanas all have 1 queen bed, but the hotel was able to provide us with a cot for an extra $10 per night (see photo). While it was not the most comfortable cot in the world, it did make it possible for two friends to share one of the cabanas with a private rooftop terrace, which was totally worth it. The hot tub was in excellent working condition, clean, and relaxing. Some reviews mention that cabanas 2+4 are too close to the bright street lamp, but we actually preferred it as there is no other lighting on the terraces; folks in 1+3 were off their terraces by dusk, but the street lamp allowed us to enjoy our terrace late into the evening and provided enough light for reading. Cabanas 1+2 have a mini kitchen, whereas 3+4 have a mini refrigerator, which was fine with us. You get complimentary coffee, pastries, and fruit in the morning, and there are plenty of places to eat on the island. There are several mini markets nearby where you can buy snacks and alcohol.

The front desk staff were excellent. Laura answered questions by e-mail prior to our arrival, booked our snorkeling tour, booked our golf cart taxi to the island airport, and let me use their computer for a few minutes to look up some travel information. Very helpful, and obviously aiming to make guests happy.

Overall, we loved the hotel and would absolutely return if we were ever on the island again. I would probably pick Cabana 2, as it has ocean front, kitchenette, and street lamp for the terrace.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
4  Thank Anonymous_Canadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

This is clearly the best Hotel on the Island. Most every room has a view of the ocean an there is a pool between the rooms and the ocean. The rooms were comfortable, each with an AC, refrigerator, TV, and wireless. The staff were so fantastically helpful. I got one of the last pairs of rooms available but one had a single double bed instead of two double beds as desired. I asked Laura at the front desk , to move us if anything became available, and she managed to keep us in rooms with 2 double beds by moving us twice. I was so very grateful. The pool was nice and the bar tender very entertaining. The bar served a very health fruit breakfast every morning and great coffee. We often sent the kids out to one of the local Taco stands to by chicken or pork tacos for the family at a staggering cost of about $2 US for 8 tacos! Laura, at the front Desk also tuned us on to fried Jacks, which were delicious. These were tortillas stuffed with egg, cheese, ham, chicken and then fried. Delicious. Writing about it makes me sad and wanting to go back. We considered buying a condo or house while there, but why do that when we can stay at the Seaside Cabanas without all the worries of ownership.

Room Tip: Upstairs had a great view of the ocean from the shared balconies/ walkway. The downstairs rooms had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Captain-Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

We just returned from traveling to Belize with our two young-adult children. The Seaside Cabanas was a perfect place for our time on Caye Caulker. The location close to the water taxi docks, restaurants, downtown and the Split allowed all of us to easily come and go as we pleased. The hotel pool is a big plus as swimming right off the beach is not that easy in Belize.

Room Tip: Room 17 with its two bedrooms and small sitting room is perfect for a small family stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

I do not think you could get a better location, right next to the water taxi and central to town. I worried if being next to the taxi would be loud ,but no issues at all The pool was very nice to have with the absents of a swimmable beach. I would not want a hotel without a pool on the island. I found the rooms very clean and comfortable. I stayed in the cabana 2 with the hot tub which was very nice. I did see the basic rooms and would have been happy there too. The room 2 had a nice TV microwave and small fridge, and hairdryer. The pool area is small but a nice place to spend the day. The bar located in the cabana is a nice place to grab a drink. I only wish they had a menu, ceviche was the only food item offered. The staff was helpful from booking to checkin to checkout. I booked some tours thru the front desk very knowledgeable and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carkrisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

We did stay in one of the rooms with private hot tub....Comfiest beds, great staff, clean rooms, good ambiance with character. We stayed four nights and loved it more each day. Convenience Store nearby has good prices. We bought our own rum there with ice and mixers... Saved $$$. Can rely on front desk for good recommendations for tours through kayak rentals. We have a long travel bucket list to conquer, but this is one place it will be hard to not return to.

Room Tip: Go for one with rooftop hot tub! But guests without really enjoyed the pool and grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lms63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

This was a wonderful place to spend the last 2 days of my vacation. I had stayed at 2 fairly basic cabanas during my trip to Belize and I wanted to pamper myself before going home. I had cabana #1 which had its own private front patio and a private rooftop deck with my own hot tub. The staff was very helpful and friendly and I can highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kirk1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caye Caulker
0.1 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
290 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#11 of 19 in Caye Caulker
261 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
261 reviews
0.1 mi away
Popeyes Beach Resort
Popeyes Beach Resort
#15 of 19 in Caye Caulker
184 reviews
13.1 mi away
The Phoenix Resort
The Phoenix Resort
#1 of 55 in San Pedro
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaside Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Cabanas

Address: Caye Caulker Village | PO Box 39, Caye Caulker, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Price Range: £163 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seaside Cabanas offers Caye Caulker in luxury with a true atmosphere of the tropics. Hotel reception staffed by our friendly and professional team. 24hr security. Free Wifi, pool, bar, gift shop, tour/dive office. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seaside Cabanas Caye Caulker
Seaside Cabanas Hotel Caye Caulker

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing