We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Caye Caulker hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seaside Cabanas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seaside Cabanas
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
96 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Fantastic Caye Caulker hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

We stayed 3 nights in a jacuzzi cabana (#3). It was a quick hop to the water taxi, which is right behind the hotel. They let us check in really early, when we wound up catching an earlier boat than planned. The room was very clean, well-decorated, and incredibly comfortable. My husband particularly appreciated the powerful A/C, after a week in the un-air-conditioned jungle! Caye Caulker is really small, and Seaside Cabanas was well-located for easy and quick walking access to everything. The front desk people helped us to set up snorkeling and sunset sail tours and they make it even easier by letting you add the tour charge (no extra fees) to your room bill, so we didn't need to part with cash. The pool is clean and fun to hang out in. They offer breakfast but it's coffee, rolls, and a little bit of fruit -- with everything so close, we chose to find local restaurants (highly recommend Glendas!) for breakfast. The jacuzzi room was well worth the extra cost -- we were able to enjoy the stars to the sound of the waves crashing at night from a hot tub and could relax privately in the hammock and lounge chairs. They also offer great views.

Room Tip: Cabana 3 has a rooftop jacuzzi and lounge chairs/hammock/shade. It's set one back from the water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cs79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    437
    156
    25
    8
    5
See reviews for
87
354
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights - last minute trip. Seaside cabanas was the perfect choice. Great property and staff. Nice, newer rooms and pool. On-site bar with complementary breakfast. Israel, Jubalus and Laura were very helpful and friendly. We will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cathy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilliard
Level Contributor
93 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

Seaside was very convenient to the water taxi, which was especially nice since it was rainy. This hotel was superb! Very clean, loved the colors, decor, pool and entire atmosphere. We were in cabana 5 and it had a nice view when looking towards the beach. The hotel did include breakfast but we never actually used it due to diving and other tours. The price was perfect and it definitely appeared to be the best hotel we saw on the island. Wish the water in the shower would have been a little warmer, but somedays it felt good due to the heat. We would recommend this hotel to everyone!

Room Tip: Cabana 5 is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amber J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

Hubby & I traveled with my sister & her hubby. We spent 6 nights at Seaside Cabanas. We had unit #18 (2 story). They had #2 (beachfront) with rooftop hot tub, palapa with hammock and 2 loungers. My sister and I did all the reseach on where to stay and couldn't be happier with our decision! We booked in August for our May trip. They were completely full each of the nights of our stay. The few days that they didn't have reservations already booked for that night, they filled the rooms with people who walked off the ferry looking for a place to stay.
The staff was wonderful. Yamili - the bartender is so sweet. The maintainace guys were great too (can't remember their names). A/C wasn't cooling my sister's room very well. They told Vivian (front desk) who promptly had maintainace take a look. They decided to replace the unit. They had it all replaced by the time we returned from our walkabout and room was nice and cool. Unfortunately the new unit had a small leak somewhere and all the freon leaked out during the night and it got HOT by morning. Front desk offered to move them (to a non-oceanfront room), but said they could try to fix it again. Sister & hubby opted to give them another chance to fix it if they held the other room for them just in case. Sister & hubby went diving. We hung out by the pool and on the rooftop of #2. Maintainance guys replaced the A/C unit (again) and it worked perfectly after that. They actually replaced the unit (inside & out) 2 times. We watched them take them out of the boxes, so they were new units. They were not trying to patch things to make them work.
Breakfast was offered from 7:30-9:30. Fresh fruit, cinnamon raisin rolls, and coffee. Simple, but just fine for us.
We plan to return next year for a longer stay.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with #1 or #2 if you want oceanfront. #18 if you want more room, but it will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bluewater43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

My husband and I just returned from an amazing 5 day vacation to Caye Caulker. We were recommended Seaside Cabanas from previous friends traveling to the island, mostly due to the fact it had a private hotel pool (which is quite uncommon on the island). From the moment I booked our rooms online, the precise attention to detail began. Laura and I emailed so many times prior to the trip, she felt like an old friend before I even met her in person. We had the privilege to stay in Room 18, the Honeymoon Suite, our first 3 nights. I could not believe for the price, how amazing the room was. It was a two story suite, with two private balconies. One of the private balconies had a jacuzzi built for two and a very comfortable lounge bed. This instantly became my favorite spot to admire the gorgeous blue waters of the sea. Although the bed was a bit firmer than I am used to, the gorgeous view from the 3rd floor bedroom and the heavenly rain shower in the bathroom made it completely worth it. Unfortunately, Room 18 had already been booked for our last night, so we moved to Cabana 3 for that one last night. The room in Cabana 3 was much simpler, but it had a huge private rooftop patio with a larger jacuzzi, two loungers, and a private hammock hanging from a palapa. I must admit this set up was quite heavenly, and I highly recommend either of the two rooms if they are available (or Cabanas 1, 2, or 4). Overall, the accommodations were top notch for the price, and by far the best on the island.

And of course, I will save the best for last. The service at Seaside Cabanas, truly proved to be the best hotel service I have encountered. Yamill, Laura, and the entire team were always striving to perfect every detail, and the guests felt comfortable and like family. I watched as a future potential bride and her fiance toured the facility, and felt envious. I was just a destination wedding bride 7 months ago, and had I not found this gem earlier, I would have definitely had my big event here. You can easily see how natural it is for them to ensure each guest has the best experience possible. Laura even took it a step beyond, and helped me surprise my husband with a pre- birthday surprise cake. It was home made, and YUMMY! The on-site bar, Uno Mas, was our favorite hangout spot (besides our awesome balconies, lol)! The bartender of the year award goes to Yamil, who was there our entire stay. She made amazing cocktails, provided exceptional service, and I felt like I was saying goodbye to a true friend when we finally had to leave.

If you are looking for extraordinary service, amazing guest rooms and views, and all at an affordable cost, look no further! We will be back to see our new friends again soon!!!

Room Tip: Room 18, or Cabanas 1-4 have their own private balconies with jacuzzi s. AND, remember you are on v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LolaTX24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

Though we didn't see the other accommodation options on Caye Caulker, we can say that for the money, the accommodation at Seaside Cabanas was perfectly comfortable, very clean, good a/c, solid furniture, had a fridge and plenty of space for the 2 of us. It had nice grounds and good pool. It was 2 steps away from the Water Taxi which made it even more convenient making it possible to roll out of bed and go to the Water Taxi departure in just a couple of minutes! The staff was helpful and mostly didn't bother you at all throughout the time we were there. There are bike rentals and the office will book just about any tour (though we had booked our own). The only con is the lack of a restaurant. Food options on the island are mediocre at best and after a day of diving or snorkeling we would have liked to just go back to the hotel and eat close by. The breakfast was pretty skimpy too - unless you're a very very light eater - and it very much depends on what the "bartender" is up to making that morning.... Overall though we enjoyed staying there and recommend it over the others.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Life0Riley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago Atitlan, Guatemala
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Located a conch throw from the water taxi dock this hotel's location offers both aesthetic appeal and convenience. A little tropical oasis surrounding a central pool with a view of the ocean it's certainly pretty but it doesn't come cheap. Definitely on the more luxury side of Caye Caulker's accommodation portfolio Seaside gives you clean, comfortable and bright rooms with lovely vistas from the window. The bathroom is also light and airy and the shower reasonably hot and powerful. The complimentary breakfast includes some tasty baked goods and purportedly fruit salad which may or may not be present at any given time. It's filling and pleasant enough but couldn't really be served with less ceremony if they hit you in the nose with a cinnamon bun. There are no plates, the paltry offerings are just plonked on the corner of the bar, and the lack of formality can feel a little awkward; can I just, is it ok if I take one of these rolls now...?!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinchoholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caye Caulker
0.0 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.1 mi away
Popeyes Beach Resort
Popeyes Beach Resort
#14 of 19 in Caye Caulker
3.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.3 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#13 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#12 of 19 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
10.3 mi away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaside Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Cabanas

Property: Seaside Cabanas
Address: Caye Caulker Village | PO Box 39, Caye Caulker, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seaside Cabanas offers Caye Caulker in luxury with a true atmosphere of the tropics. Hotel reception staffed by our friendly and professional team. 24hr security. Free Wifi, pool, bar, gift shop, tour/dive office. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seaside Cabanas Caye Caulker
Seaside Cabanas Hotel Caye Caulker

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing